3/29 Mego AMPS +10.75 94 PMPS 85 No PM shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katie & Mego (GA)

Member Since 2013
Good morning! Woke up to a happy, purring, HUNGRY kitty this morning. Poor Mego had to wait an extra hour for his breffis this morning because of the crazy work schedule. He hung in there like a champ though. And it looks like he surfed all night long perhaps? He isn't scheduled for his next shot until after I get home from work late tonight. Maybe he'll be in for a skip tomorrow morning.
Yesterday's condo

Mego and & I are sending out lots of healing vines to those who need it today - especially Rhiannon and her family.
 
Re: 3/29 Mego AMPS 102 +2 69 +3 77 +5 72

Well, I know it's still early, but it looks like Mego likes his .25 unit. I plan to do an AMPS +7 before I leave for work this afternoon to see where he is trending. Today is going to be a bit of a strange day in regards to PM meal/dose times. I will be at work during his normal PM meal and shot time. I know we don't usually feed after nadir but if I do this today, he won't have eaten in 10-11 hours. So would it be better to leave out several catsicles and then give him the more substantial meal at shot time late tonight (11PM EST)? Or should I feed a full meal before I leave for work, hoping his afternoon numbers continue to surf or rise and then determine when I get home based on his numbers if he needs to be dosed late tonight? Am I making sense here? I want to do what is best for him and keeps him safe this evening while I'm gone.
 
Re: 3/29 Mego AMPS 102 +2 69 +3 77 +5 72

Mego's chart looks beautiful - I wish Sweetie would copy it and stop his bouncing :lol:

Can't give advice, just support from the sidelines :RAHCAT
 
Re: 3/29 Mego AMPS +5 72 +6 76 +7 75

I hope Mego surfs safely for you today with whatever you decided to do about feeding him. It is hard to know what to do sometimes. I usually leave food out for Furball and just hope she eats it if she needs it. I have other cats, so I'm never sure who ate it.
 
Re: 3/29 Mego AMPS +5 72 +6 76 +7 75

Hi Katie, Mego is looking awesome. I think leaving out catsicles would be a good idea since you're going to be late on the PM dose. Eating a lot as the insulin wears off might cause higher numbers, as will delaying the shot. If you're going to be shooting late, you might want to reserve a bigger meal for the shot since he normally onsets pretty quickly, and you don't want him to be too full if you need to manipulate the curve with food. That's what I'd do, anyway. Maybe change your subject line to include "question so you get some more eyes.
 
Re: 3/29 Mego AMPS +5 72 +6 76 +7 75

Hmm, well I just looked at your SS and see that Mego actually sometimes has a second dip later on in the cycle. If you'd feel more comfortable leaving out more food in hopes that it will help him surf, then perhaps that's the best thing to do. I think it's your call and what you feel safest doing.
 
Well, it's been another interesting day in the Mego saga. He did very well while I was gone today at work. I left out 4 catsicles since he was only at AMPS +7 75 when I left for work. I was able to come home on lunch again and check on him and he had gone up to +10.75 94. When I got home tonight after work, he had eaten over half of the catsicles I left and he hardly touched the meal I tried to give him. So with a PMPS 85 - there's no shot for this guy, especially if he's already full.

And now he thinks it should be play time with his new mouse... so it looks like it will be a quiet night at our house - or will it? Stay tuned for the next chapter in the Mego Saga.

Can anyone tell I'm tired? :lol: :lol: :lol:

I hope everyone had a good day, and I'll try to catch up on some of your condos as soon as I can.
 
Looks like Meegs is doing good even with skipping insulin shots. That low carb must really be helping him. You are doing an awesome job with Mego. I am not sure if this will work with Mego - but if I am worried about Jupiter not eating - I usually give him a FF appetizer, he really seems to like them and will atleast eat a little bit of it even if he doesnt seem too hungry. I think it was Deb and Dian that told me the appetizers are low carb - they should only be used for a snack though because they dont have all the "good stuff" in them that the cats need (minerals and what-not I suppose). I also have coupons for the appetizers if you would want to try that (they are a little more expensive than the cans) =]
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top