3/3: Esse AMPS=239 PMPS=184

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Esse

Member Since 2009
Daily digest:
+21=200
+23=236
AMPS=239. Shot 2.75U. Friskies SD Beef/Chicken out, Evo out for lunch.
PMPS=184. TJ's Tuna for dinner, Evo for over night will be out.
*****************************************************************
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7863#unread

Morning, LL!

Phew, we're back to numbers that don't scare me. LOL. Quick recap from yesterday. At 4 am, she was 100. At 6 am, she was 96. I shot normal dose (3 units), and when I got home late at 6:45, she was 51. She stayed at 51 for a while, and then dropped to 47. I skipped the shot, and did give a bit of HC. I left out a whole lot of food, slept poorly, and now here we are.

She, OTOH, is just fine. She never showed a symptom, and she has been lower in the past.

So. The plan is to reduce the dose, shoot at the normal time (6/6), and take it from here. Obviously, I'll have some shed filling to do, but yesterday's surf at the 50 mark scared me. Thanks for everyone who gave me 'eyes'; I very much appreciate it. Esse will be fine - it was incredible to see the 12 day blue patch...now I know she can do it, and do it safely, that's our new goal. More long stretches of blue, and then some decent green numbers, and then...who knows?

Today is another 12 (more like 18, when study time by myself is factored in), and tomorrow is an 8 hour day. But it's supposed to rain all weekend, so I will be able to stay in and see what she does on the new/old dose.

Thanks again, everyone...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/3: Esse AMPS=239

She has much lower numbers than I had anticipated...I figured if she was going to go high, she'd go really high (she has before). But if you look at the ss, she isn't any higher than she's been with 3 units 12 hours before....so I really can't complain. I mean, in the last three hours, she's only risen 39 points...that's hours +21-24...and I think that's pretty good.

I shot the "new" dose of 2.75...will see how that goes. A few days on this should show some results - either way - and tell me what is the next move. Data driven decisions...

I am also expecting a call from my vet today sometime...will see how it goes. I did NOT give Karo syrup last night, but did give some HC so I was able to get some sleep. It will be interesting to hear from her what she thinks of my choices...not that it will change my mind next time given the same circumstances, but hopefully, I can show her how I can treat these numbers without a) panicking, and b) using sugar, and c) using typical protocol {which we know doesn't always work}.

Hope everyone has a great day...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/3: Esse AMPS=239

Thank you, Sienne. I hope her numbers stay here too...at least for today. LOL...we can bring them down over the weekend, you know? LOL. At least, on the weekend I can monitor her more closely...

Best-
Michele
 
So I was late in testing and shooting, and still she was only 184. Very interesting, no? She's still in a good range, back in the blue...bless her.

Emailed my vet about the choices I made last night, and heard back from her. She wants me to go buy an alphatrack meter, and test only with that, as she feels the numbers are artificially low with my OTM. See, here's my biggest issue - if it didn't cost an arm and a leg, I'd do it. But I'm not convinced that it is worth the money, nor am I convinced that it's a necessary thing. Yes, home testing is necessary; however, I haven't read much that validates the meter for cats is much better than the one for humans. I know the debate has been had here before, and I'm really not trying to start it again. But I just don't think it's a justified expense; maybe it is, but I don't really see it.

Other than that, Esse is really doing well. She was waiting in her shot spot after dinner, and is currently happy pooping away. LOL. I have to get studying, so I'm gonna run...but I thought I'd update you guys on Esse's day...

Best-
Michele
 
WOW - will you look at how well she is doing - I just wanted to pop in and say HI, and way cool for Esse!.

I find your discussion with your vet on the choice of meters interesting. I had the same one with my vet. Pricey, and i didn't go with it. I too wonder if it is a justified expense. also - not looking to start a debate.

Have a good night! It is nice to see Esse doing so well.
 
nice numbers, especially considering the missed shot. :smile:

About meters, many people have found that the AlphaTrak does run a little higher. Dr. Rand even addresses that in her new Lantus protocol (by giving higher ranges for dose reductions, I think reductions are earned by going below 80 using the AlphaTrak or below 50 using human meters). But the way I see it is that the numbers are relative anyway. You're looking for trends, is she going up or down, is she high or low? It doesn't really matter so much what the number on the glucometer is, as long as you know where she is going and what range is ok for her.
 
This is the Rand protocol with the meter comparison that LIbby referred to. I have the Roomp & Rand article if you want it.

I'm very happy for you re. Esse's numbers. I honestly expected her to be way high.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top