3/3 Bella AMPS 267 +3 207 +6 157 reluctant to eat with lower numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

JanetMR

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-3-144-4-164-6-279-9-394.191983/#post-2142583

Bella was 267@ AMPS
+3 207
+6 157
+7 150
+9 159
Very reluctant to eat at the lower numbers... tried hand feeding, routisserie chicken pieces....
She eventually ate about 2 tbs but it was a struggle. :(
Urine ketones remain negative
PSL came back 13 / “normal”

She’s had lower numbers with this increased dose...but this is very frustrating.
Advice appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Well she scared off from those blues quickly, didn't she? Is she eating normally now that she's in pink?

Asia was uncomfortable in lower numbers at first too, many cats are, but I didn't have eating issues, it was more like she slept all day and just wasn't her happy, perky self. She did get used to normal numbers in time and now when she's stuck in higher numbers for a bit she acts sleepy. It's hard to know how long they have had diabetes, but my best guess is that the longer they have had it and been in higher than normal numbers, the more their bodies think that is normal and it probably just takes time to undo. I hope she's eating better for you now and I hope more than anything, she will get used to this soon so you don't have to worry. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Well she scared off from those blues quickly, didn't she? Is she eating normally now that she's in pink?

Asia was uncomfortable in lower numbers at first too, many cats are, but I didn't have eating issues, it was more like she slept all day and just wasn't her happy, perky self. She did get used to normal numbers in time and now when she's stuck in higher numbers for a bit she acts sleepy. It's hard to know how long they have had diabetes, but my best guess is that the longer they have had it and been in higher than normal numbers, the more their bodies think that is normal and it probably just takes time to undo. I hope she's eating better for you now and I hope more than anything, she will get used to this soon so you don't have to worry.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

She’s still “off” has to be enticed to eat... even with the PMPS of 3..something ( brain fried)
Maybe it’s lag time, takes her body a bit to catch up to the actual number.
I checked her ketones again just to be sure... they were negative.
It does get better.... right?
 
She’s still “off” has to be enticed to eat... even with the PMPS of 3..something ( brain fried)
Maybe it’s lag time, takes her body a bit to catch up to the actual number.
I checked her ketones again just to be sure... they were negative.
It does get better.... right?

It does get better! :bighug:

I can't recall exactly how long it took for Asia to get used to normal numbers, but it wasn't any distressing length of time and it paled in comparison to all of the positive changes that were happening once her diabetes got more under control.
 
It does get better! :bighug:

I can't recall exactly how long it took for Asia to get used to normal numbers, but it wasn't any distressing length of time and it paled in comparison to all of the positive changes that were happening once her diabetes got more under control.

That’s good to know
I’m so totally and completely wiped out.
 
She’s on cerenia.. helps.
Is ondansteron similar?
It is. Cerenia never used to work for Rufus. Ondansteron worked better for Rufus before his numbers dropped, but still works now. Rufus tried cerenia again for 2 days. Worked good day 1, day 2 was so so. Good price on ondan at Sams Club if you are a plus member.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top