MJW
Member Since 2017
Yum is a 15 year old spayed female. Her glucose was normal in August. In December at a 4 month checkup it was 314. After an immediate change to low carb food and maybe a week on 1 unit of insulin twice a day she was in remission before Christmas. She had monthly checks. On Feb 28 her glucose was 377. The only diet change post remission was the introduction of cosequin and omega fatty acids drizzled on her food from capsules. I stopped those. We started on a half a unit Lantus once a day. We did not do a curve, but she had numbers at various times of 399, 298, 346. After 2 weeks we increased her to .5u twice a day. We had numbers 293 and 386 in one day morning and afternoon. After 8 days we increased her to 1u twice a day. We had numbers 317 and 397. She went to 1.5u twice a day on March 25. By now I have my own AlphaTrak2 glucose monitor. On the morning of March 28 five hours after her shot she was 484 her highest number yet. Today I am trying to do a curve at home. I did not do the AMPS test. At +3.5 hours she was 480 and at +6 hours she was 510. She is not very active today. I have not done a recent ketone test. She has a good appetite. She is not vomiting. I heard some gagging this morning before breakfast but I didn't find anything and it might have been one of the other cats. I will finish this curve for the vet tonight. Will an evening pre shot test be as useful as an AMPS? Do we expect an AMPS to be high or low? I was expecting her nadir to be around +6. I understand the nadir to be the most important number. Of course it seems every time I take a reading it is the highest yet. She sometimes has an elevated WBC. She had a dose of convenia on March 9 when she wasn't eating. There were no other unusual numbers at that time---I attributed it to a toad she had eaten. She did just finish 4 weeks on adequan. Any words of wisdom?