? 3/3 Coda +11 265 AMPS 314 +5 214 PMPS 139 +1 133 +2 97 +3 79 +4 69 +5 72 +6 78

Status
Not open for further replies.
Started running around, playing, and being curious again!
:):):):) Love it when that happens.

You will find with raw food that they poo less often and they are smaller/thinner. I know, TMI! :p

You mention possible oral pain - has the vet taken a look inside his mouth to see if he needs a dental? Dental issues can make it hard to get a cat regulated.
 
:):):):) Love it when that happens.

You will find with raw food that they poo less often and they are smaller/thinner. I know, TMI! :p

You mention possible oral pain - has the vet taken a look inside his mouth to see if he needs a dental? Dental issues can make it hard to get a cat regulated.
That's what I thought that poo would change but these seem a little dark and round..

As for dental, the vet has checked and said that he has a lot of plaque and tartar build up but wants to try other alternatives to a dental such as the antiseptic + maintenance gel, brushing, and plaquoff since there's no immediate need for a dental because no infection and doesn't want to risk the possible complications because of the elevated BG levels. She wants to wait and see when/if his BG goes down and assess effectiveness of the alternative methods before recommending the dental. So I guess because of age, BG levels, and no infection, that it's not necessary to take the risky procedure at the moment.
I talked to the vet on the phone yesterday to ask about recent oral pain and nausea signs and lack of appetite and she said that his jaw might be sore from chewing chunks of raw, since it's a new motion and strength he needs to build up.
I know some people may not agree with the treatment plan for dental, but it thinks he's responding well and has reached some low numbers BG wise.
 
I would feed a couple tsps of his regular low carb food to see if you can get him to surf there. I would test again in an hour, looks like an active cycle.
 
Just a further thought on dentals. Without doing an X-ray, it's hard to tell what is brewing below the gum line. Neko has had two dentals where her mouth looked fine when the dental specialist took a look, but she needed further work once the X-rays were done. One was an extraction, the other a bump on her jaw (from her acromegaly). A lot of vets seem to want to get the cat regulated before doing a dental, but I've seen many cases where it was the dental, and removing the source of infection, that allowed the cat to become regulated. Anyway, food for thought if the current approach doesn't work.
 
Just a further thought on dentals. Without doing an X-ray, it's hard to tell what is brewing below the gum line. Neko has had two dentals where her mouth looked fine when the dental specialist took a look, but she needed further work once the X-rays were done. One was an extraction, the other a bump on her jaw (from her acromegaly). A lot of vets seem to want to get the cat regulated before doing a dental, but I've seen many cases where it was the dental, and removing the source of infection, that allowed the cat to become regulated. Anyway, food for thought if the current approach doesn't work.
Thank you! I've definitely been thinking about dental for him, even just to have everything clean. If in the next few weeks he doesn't seem to improve too much I'll talk to the vet again about it (start putting $ away in the meantime, hard being a poor college student, all this treatment has already ate up my savings lol!) hopefully by summer I could save up enough to get his teeth treated~ just praying for no complications until then
 
Maybe another couple tsps of low carb food, see if you can get Coda to even out. Are you still using SLGS for dosing? If so, he's earned a reduction.:)
 
Maybe another couple tsps of low carb food, see if you can get Coda to even out. Are you still using SLGS for dosing? If so, he's earned a reduction.:)
I was just switching him to TR this morning lol.. depending on how the night goes, might continue the SLGS and reduce tomorrow
 
+4 69, not eating a lot at the moment, acting normal, should I be worried? Should I give him YA dry since dry can help to sustain BG or move to HC canned?
 
We typically wait for under 50 before moving to high carb food. He didn't move much the last hour, looking good.
Ok will keep checking! I haven't given him anything yet except for LC canned
thank you for staying with me :Dyou're always so helpful with Coda!
 
+5 72 I guess he's surfing?
worried about him not eating, but then opened a can of FF chicken classic pate and he ate a good 1oz lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top