3/3/ Mac AMPS 147 +2 75 +2.5 49 +2.75 44 +3 45 +3.3 43 +3.75 54 +4 65 +4.5 79 +5.5 129 +8 173

Mac retested at +.3 142

I am going to feed. Either .25 or .1...if you could let me know. If I don't hear back I will make decision. Thanks
 
Last edited:
I gave a skinny .25 at 8:42.

I would like to leave house at +5. So will be feeding and testing this morning and as Elise suggested give him some MC before I leave if warranted.

Thanks
 
I’m glad you did shoot. He’s higher than your last test last night and 3 points is insignificant. If in doubt don’t forget you can stall without food and test again in 20 minutes. If not going down it’s safe to shoot. People with data shoot 50+. His numbers are coming down nicely so you will gradually start to lower green no shot number, eventually starting to shoot green. When you do you will want to make sure it’s a cycle you can monitor.

How is Mac’s weight? Ideal or too low?
 
+2 75

I will feed and then test in 1 hr. Should I stick with LC for this hour?

Mac's weight is good. He is holding his weight. He seems to be taking in the nutrition into his body now.
 
Yes. Stick with lc. That gives you plenty,entry of time to bring him up before +5. Let’s see if he continues to drop or flattens out. That was a big drop though. Maybe test in 30.
 
Yes. Stick with lc. That gives you plenty,entry of time to bring him up before +5. Let’s see if he continues to drop or flattens out. That was a big drop though. Maybe test in 30.
+2.5 49 I am giving him a drop of honey and retest in 30
 
upload_2022-3-3_8-31-6.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-3-3_8-31-6.jpeg
    upload_2022-3-3_8-31-6.jpeg
    11.4 KB · Views: 101
Elise, do you think they can go down to the drop dose? He's dropped to lime after just 3 cycles on 0.25U and many skips before. Drop dose might be easier to draw than 0.10U?
Yes. Count the number of drops in the .25. I’d want a dose half or less. If green or under 150 tonight I would not shoot.

Is he getting any prednisolone now? If so how often? If not how long has he been off it?
 
Off Pred 2 weeks.

How do you do a drop dose?
It’s the easiest dose to give. Hold the plunger all the way in and insert in the pen or vial. Then release plunger. It will draw up a drop. Then when you inject try to count to 10 once you inject.
 
I forgot you gave a skinny .25. Next dose definitely a drop. Thanks Bhooma. I think his diabetes was steroid induced and he’s likely going otj and will be diet controlled. I sure hope he starts eating on his own soon. Does he object to syringe feeding?
 
Perturbed with all my testing and putting weird stuff in his mouth :)

How much Karo syrup?
I have been rubbing it on his gums
 
Last edited:
+3.75 54!!

I know food induced increases can fade. What do I need to do to keep it up? I may take him with me today and keep an eye on him.
 
+3.75 54!!

I know food induced increases can fade. What do I need to do to keep it up? I may take him with me today and keep an eye on him.
He needs to be able to stay up for 2 hours without food. Of course this happens when you have to leave. If you can I would take him with you.
 
You have to keep it up until he gets into at least the 60’s and stays above 50 without food. It’s rinse, lather, repeat. At some point all this hc should make him bounce.
 
+4.0 - 65!

What should be the testing and feeding schedule for the next few hours?

FYI: When I do leave (around 1:30 EST) I can continue to update posting, but not spreadsheet.
 
Feed lc and test in 30. If still good then no food and test in 30. If good test in an hour. Lc is fine whenever needed. Back to hc if he drops into low 50’s. He should be done but we don’t know.
 
He is coming with us.. It will be an adventure. He is just mad about the whole crazy last 2 hours. The stress of that should keep his BG up.

No shot tonight right?
 
+5.5 129

i guess a 20 minute car ride will do that on top of 2 hrs of sugar!

having challenges updating title from my phone.
 
If green, no shot. If over 120 and you can monitor, try a drop. We like to see all green to stop insulin fir a strong remission. That being said ECID. One just went from 2.0 to otj a couple of weeks ago. So far so good.
 
I forgot you gave a skinny .25. Next dose definitely a drop. Thanks Bhooma. I think his diabetes was steroid induced and he’s likely going otj and will be diet controlled. I sure hope he starts eating on his own soon. Does he object to syringe feeding?
+8 173

Fortunately he is allowing me to do it. It actually helped with the insulin trial this past week. Once that settles down I am going to work on getting him to eat more using appetite stimulant. I think he will come around. I am upping his Cerenia a bit too.

Too be honest I think he had some pred withdrawal symptoms because our vet took him off so fast. He seems more like himself the last 2 days. I am going to be optimistic

One last question how do you give a drop of insulin?

thanks again Elise and Bhooma!!
 
I’m glad you did shoot. He’s higher than your last test last night and 3 points is insignificant. If in doubt don’t forget you can stall without food and test again in 20 minutes. If not going down it’s safe to shoot. People with data shoot 50+. His numbers are coming down nicely so you will gradually start to lower green no shot number, eventually starting to shoot green. When you do you will want to make sure it’s a cycle you can monitor.

How is Mac’s weight? Ideal or too low?
By the way I did do that this morning, waited 20 minutes before feeding and shooting skinny .25
 
Thank you! I read it. Very interesting I will try in the morning.

He is staying level at PMPS - 182

It will be interesting to see what his AMPS is tomorrow.

Again, thank you very much for your help!
 
Back
Top