3/3/15 Lucy AMPS 274 +5 77 +6 58 +7 56 +7 50 +8 41 +9 92 +10 85 +11 74 PMBG 50

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
Yippee again! Lucy is back in green numbers at +5 this morning. A dose reduction for one dose, a lowered dose for another dose and a skipped dose has made not much difference and we have green numbers again after a short bounce. I am not sure how often I should be testing when in green numbers. It is possible that Lucy had a lower glucose level before +5 as she often drops low early in the cycle so perhaps it might be wise to lower her dose a bit for tonight. I am wondering about the dose because even after a 1.25 unit dose she still had green numbers and then after this low dose we skipped a dose and then we had a short bounce and then into green numbers again. We lowered the dose from 3 units to 2.75 units a few doses ago. Thank you.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/yippee-2-3-15-lucy-ambg-86.133920/
 
Last edited:
Look at Lucy go!!

There's no real particular number of tests you need to get when in green numbers....it's more a case of knowing they're past nadir and not going to drop any more and aren't requiring food to keep them above 50

Sometimes that's going to mean testing every 30 minutes and others every 2-3 hours....It's very much a "know thy cat" kind of thing
 
Thank you Chris. I have been testing every half hour with small amounts of food to keep the numbers steady and to distract Lucy from the tests.
 
Look at Lucy go!!

There's no real particular number of tests you need to get when in green numbers....it's more a case of knowing they're past nadir and not going to drop any more and aren't requiring food to keep them above 50
My sense is that we are on a downward swing and without the small amounts of food the glucose levels might have gone under 50 but I don't know. The last test was 3.2/58.
 
She's looking great. Some cats have to go up in dose til they hit the dose that finally moves them, then they can start downward. Looks like that's what happened with Lucy.

Someone told me when I started out that the goal is NOT to earn dose decreases, but instead to get the blood sugar all under 120. I thought when a cat went below 50 you HAD to take a dose decrease, and punkin kept going under, then i'd decrease his dose, then i'd have to go back up in dose. That was enlightening to me and helped me change my focus.

For that reason, personally, I would not decrease her dose in advance. If you could keep her over 50 just by giving her little tidbits of low carb food, that means that she wasn't absolutely requiring a dose decrease. If a cat really must have a dose decrease, it's not that easy to keep them over 50. You've gotta pull out the high carb and maybe keep giving it to them for hours. So I would carry on with your 2.75 and have my fingers crossed that some of those higher numbers that are still popping up (like this morning's 274) will come down.

That's what I'm thinking, at least. You should feel really good at how well she's doing!
woot.gif
 
She's looking great. Some cats have to go up in dose til they hit the dose that finally moves them, then they can start downward. Looks like that's what happened with Lucy.

Someone told me when I started out that the goal is NOT to earn dose decreases, but instead to get the blood sugar all under 120. I thought when a cat went below 50 you HAD to take a dose decrease, and punkin kept going under, then i'd decrease his dose, then i'd have to go back up in dose. That was enlightening to me and helped me change my focus.

For that reason, personally, I would not decrease her dose in advance. If you could keep her over 50 just by giving her little tidbits of low carb food, that means that she wasn't absolutely requiring a dose decrease. If a cat really must have a dose decrease, it's not that easy to keep them over 50. You've gotta pull out the high carb and maybe keep giving it to them for hours. So I would carry on with your 2.75 and have my fingers crossed that some of those higher numbers that are still popping up (like this morning's 274) will come down.

That's what I'm thinking, at least. You should feel really good at how well she's doing!
woot.gif
Thank you Julie. Yes I feel very good at the moment at how well Lucy is doing and I do think the dental a month or so ago has made a big positive difference as well as the increase in dose.
 
I agree with Julie

If China's really ready for a reduction, she'll either go into the 30's, or I'll have to spend several hours feeding high carb to keep her above 50....if she's right at 48-50 and a little low carb will keep her from dropping lower, I won't reduce just because she dropped below 50 or I'll just have to take her right back up
 
I agree with Julie

If China's really ready for a reduction, she'll either go into the 30's, or I'll have to spend several hours feeding high carb to keep her above 50....if she's right at 48-50 and a little low carb will keep her from dropping lower, I won't reduce just because she dropped below 50 or I'll just have to take her right back up
Thank you Chris. The reason I was wondering about reducing the dose further is because we reduced to 2.75 units for one dose after BG was under 50 and then I gave 1.25 units for the next dose for reasons explained in a previous post and then we skipped the next dose after the 1.25 units so I was thinking the depot was quite depleted and we still had green numbers. Thank you again.
 
Go Lucy! :D:D:D Looks like she's really turned the corner. Congrats on the reduction. Good job handling this cycle Voula.

You might want to keep notes of what food you fed in the Renarks part of the spreadsheet. Next time you get low numbers that'll help you know how much high carb food you have to give to get Lucy up. Usually the later in a cycle that you see a low number, the less carbs you need to bring them up.
 
Go Lucy! :D:D:D Looks like she's really turned the corner. Congrats on the reduction. Good job handling this cycle Voula.

You might want to keep notes of what food you fed in the Renarks part of the spreadsheet. Next time you get low numbers that'll help you know how much high carb food you have to give to get Lucy up. Usually the later in a cycle that you see a low number, the less carbs you need to bring them up.
Thank you Wendy. That is good information about the later in the cycle it is the less carbs you might need to bring the glucose levels up. I actually wasn't too anxious this time as we had lower numbers a few days ago too. :)
 
I am not giving Lucy insulin at +12 as her glucose level has dropped to 2.8/50 again and this is too low for me to dose as the lowest I have dosed at is at 8.6/155. This is wonderful and I feel so happy at these great glucose levels we are having now. The Rand protocol says if glucose level is between 2.8 and 5.5 one option is to feed and delay the dose for a few hours until the blood glucose is over 5.5/100 which is what I will do. It also gives options if the rise to over 5.5/100 doesn't happen. My feeling is that this surf in green numbers could continue for some time yet or we could have a sudden rise and bouncing.
 
Go Lucy go, this is so wonderful Voula :D

your choice to feed and wait a few hours is not something we'd usually do, probably mostly because of issues getting back on schedule, but I think it was a good call for you and Lucy in your circumstances :)
 
Thank you Serryn. I imagined you saying give the dose! :) My strong feeling and possibly because I am by nature very cautious is to wait for a rise in blood glucose before dosing. Schedule is not an issue because I am home most of the time so it doesn't matter what time I give the dose.
 
Tee hee hee it is a brave bean that doses at 50 and given your nervousness with lower numbers and that it's over 100 points lower than what you've dosed before not even I (with my very itchy trigger finger) would suggest that! It helps a lot that you are able to adjust Lucy's schedule at will.
 
Tee hee hee it is a brave bean that doses at 50 and given your nervousness with lower numbers and that it's over 100 points lower than what you've dosed before not even I (with my very itchy trigger finger) would suggest that! It helps a lot that you are able to adjust Lucy's schedule at will.
Thank you and I am not brave in this regard as you know. :) Yes our dosing schedule can be very flexible which is very good. It will be interesting to see how long till the glucose level rises enough for an insulin dose. I have been reading all your posts about Purrdy and Vyktor and Meg too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top