3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46 +6.50/73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA)

Member Since 2010
Hi everyone, :-D :-D
Sid's appetite was a little better today - maybe. :smile: I've found that he really likes Whiskas and no longer seems to want the Special Kitty. The Whiskas is 10% carbs though so I only let him have that if he is on the low side and this morning he was HI, probably because he dropped 200 pts in an hour last night. That is despite my feeding him small meals in the first couple hours post shot. Today I fed him 9lives and he ate that pretty well.

He's been on baytril until his zeniquin arrives and I have not seen him frequenting the water dish so much.
On Saturday I am taking him in for another WBC and kidney profile. It has been a month since his last WBC - I can't believe I didn't realize it had been that long though the vet did tell me to check it once/month. I still wonder if that is often enough. His immune system is very poor probably because of his lymphoma and the chemo pills he takes twice per week. Let's hope for some good results though. I just hope his anemia isn't worse. nailbite_smile I've been trying not to test his bg as much because of the anemia but then he inevitably pulls a fast one on me and drops. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4 202 +5.5 46

Holy cow, Sid, slow down!

He's been nadir-ing a bit early, hasn't he, Lydia? Gonna take a look at the SS...

Carl
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4 202 +5.5 46

Is the dose still 1.5, and any idea what he did between the HI amps and the 455 PMPS?
Carl
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4 202 +5.5 46

Lydia,
Things going okay?

Carl nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4 202 +5.5 46

Hi there, i'm just curious about Sid's ss. Does he get just one shot a day? Honestly, I don't understand alot of abbreviations that go on here in general and Junior is fortunate so far to not have any other problems except for being "extra sweet"!

I'm trying to learn about everybody else's kitties in hopes to understand our situation more and maybe help someone else down the line.

Laura, Junior... and Johnny cat (civvie)
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4 202 +5.5 46

Carl,

I updated his SS. Sorry I was delayed in doing that. I wish my google docs was not so slow! Yes, he seems to nadir early in the evenings and run higher in the morning - thank goodness. If he dropped to 46 while I was at work it would be a disaster. But I'm not sure what the early nadir is about. He seems to be doing the same thing as when he first went DKA and we discovered he likely had a kidney infection that caused it. Almost every night he dropped to near hypo levels and then spiked up - but that was on lantus. Over the weekend I noticed that he was drinking an excessive amount of water - to the point where he was walking between water dishes constantly and peeing almost every hour despite having bgs in the 200s. I was worried about a UTI so I took a sample in to the vet. They didn't find anything (sent it out for a culture anyway) but said he may not show symptoms because his immune system is so compromised - in that he may not develop any wbc to fight off an infection. So he is back on baytril again and will be on zeniquin when it arrives.

tonight i've noticed his ears and paws are very cold :sad: but he is acting normal - walking around and talking to me. Maybe he is just cold. I've been trying to hold him to warm him up but he doesn't like to be held so he gets mad at me and says aww mom put me down :roll:
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4 202 +5.5 46

@ Laura, HI, Sid gets 2 shots/day. His SS looks a little different from the others because it is in a TID format but I no longer dose 3x a day and am back to 2x. I just haven't changed the format of his SS in case I had to go back to 3x/day. Hopefully that answers your question. Hope I'm not confusing!! It wouldn't be the first time.
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4 202 +5.5 46

Lydia,
Remember when you were first asking about shooting IM, and I thought (as I had read here a few times) that the insulin might be absorbed differently? Conventional wisdom (sort of odd there is any, considering you and I are probably the only people who've shot IM for any length of time!) seemed to be that the insulin would get absorbed faster, meaning earlier nadir and shorter cycles.
Unfortunately, I didn't really ever shoot sub-q, except for 3 days at the very beginning, so I never was able to conclude there were any differences between sub-q and IM when it came to duration or nadir timing, or absorption rate.

You're sort of in the same boat, because when you were shooting sub-q, there were reasons why it seemed like the sub-q shots weren't effective (Sid's weight and lack of body fat). So neither of us has really been able to compare one way vs. the other effectively.

Carl
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46

OK, so Sid is still sitting in the 40s? Probably take a little while for the food to bump him up. I'll be here watching.

Carl
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46

Thank you Carl! I'm going to give him a little karo if he doesn't rise a little at the next check. He's eaten almost an entire container of the Whiskas grilled chicken in gravy (actually I think I'd better double check if that is high carb) and a few treats. So I will keep you posted.
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46

I know what you are saying about the IM and SQ and nadirs and duration. I don't know what conclusions to draw either because Sid doesn't seem to follow any patterns. Now I'm too paranoid to shoot SQ because if he doesn't absorb it he would be HI for hours and his ketone level would rise.
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46

Now he's at 73! Spiking right up. I"m sure I over did it on the food... I always panic a little when he gets that low. Thanks for being there for me and Sid, Carl!!
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46

Well, at least you know the Prozinc is working. Dropping 400 points in 5.5 hours doesn't "just happen"! You figure if the food has gravy, it must be somewhat high in carbs, but not sure what list or chart that brand and flavor is on.

Carl
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46 +6.50

No problem, Lydia!

Now tell Sid he's not allowed to just skyrocket up there. Try to convince him that surfing is fun...

Carl
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46 +6.50

Sorry I missed the party, but glad Sid is doing well!

Libby
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46 +6.50

Glad you're on your way back up. Take a minute and take a big deep breath - you're almost in the short rows!

Good job handling this tonight!
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46 +6.50

I'm working on convincing Sid that surfing is fun. Right now at +7/107. So please Sid do not spike up to Hi but I have a feeling he won't listen to me. The last few mornings his bg has been between 400-600 and then in the evenings he goes low. I realize these are bounces but still. I'm going to drop his dose to 1.4 just to see if things even out a little. If ketones start to appear on the meter more than today (0.5), I will have to raise his dose back up.

Yes, Carl, I am glad the Prozinc IM brings his level down and he has even surfed a few times so I was glad about that!! I was not able to find the Whiskas grilled chicken in gravy on any chart but I imagine it has a fair % of carbs.
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46 +6.50

I hope Sid listens to you better than Hershey listens to me. I think my kids taught him ;-) This is Hershey
ththla.gif
 
Re: 3/29 Sid PMPS 455 +4/202 +5.5/46 +5.75/44 +6.25/46 +6.50

Wow, Sid! Whatcha trying to do to your Mama :smile: Looks like 1.4 is in order. You maybe up against TID soon? I know you don't want to hear that, but Sid may put you in that situation or we need to try and find a solution to keep him from going to high by the next morning, as you stay BID confused_cat

Are you leaving HC food out for Sid when he's been low? Just wondering if it's the dawn phenomenon effect? He's not getting into reg treats or anything other food when you're sleeping is he? Have you worked on the color healing therapy lately?

Sending healing energy to Sid!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top