3/3 Kazi AMBG:75 PMPS:83 +2.5:96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda

Member Since 2010
Continuing on with a no shoot of anything under 100 or so for the moment; just not entirely comfortable with her dropping to the low 60s especially when she has also been dropping to low 50s. She was hungry this morning; did her usual purry trample momma until she gets up to check her and give her breakfast. Eating as I type; and has almost finished it all without any toppers/coaxing.

For those of you who use timed feeders - any tips on getting your cat to reliably eat their snack? Kazi isn't a huge eater and it has been hit or miss. I was thinking maybe boiling some chicken so that she is more likely to eat a little something. Would a pure protein snack help to get some action from her pancreas at +8 or does she need a tiny bit of carbs as well?


Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37935&p=400485#p400485
 
Re: 3/3 Kazi AMBG:75 Question regarding snacks/timed feeder

Good morning guys .. what a beautiful start to the day for kazi .. no advice on getting your kitty to eat her snack as mocha will eat anything and everything laid down in sight .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/3 Kazi AMBG:75 Question regarding snacks/timed feeder

First off, there is no such thing as getting a cat to do what we want LOL - the sooner you accept that YOU are not in charge, the better off you will be.

About the feeder, it may just take a bit of time.... set the times you want Kazi to eat, fill the sections, and that is that.
Kazi will learn that it's eat from the feeder when items are available, or go without. If you give food aside from the feeder, Kazi may decide not to use the feeder and just wait you out.

About the BG, my civie is usually around 50 when I test her - a bit above or a bit below, but if averaged, she is usually at 50.
 
Re: 3/3 Kazi AMBG:75 Question regarding snacks/timed feeder

what I did for DL who refused to eat from his feeders at first and it was so frustrating since I was working and wanted him to use them I started to feed alll and I do mean all meals from the feeder I do not know what kind you have but I have the pet mate 2 compartment and so I just got him used to the feeder that way now he knows all meals are there it really helped him anyway I had bought the pet mate 5 feeder that rotates but he will not get near it so I do not use it.
 
Re: 3/3 Kazi AMBG:75 Question regarding snacks/timed feeder

I have the 5 meal petmate - I set it and then set it to go off again 20 minutes later to help keep the dogs from getting obsessive about trying to get to it. Sometimes she'll eat, other times not. She isn't afraid of it so thats one thing I guess.

Wish she was like Mocha - would make my life easier!
 
Re: 3/3 Kazi AMBG:75 Question regarding snacks/timed feeder

If cats need it, they can break down protein and re-assemble pieces into useable carbohydrates.

(The difference between a simple carbohydrate and a simple amino acid is the amine part of the molecule. The cat's digestion can lop off the amine, leaving a carbohydrate chain behind)
 
Re: 3/3 Kazi AMBG:75 Question regarding snacks/timed feeder

:lol: :lol: nice numbahs!
and please know that i couldnt help but laugh at the comments today...Binks is a total hoover...if it were him, all i'd have to do would be lie to him and say there's contraband in the feeder...he'd never take his eyes off it!
 
Re: 3/3 Kazi AMBG:75 Question regarding snacks/timed feeder

BJM said:
If cats need it, they can break down protein and re-assemble pieces into useable carbohydrates.

(The difference between a simple carbohydrate and a simple amino acid is the amine part of the molecule. The cat's digestion can lop off the amine, leaving a carbohydrate chain behind)

LOL
Good one :D
 
Re: 3/3 Kazi AMBG:75 PMPS:83

Nervously shot the 83. I have HC on hand and can set an alarm tonight if I need to. I almost skipped tonight as well and would have if I wasn't going to be able to keep an eye on her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top