3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 PMPS 144 no shot now @+14/266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebecca & Jose

Member Since 2014
Trying .5 u again today. Last nights PMPS was 197 and the .5 seemed a bit too less but with his 167 AMPS this morning I'm thinking .5 would be good. I'll be here testing away again. Hopefully his SAFE greens come back :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167

Surf safely today Jose! :mrgreen: Will be curious to see how the 0.5u does on that lower pre-shot.
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 watching closely

At +3 he is at 69 I know he's going to drop more so I will be watching closely.

Exciting side note:

Since Jose and I moved back with my parents and his diabetes became less regulated I noticed that he had become more lethargic and very rarely did he play. When he was better regulated he used to chase around ping pong balls and randomly shoot into a sprint throughout the apartment. I haven't seen him play since we lived in my apartment. He went after a Ping pong ball today!!!! I know he is feeling much better. I was so excited to see this!
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 watching closely

They feel awful when their numbers are up.

Please continue to test every hr or so, more often below 60.

You do have med carb and high carb if he gets too low right? You may need to steer him a bit with the food.
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 watching closely

Yep I went out this morning to buy more LC food and bought some higher carb cans as well. I'm testing every hour and if he gets below 50 I'll give him some food and test every 15 mnutes

Just tested at +3.5 and he went up to 73
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 +4/76 +5/78 +6/82 +7/123

That's odd. Maybe some overlap? Rarely is there a nadir at +3. But I know nothing about prozink and only a little about PZI.

Hopefully, someone with more experience will chime in for you.
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 +4/76 +5/78 +6/82 +7/123

Yea I wasn't quite sure what happened. I'm happy with his low numbers but that did confuse me.
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 +4/76 +5/78 +6/82 +7/123

It's not the norm, but few cats are normal. :shock:

You might try finding Carl, I think it's Bob and Carl and ask him to look at Jose's SS. Carl is really good with the overlap thing. He's very scientific minded and may be able to explain it to you.

I'll find him for you and see if he can look.

EDIT I sent him a pm. If he has time, he's always willing to help, he's a great teacher.
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 +4/76 +5/78 +6/82 +7/123

Rebecca, when I look at that string of numbers, I see a pretty flat "surf" Meters have 20% variance and those numbers are certainly in the same range. I don't know why it started early unless he was still dropping at amps. (anytime you get a lower amps number, it is smart to take another test in 15-20 minutes just to make sure the number isn't still going down.) Of that were the case, then your shot would definitely have had an overlap and he could have dropped lower early in the cycle.
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 +4/76 +5/78 +6/82 +7/123

Maybe its just the way he works. I'm liking the 0.5 units for now, baring any other problems popping up.

How're his teeth?
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 +4/76 +5/78 +6/82 +7/123

In all the hours I have spent reading through all the links on the board I did read about overlap explained by Carl. After reading it I think I have a basic understNding of how it works. I'm definitely thinking overlap may be at play. I have started dosing 15 minutes early each cycle in order to slowly adjust the time of his shots since my schedule might be changing soon (fingers crossed for my teaching interview on Thursday) when/if I get a teaching job soon.


As for any other problems popping up and the question about his teeth, he doesn't have any other issues but his teeth are pretty bad. In July 2012 get had his first cleaning and ended up having 9 teeth extracted. Currently the vet wants to clean them again but wanted to wait until his diabetes was regulated better. At his next appointment I am going to ask her if we can get him in for a cleaning. I will admit I tried to brush his teeth but didn't push it too much. After his next cleaning I am going to follow the advice on catinfo.org about slowly starting a brushing routine with Jose.

The only other issues I had had with him is crazy car sickness - vomiting, urinateing and defication the whole ride. He also is picky about his litter box if any other cats use it he won't. Instead he'll pee on the bathroom floor. He hasn't done that since we moved into the basement though, away from the other cats :). He turned into a spoiled only child when I took him to school with me.
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 PMPS 159, 144 what to dose???

Ok so his PMPS at +11.5 was 159 and then 15 minutes later he's 144. What do I do now? I'm happy he's low but I don't know what to dose. I'm thinking maybe skipping it tonight ?
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 PMPS 159, 144 what to dose???

I think I would skip. It's night and difficult to monitor, and it's lower than we'd recommend shooting. He will probably be higher in the am as he will have been 24 hours since the last shot, but I'd be still be cautious with the am dose.
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 PMPS 159, 144 what to dose???

With skipping his dose tonight and depending on his levels in the morning do you think it would be ok for me to move the time of his shot earlier in order to get it to fit my upcoming schedule better?
 
Re: 3/3/14 Jose AMPS 167 +3/69 PMPS 159, 144 what to dose???

Yep, if you're skipping, and assuming Jose rises to a shootable number, you can change your shot time.
 
I didn't give any insulin to Jose after his 2nd PMPS of 144 just his dinner. Two hours later he is at 266. I know he went up because of eating. I hope tomorrow's AMPS isn't way high :(. I was hoping to keep his pancreas in healing below 250.

With Jose's levels not rising to a shoot able number for the PM cycle and the +3 nadir in his AM cycle I'm definitely thinking there has been some overlap.

I wish I could get some reads on how he responds to no insulin tonight but I really need to get some sleep so I won't be able to :(.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top