3/3 DAVIDSON PMPS 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Morning.........

yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114717

Nothing really new to report other then Davidson is doing well, most likely earn a reduction and I know you are all VERY supportive, but I feel a bit odd as I continue to post good results and feel as if I am boasting about Davidson Perhaps better just to update his SS as I always do and then post just a weekly report? Since Davidson started insulin Jan 15th he's shown signs of heading toward remission quickly and we could only hope all your kitty's do the same, or at least show improvements as time passes.

Today Davidson has an AMPS of 59 and I give him the 1.75u and being Day 3 of his reduction I anticipate another reduction later this week unless Davidson decided he wants one earlier.........he's been know to pull a few fast ones!!

Have a great day, and if the snow would melt and the temperature get a lot warmer we would all be happy!

Shawna
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON AMPS 59

Hi guys .. Oh, please do not ever feel like we don't want to hear about how well Davidson is doing! Some kitties come on this board for just a short while and make awesome progress and some kitties just take longer to get there .. but we want to always want to hear success stories for sure! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON AMPS 59

Shawna I can relate to feeling odd about good numbers. However this place is so supportive when it happens!

Just like you want all the other kitties to be well we want Davidson to be well! Looks like he is earning his way down! :-D
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON AMPS 59 +2 80 +4 74 +6 74

Thanks for the replies.............no problem from my end.

Question - When Davidson gets his next reduction should I still do a .25 or can I do a .50 reduction? He is presently at 1.75. Just wondering as I am always here to monitor him since I work (when I work) from home and can time my lifestyle around him - he knows who's the boss!! I don't mind the sacrifice and being home for him since I've had it pretty good for 20 yrs and to take the time to make sure he's good is not ever going to be an issue. Harley at least has figured it all out as when I shake the Lancet carton and Davidson comes to get his test (yes, he comes when he hears it, jumps up and test and/or shot is done in under 10 seconds)........well Harley has figured out that that sound means treats so he jumps up too!! Too funny.

Thanks and the sun is shining, too bad it's freezing cold out.

Shawna
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON AMPS 59 +2 80 +4 74 +6 74

I think I would stick with the 0.25 reductions, but it is up to you.

I see on his spreadsheet that he is gaining a lot of weight back. Be sure he doesn't get too heavy. What is his optimal weight?
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON AMPS 59 +2 80 +4 74 +6 74

Hi Dyana;

Thanks and will stick with the .25 when the time comes...............he has always been about 17 lbs and I have started to watch him and actually feed him less now but maybe the wet food is higher in calories then the dry was. I'm monitoring him and right now he wants to eat but has to wait for dinner time at 6pm. He's not happy..........haha. But he lost a ton of weight before he got onto the Lantus but he's back on a diet..........little does he know.
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON AMPS 59 +2 80 +4 74 +6 74 +9 74

I guess Davidson has some fascination with 74.......seems stuck on that for a while today.............
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON AMPS 59 +2 80 +4 74 +6 74

Looking Good :cool:

It's good to see condos like Davidsons in LL - for many reasons. It illustrates the diversity of sugar kitties and helps bring hope to those starting on the path.
Imaging how grim it would be around LL without the balance provided by success stories. . .

Regarding reductions - I recommend 0.25u at a time.
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON AMPS 59 +2 80 +4 74 +6 74 +9 74

i'd stick with the 0.25u reductions too. he's got great momentum going and you don't want to lose it. sometimes kitties will just up and decide they are done with insulin - much like Scooter did when the dry food went away. If Davidson was doing that, then we would increase the size of the reductions. but for now, this seems just right.

and i'd also encourage you to keep posting. really - people coming on now with newly diagnosed cats need to see what a regulated cat looks like and they need the inspiration of knowing that it is possible to get their kitty to that point as well. so keep on. as Sandy says, what would it be like if only those who were having a difficult time posted? :shock: yikes. Discouraging City! :-D
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON AMPS 59 +2 80 +4 74 +6 74 +9 74

No problem. Will update accordingly as I have been doing and was just curious about the dosing and you've answered it

Thanks
Shawna
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON AMPS 59 +2 80 +4 74 +6 74 +9 74

Carry on, Shawna, we all love success stories. And I agree that you should stick to .25u reductions. You don't want to lose momentum.

Spring is on the way!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON +4 74 +6 74 +9 74 +11 57 PMPS 48

Well well well................

Here is Davidson again pulling a fast one. I thought he'd come in with an <50 tonight as he was dropping steadily all night and very playful for the past few hours so I knew he was feeling great and everything was working. I decided to do a +11 and he dropped quite a bit to 57 and figured he would drop tonight sometime............but he fooled me and at PMPS he was 48, so he earned another reduction after 3 days, however I gave him the 1.75u and will drop it to 1.5 tomorrow morning for his AMS.

Yes, guess I will be up a bit to monitor him at +2, then depending on what that test is +4 and maybe each hour until he starts to rise again...........

That's my Guy,,,,,,,always full of surprises and must have heard us talking about him so gave us his best. At least he's a happy guy tonight and will see what he has in store later on.

Seems like every 3 days he earns a drop......... :mrgreen:

Thanks!

Shawna
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON +4 74 +6 74 +9 74 +11 57 PMPS 48

Shawna:

Please test at +0.5 and continue to monitor closely.

Even those of us who have been here for a while don't shoot numbers under 50. It probably would have been best if you'd stalled and/or fed a bit of LC.
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON +4 74 +6 74 +9 74 +11 57 PMPS 48

yikes. i'm seconding Sienne's concerns - you will need to be very vigilant tonight - and getting an early test at +0.5 is a good idea.
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON +4 74 +6 74 +9 74 +11 57 PMPS 48

Don't worry..........but thanks, I've been down this road with him before and will be up with him. I already gave him MC food (works for him) after the shot and will test in a few minutes. I have no problem not sleeping and monitoring him. I won't let him get into trouble...........and will test often

update +.5 69

See........will test in .5 again

Oh - I also have HC food on hand with 25% carbs, and the MC food I have that he ate was 13% carbs and that spiked him pretty good. He's still active and playing with Harley

Thanks again.......

Shawna
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON PMPS 48 + .5 69

Hi, Shawna

I also 3rd on the 0.25u reduction, as well as that would probably work better than 0.50u.

I, too, would have stalled at the 48 # and waited until the # rose some before shooting. I stalled when I saw 66, and then shot when it rose above 100 10 minutes later. Yep, I was a tad nervous about the 66 # that I saw that morning. :lol: I hope you have a lot of test strips, and plenty of coffee. I think you're going to need them both. :-D His spread sheet is looking great!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON PMPS 48 + .5 69 +1 71

haha........have 3 months supply of test strips and I don't drink coffee..........maybe I should but being ADHD helps since don't need sleep. Have lots of food varieties so that's no issue.

He's rising and was +1 71............will test each half hour until he rises to comfy numbers that I've seen and tomorrow will reduce the dose by the .25 to be 1.5u and start the cycle again. I took away the MC food so that I can get a good reading, and if he drops again then will give him a tsp. See what he does in .5 and he just decided to go watch TV and lay down in front of the fire with Harley.

He's up 50% from his 48 an hour ago so that is good.........He's in good hands..........his mommy doesn't panic or get nervous and will ask questions if need be - THANKS.

Davidson has the right idea in front of the fire so I'm going to join him at least until the next test

Won't be long..........
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON PMPS 48 + .5 69 +1 71

Nice work! If he tests a bit higher than the +1.5 test that you're about to get him, test him an hour after that. If he drops a bit, test again every 1/2 hour until he rises again.
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON PMPS 48 + .5 69 +1 71

Thanks Angela...........that's what I was going to do and set up my phone to remind me or at least set out a beep. Then if after the +4 if he is 'his normal' then I know I can go to sleep safely. I guess one good thing about taking all the tests I have is I can revert back and see his patterns..........which is why I felt safe tonight.
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON PMPS 48 + .5 69 +1 71 +1.5 81

update:

+1.5 81

Will test in an hour and then most likely call it a night...........he's rising on his own without any food

Shawna
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON PMPS 48 + .5 69 +1 71

there are different phases in following Tight Reg - just want to make sure you know that you are in a phase where taking the reductions as earned, every time he goes below 50, is really important. We only delay on taking a reduction in certain circumstances, like when a cat has bounced.

There is no margin for error when he is in the 40's. I know you feel confident, but please be open to advice from people who have more experience. None of us has any agenda other than keeping Davidson safe.

Davidson's body can change at any time. In a cat with a fully functional pancreas, the cat's blood sugar will drop after they are given carbs. Typically we see that perhaps 2-4 hours after they've eaten. As his pancreas is healing, what you have experienced before may not be what he does now. It might, but being caution is warranted.

Glad he's doing ok tonight. I'm also glad you're up for monitoring! I hope the evening continues to be uneventful. :-D
 
Re: 3/3 DAVIDSON PMPS 48 + .5 69 +1 71 +1.5 81 +2.5 75

Yes, I have been told that he earns a reduction when he goes below 50 OR when he has gone 7 days under 130.........he has earned the reductions both ways.

Agree I may have jumped the gun and shot him tonight while he was too low, however, I also am up with him and have my charts to revert to knowing they are guidelines..........nothing I could do about it once he got the shot at I shoot within 5 seconds of the test. He is OKAY, and understand your concerns but they are know where near mine, since he and Harley are all I have (zero family of any sort) so they are both my main interest and fortunately money is no object. My Vet is also on my side and is very aware of what Davidson is doing and is also guiding me and giving me information as needed.

He's being watched all day, every day...............every minute of every hour since I'm home with him and he is my main concern........... :smile:

+2.5 75

Will test again in an hour and post..............THANKS, and he does love his dehydrated chicken, as does Harley - good call on those ones!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top