? 3/29 Max AMPS 196 PMPS 401 (on contour)

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Max’s eyes look better this morning, but I will still call the vet to make sure it’s not an infection that needs to be treated. Someone is supposed to come for more work on our house so I have to work that out. I have also thought about sensitivity to some laundry detergent I’ve been using lately. He likes to lay in a basket of towels straight from the dryer.

I was going to go back up on his Lev this morning but it looked like he was bounce clearing so I thought I better wait. I will update about his eyes once I talk to the vet. Have a happy Wednesday. We are gonna try.:cat:
 
I called the vet’s office and gave them report on Max. They told me since he looked better, to continue to keep an eye on him and call back if he gets worse again. They gave him an appointment for Friday afternoon just to be checked anyway, but to call back asap if worsens. So that’s what we will do. Thanks for everyone’s concern yesterday.:bighug:
 
Max is bouncing now but he’s had such a good day.:cat: He’s looking so much better. We had nap/cuddle time this afternoon. I love when it’s like this. Here’s how he looks now.

upload_2023-3-29_15-50-8.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-3-29_15-50-8.jpeg
    upload_2023-3-29_15-50-8.jpeg
    54.2 KB · Views: 87
BG was good while it lasted. I also had a question about Max’s coat. You can’t really tell in the picture I posted but his fur is looking really greasy and spiked lately. Mostly seen on his back, chest, arms and his tail. Is that from his diabetes or something else? I am concerned because a previous cat I had with kidney failure had that happen to him. I’m sure the vet will notice it Friday but I will mention it.
 
My Jackson used to have a really greasy coat - with dandruff underneath. I figured it was because he wasn’t feeling so good, so he wasn’t washing. But I never knew his blood sugar was high. It’s taken a while on insulin, but even though his numbers are still high his coat has gotten better.

So - I guess I don’t know for sure, but diabetes seems a valid guess? Or anything else that makes them not feel like washing.
 
Sorry about the bounce. I found if Neko went 5 days without seeing greens, some glucose toxicity would set in and she'd bounce hard when she finally saw them. That plus the lower dose is also causing higher bounces as he's body not used to green as much.

I'm glad to hear that Max's eyes are feeling better today.

As for the coat, is Max not grooming himself as much as he used to? With CKD (and heart disease) Neko still groomed herself. It is getting into shedding season, he might need a little help with some combing. He might also just feel more icky in those higher numbers.
 
@Wendy&Neko he hasn’t felt well in a while and I think it is because of his numbers. He does groom himself some and I brush him regularly because he sheds and has dandruff too. So do you think he needs to be back to 5.5 units? I reduced because I was getting exhausted from all the testing and feeding, trying to prevent the deep dives, then I started wondering if he’d stop diving so much if I decreased a little. I guess I shouldn’t have. I just feel so lost lately with what to do. So increase now, right? He did see green for a short time today. What else can I do to prevent these dives and huge bounces? Try the R again and at what point in the cycle would help in your opinion? I already feed higher carbs early in the cycle when it looks like I should. Thanks Wendy.
 
His nadirs do give you room for a 0.25 unit increase. I used to reduce the dose occasionally for a few days too, to get caught up on sleep. Then I'd go back up. But reducing isn't something you do to stop diving and bouncing. Unfortunately higher doses generally means higher preshots, and further to dive down. :banghead:
 
Okay I understand. It’s the glucose toxicity for sure so I will go back to 5.5 and just be patient. Hopefully it will settle down eventually. It’s so hard not to let these numbers upset me! It’s also hard seeing Max feeling unwell. I just need to get back on track. Thanks again!
 
My Jackson used to have a really greasy coat - with dandruff underneath. I figured it was because he wasn’t feeling so good, so he wasn’t washing. But I never knew his blood sugar was high. It’s taken a while on insulin, but even though his numbers are still high his coat has gotten better.

So - I guess I don’t know for sure, but diabetes seems a valid guess? Or anything else that makes them not feel like washing.
Thank you. I’ve read similar stories as yours here on FDMB so I’m thinking it’s because of Max’s BGs.
 
Back
Top