3/29 Tiki AMPS 306, +8 175, Skipped PM Shot, New Dog

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonya and Tiki

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115960

Tiki has been bouncing around all week. Up, down, left, right. Poor guy. He was just starting to get used to being an only child when I went and rescued a chocolate lab today from a shelter. He has paid little to NO attention to Tiki (which is good as he had NO history with cats since arriving to the shelter). Tiki on the other hand isn't quite sure what to think. He is kind of doing a little bit of a hunger strike so I didn't shoot him tonight in case he dropped really low and wouldn't eat.

The pooch came to me as Raji but doesn't respond to it at all. If all goes well I plan on changing his name to Bodhi (after Patrick Swayze's character in Point Break. I always thought that would be a great name for a Lab. LOL Bodhi is 6 years old and 74lbs (and I think he looks skinny, uuuugh). He is super tall and has knocked everything off of everything so far. His only health issue is he tested positive for Lyme Disease. I called my vet and asked if this is something to walk away from and she said no and commented that the long term effects will likely be minimal. Now this is all over the phone without a proper visit, but that was a good sign. Hoping for the best. He also has a bit of diarrhea which he came to me with some meds for. He is very laid back (hoping this isn't just him not feeling well and when he kicks this bug he bounces off the walls). Within 10 mins of arriving he was sacked out on the floor ready for a nap.

What I had not expected was the wave after wave of tears that followed our arrival home. It's been a really bad week on the tears front. Monday I picked up Sasha's ashes from the vet. I have done this before and while yes, it was sad, I was happy to have them back. Mom and Dad have an army of boxes sitting next to their wood stove of all their dogs that go back to when I was still living at home. Those always make me smile. But Sasha, WHOA!!! There was something so horrible about the small box she was in. How could the absolute love of my life fit into such a tiny thing. And it was so final. I tried putting her box somewhere of prominence but everytime I see it I just cry so for now she is hiding under things so I can't see her. And then today, I bring Bodhi home and the tears just started to fall. I was adamant that I just needed to turn my tears and sorrow into something more productive and have been looking for a rescue to do just that. But wow, I didn't see this coming. There was something so final and real about seeing Bodhi here that Sasha was really gone. I know she is gone. But the full scope of this somehow has alluded me since she died. Until today.

I hope I didn't do this too soon. I am really happy to have him here with me and he has been so good so far. A friend posted this on Facebook tonight. It about killed me.

will-FTLTD.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top