? 3/29 Millie Post DKA, PMPS 609 (AT) Lantus: Up dose, shot due in 15 minutes? Need Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I did not get any feedback but I increased Millie's Lantus dose from 1u to 1.25. I got additional readings yesterday. Today I was gone most of the day. We tested her and her bg was 609! She had been running high but would then go low. She is post DKA and we've been trying to regulate her ever since.
 
I think you were OK to increase to 1.25 but it really would help to start getting some tests on the PM cycle

Most cats go lower at night, so if you can get a quick "before bed" test it could help fill in what's going on with Millie

Without some PM tests, you're missing half the data
 
I started to get some PM tests done. My husband and I are on meds before bed and they put us out, we are trying to stay up to get those. We will test again before bed.

I was very scared of the 609. My husband wanted to give her the shot even though at the time it wasn't due for another 20 minutes. What should we do going forward if there are high numbers?
 
The high numbers can be a reaction to low numbers, or a bounce. If you get more mid cycle and night time tests, we'll be able to determine if the dose is too much, and thus causing lows that cause those high bounce numbers. I agree with Chris that you were probably OK giving the increase tonight. Giving a shot 20 minutes early is fine. You can move the shot 15 mintues a cycle or 30 minutes once a day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top