3/29 Zeke AMPS 148; +2.5/ 44; PMPS 114; +2/ 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon LL,

Sending healing vines to all that need them.

Zeke is doing well although we're having some frustration with his dose in that he's going to low but his BGs are still rising above 120. He just earned a reduction yesterday. I think he's now on a 0.25u dose (see picture below). I'm curious, would you call this a 0.25u?



I have a health-related question I was hoping you could help me with. Our civie Mia has diarrhea. We've been giving all our kitties pumpkin/squash, but would like to try something else to help clear up Mia's diarrhea. I'd like to get something FD friendly, if possible, that would be safe for Zekey in case I need it for him in the future. I can't find the Purina Fortiflora in town but there's a pet store that carries Optigest. Are you familiar with this product? Is it safe for diabetic cat? These are the ingredients I'm not sure about:

SEB-Relief (Proprietary Blend) 10mg *
Providing: Hemi-SEB® (Cellulase, Xylanase, B. Gluconase, B. Glucosidase, Pectinase, & Phytase 20,000 FCC units per gram), Lactase, & L. sporogenes

Would you say this would be safe for Zeke?

On the topic of Zeke: If you get a chance, would you mind taking a look at Zeke's ss and letting me know if there's anything I could be doing differently? Recently we add 7% FF to keep him from going too low but now with the lower dose we'll most likely be going back to mostly 4%. We'll have to try different feeding combinations.

Would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks,

Laura

Zeke's previous condo from 3/3
 

Attachments

  • Dose 0.25..JPG
    Dose 0.25..JPG
    15.9 KB · Views: 562
Re: 3/29 Zeke - ScrawnyCat Lounger

Darn, wish I would have seen the brawny one before I got Zeke the ScrawnyCat Lounger. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 

Attachments

  • ScrawnyLounger2.jpg
    ScrawnyLounger2.jpg
    44.5 KB · Views: 536
Re: 3/29 Zeke AMPS 148 - Diarrhea Treatment Question

I've never seen FortiFlora anywhere but in the vet's office. I've always ordered it on-line (e.g., Amazon, Entirely Pets, PetFood Direct).

There are other probiotics that you can use. For example, ReNew Ultimate is a very potent probiotic and is available at Whole Foods and GNC. (You start with approx. 1/3 of a capsule x2/day). Pearls is a probiotic my vet recommended since the pills are tiny. Most pharmacies carry this brand.

The big plus with FortiFlora is that most cats really like it. If their appetite is off, the FortiFlora can act as an appetite stimulant.
 
Re: 3/29 Zeke AMPS 148 - Diarrhea Treatment Question

hmmmm, curious. i bought some of that and gave it to punkin, and i think i'd asked about it being FD friendly. but lactase is milk sugar. what is the carb listing on the bottle? the clerk was telling me that this was better than fortiflora, but i didn't think it was. vets are usually the ones who carry fortiflora, so perhaps calling a vet? otherwise Amazon has it.
 
Re: 3/29 Zeke AMPS 148 - Diarrhea Treatment Question

oh, i meant to comment on the syringe. i can't see the lines enough to say, but what i did was to have the top of the plunger half-way between the 0.5u line and the hub of the syringe.
 
Re: 3/29 Zeke AMPS 148 - Diarrhea Treatment Question

I would like to add that despite the frustration of not being able to get Zeke diet regulated, we are so thankful and feel very fortunate that Zeke has come this far. Our wish is that all the kitty's whose beans are still working on getting their sugar babies regulated may one day see their babies get to as good of a place, if not better, than where Zeke's been able to get to due to all the help and advice his mamabean has gotten here on the FDMB.
 
Re: 3/29 Zeke AMPS 148 - Diarrhea Treatment Question

i noticed your comment on zeke's ss about wishing his preshots would come down.

one technique in a cat whose pancreas is healing that can work - give a teaspoon or two of low carb food at +9ish. that can stimulate the pancreas and pull down the numbers. sometimes that works.
 
Re: 3/29 Zeke AMPS 148 - Diarrhea Treatment Question

Thanks Julie and Sienne for your responses. I would say the dose is probably a 0.25u. I prefer not to have any non-FD friendly products/food in the house so I'll pass on the Optigest and instead look for those other probiotics mentioned.

Thanks!
 
Re: 3/29 Zeke AMPS 148 - Diarrhea Treatment Question

julie & punkin (ga) said:
hmmmm, curious. i bought some of that and gave it to punkin, and i think i'd asked about it being FD friendly. but lactase is milk sugar. what is the carb listing on the bottle? the clerk was telling me that this was better than fortiflora, but i didn't think it was. vets are usually the ones who carry fortiflora, so perhaps calling a vet? otherwise Amazon has it.

Lactase is an enzyme which breaks down milk sugar, aka lactose.
Generally, if it ends in "ase", it is an enzyme and if it ends in "ose", it is a form of sugar. The ingredients of the product you listed are mainly enzymes.
 
Re: 3/29 Zeke AMPS 148 - Diarrhea Treatment Question

Hey Laura!!

Been missing you and Zekey. He sent Gracie a PM asking if he could visit and share the Brawny Cat lounger since he was too brawny for his Scrawny Cat Lounger :lol: :lol: :lol: Of course, Gracie said yes because she thinks he is very handsome!

When Tobey had soft stools, I gave him Standard Process Gastro Fiber. It really helped him and I still give it to him. He eats 1/2 capsule in his food bid. His poos have been perfect since I started giving it to him. I also gave it to Gracie for a bit and it never raised her BG.

On his dose, I probably would have suggested you reduce him from f0.25u to 0.1u after you got that 30s number. I don't think shaving to 0.25u is enough. I'm so excited that he's doing so awesome...you have done a super job :-D I concur with Julie on feeding around +9 and seeing what happens. NOTE: this is recommended only for cats that may have a working pancreas. The thought is that if his pancreas is working some, you'll see numbers come down about three hours after h eats. Paws crossed.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/29 Zeke AMPS 148; PMPS 114

Marje and Gracie said:
Hey Laura!!

Been missing you and Zekey. He sent Gracie a PM asking if he could visit and share the Brawny Cat lounger since he was too brawny for his Scrawny Cat Lounger :lol: :lol: :lol: Of course, Gracie said yes because she thinks he is very handsome!

Aww, Zeke thanks Gracie for the compliment. Being that the compliment came from the lovely Miss LBG (aka WBL), he is extremely flattered.

Marje and Gracie said:
On his dose, I probably would have suggested you reduce him from f0.25u to 0.1u after you got that 30s number. I don't think shaving to 0.25u is enough.

Well, the dose we've been giving I would say has been fairly inconsistent and therefore difficult to actually quantify. My DH and I were never able to master the calipers so we've been eye balling it. Throw in the fact that I'm much more ADD about getting the bubbles out of the syringe than DH, so all I can say with any certainty is that at any certain time it's been less than a 0.5u but more than a 0.25u. Being that it's such a low dose and been probably fairly inconsistent, I've been working hard not to allow Zeke to earn a reduction. I figured that since his PS numbers were still so high, a reduction would most likely end up being a fail. However, given the 30s he had yesterday and the fact that I've been having to feed him more 7% to keep his BGs propped up, I figured a reduction was in order. The dose we're giving now is a little easier to measure more consistently as we can use the 0.5u line as a static point of reference (well at least that's my hope).

So given the above explanation on Zeke's dosing and given the fact that we've already started on this "0.25u", do you think we should just hold this dose and wait and see what happens or would you still recommend we give a 0.1u? Also, do you have a link for what a 0.1U looks like? I thought I'd saved the link for it but have been unable to locate.

As for the +9 feeding, would this be for just the PM cycle or both?

Thanks,

Laura
 
I think as much as you test, you can go ahead and hold it (considering, too, your explanation) and see what he does. The feeding at +9 would be for both cycles....when you can. Consistency is good but life does not always allow that +9 feeding.

Here's the 0.1u dose pictorial:
01unit-1.jpg
.

:-D :-D
 
good grief - just coming back to say BJM is right. i even TAKE lactase, so you'd think i wouldn't get that one mixed up. ohmygod_smile

Zeke is looking awesome, laura. you've done a super job of managing him. i'm hopeful to see what the +9 feeding of a bite will do. fingers crossed for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top