3/29 Rusty #2 AMPS 232; +3 349; +6 593; +9 482; PMPS 400; +3 364

Status
Not open for further replies.
His bounce may be breaking! Much nicer than those icky blacks from yesterday.

You should be good to shot, just make sure you monitor him during the day. (I know you will... but just in case. ;) )
 
That is such a better number to see. Remember with Lantus being a depot insulin and you can't test at night better to be safe and go slow with any increases of insulin. They usually drop lower at night. Are you able to leave food out for Rusty at night? That way when his numbers drop he has food. Are you following one of the protocols SLGS or TR? That is great that you can get some data today.:) Yes 232 is a good number to shoot. Let's see where his numbers go today and then in your subject line put a ? and then ask for help with dosing:) His numbers will come down as you take him off the dry food. You'll have to test and make sure he is staying in safe numbers.
 
That is such a better number to see. Remember with Lantus being a depot insulin and you can't test at night better to be safe and go slow with any increases of insulin. They usually drop lower at night. Are you able to leave food out for Rusty at night? That way when his numbers drop he has food. Are you following one of the protocols SLGS or TR? That is great that you can get some data today.:) Yes 232 is a good number to shoot. Let's see where his numbers go today and then in your subject line put a ? and then ask for help with dosing:) His numbers will come down as you take him off the dry food. You'll have to test and make sure he is staying in safe numbers.

I do leave food out for him overnight. Typically he will eat about 1/3 of his dinner at meal time and then munch on the other 2/3rds overnight. I also leave amount a small amount (less than a 1/4 cup) of dry EVO Cat/Kitten. As far as I can tell I'm following the SLGS but maybe a little backwards. When he came to us he was on a very high dose of NPH and his diet was full high carb dry. So we've changed his diet, swicthed his insulin and have brought his dose down quite a bit, although we are still figuring what's right for him. Before his recent DKA he was on wet food only but for the sake of keeping him continuously eating enough, we had to bring back the dry (albeit a better one). It's weird, if he has the option for both, he will many times start with a few bites of dry and it kick-starts him to go for the wet. Not sure what that's all about.

I think his most recent test (+3 349) is probably food influenced from his breakfast so we will see where he is at +6.
 
I agree that it's probably the bounce clearing after about 6 high cycles. Give this same dose another couple of cycles to see if there's improvement. The experts might have something different for you. :)
 
I agree that it's probably the bounce clearing after about 6 high cycles. Give this same dose another couple of cycles to see if there's improvement. The experts might have something different for you. :)

Grrrrr...the latest number is back up in the stratosphere. He either went low overnight and is bouncing again or needs a dose increase. Any input from the experts? @Wendy&Neko His numbers were so much better on NPH :(
 
Last edited:
It looks suspiciously like he went lower last night. If there is a day cycle where you see him go down at the end of the cycle, that is probably a good one for a night time test if you can swing it. I'm a little worried he might be on too high a dose, but we haven't been able to spot the evidence yet.

What was he eating when on NPH? How much of his food is he eating overnight now?
 
I agree with Wendy with the PMPS number apparently falling and then the yellow amps followed by the pink +1 in the morning it looks suspiciously like he dropped somewhere last night and was already rising by AMPS, looks like he might have done something similar the night before.

If you could manage to get a test in the pm cycle on days like that it might shed some light on the matter.
 
It looks suspiciously like he went lower last night. If there is a day cycle where you see him go down at the end of the cycle, that is probably a good one for a night time test if you can swing it. I'm a little worried he might be on too high a dose, but we haven't been able to spot the evidence yet.

What was he eating when on NPH? How much of his food is he eating overnight now?

I can see why you'd say that. The purple from last night and the yellow this morning makes me feel like I might have missed a good night to stay and test. Bummed I couldn't get back down here. When he was on NPH, he was on a wet food only diet. For the first half of data he was on Blue Buffalo Indoor Salmon and the second half was Friskies Pate. The dry food only came about after the DKA because they stressed the importance of him taking in enough calories and he just wasn't eating enough of the wet for that to happen.
 
Does it seem like tonight might be a good time to come back at +3 and try to stay until +5? Looks like he's dropping, although he's still high. I also have a feeling the dry food is really affecting his BG and at this point he's eating the wet food well enough to where I feel comfortable taking him off of it. When would that be advisable? I know without night time data it makes a lot of ya'll uncomfortable. But if I leave enough wet overnight and maybe try it tonight if I'll be coming back?
 
I agree that the dry food is impacting his BG, but it's also what's keeping him safe overnight. It's a tradeoff. If you can come back, maybe around +3 tonight and see how he is, you can leave just the wet. And if he's dropping fast at that point, put the dry food back.
 
I agree that the dry food is impacting his BG, but it's also what's keeping him safe overnight. It's a tradeoff. If you can come back, maybe around +3 tonight and see how he is, you can leave just the wet. And if he's dropping fast at that point, put the dry food back.

I'll plan to head back over there for a +3. I know that no one will be around when I'm there. If he's dropping how long should I stay, if so for how long? If he's higher than PMPS, I leave?
 
What time is your +3? There are a few of us west coasters that are up late and can keep an eye open for you.

If higher or same as PS you can leave. How much lower, if he is, will determine next steps. It can take a cycle or two for the dry to get out of the system, so you may or may not see any difference tonight.
 
What time is your +3? There are a few of us west coasters that are up late and can keep an eye open for you.

If higher or same as PS you can leave. How much lower, if he is, will determine next steps. It can take a cycle or two for the dry to get out of the system, so you may or may not see any difference tonight.

Thank you :) His +3 will be at 10:30 PST. I didn't know you were on the west coast. What state? Okay, I'll follow the coordinates you've given and update either way. I can't thank you enough for your help.
 
I'm in British Columbia, Canada. :)

I'm more than happy to help. And there's a story behind it. Around Christmas 2015, I was part of a fan out email from one of the local people I know in cat rescue. They were looking for a foster for a long haired black and white diabetic kitty girl. Apparently the local SPCA had taken it to one of the local vet clinis and told them to euthanize. :( Kitty was otherwise healthy and I think something like 8 years old. Vet clinic put out the call for help. I had my hands full at the time with my girl but always wondered how that story ended. I am beyond thrilled to hear of an SPCA going the extra mile for a diabetic kitty.
 
I'm in British Columbia, Canada. :)

I'm more than happy to help. And there's a story behind it. Around Christmas 2015, I was part of a fan out email from one of the local people I know in cat rescue. They were looking for a foster for a long haired black and white diabetic kitty girl. Apparently the local SPCA had taken it to one of the local vet clinis and told them to euthanize. :( Kitty was otherwise healthy and I think something like 8 years old. Vet clinic put out the call for help. I had my hands full at the time with my girl but always wondered how that story ended. I am beyond thrilled to hear of an SPCA going the extra mile for a diabetic kitty.

We are now at 364 at +3. Not sure if this is low enough from his PMPS to consider sticking around? Although he's only got maybe a spoon full of canned food left of the full can he had three hours ago.

That's a touching story ☺️ For a minute there I thought that kitty was going to be Neko! I can't say that I haven't received some flack from other staff members who think I'm wasting resources on this kitty and probably would have made a different decision. I understand that opinion, I really do, although it's a bit more of a municipal mindset. We are a non profit organization who's whole mission is to be the safety net for animals -- and not just the perfectly healthy ones. People support us because of that and I'd like to think our donors would appreciate the way their dollars are being spent here. Of course we have our limits and I hope to not reach them. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top