3/29 Maverick ... Has A Vet!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/29 Maverick AMPS 86

Good for you! YAY: and off to the Y. I hope that the addition will get things off to a great start for the day. Good luck!

What a nice amps for Maverick. I love those green amps. SWEET!

have a great day today - I hope that the new schedule works out for you. Good luck!
 
Re: 3/29 Maverick AMPS 86

Hey Karrie, good for you joining the Y for a workout program. You'll be amazed how good you will feel and what a nice way to start out the day. Nice AMPS for Maverick, too! Yes, Chatty Kathy was here this morning! She said she misses Maverick and will be there tonight! :lol:
 
Re: 3/29 Maverick AMPS 86

*Locking the doors, windows* *boarding up vents* *Keeping lights on all night*

Chatty Kathy proofing *check*

I hope I feel better. I'm at my highest weight ever. The fatigue doesn't help. But I will be tired whether I work out or not and the past three weeks I haven't needed to nap so there is improvement. I really hope it helps my energy. I've never been energized from working out in the past. Who knows. I've got to get off my butt. The big thing is it gets me out of the house.
 
Re: 3/29 Maverick AMPS 86

Good for you, Karrie...getting out and exercising! I hope it helps your energy level. Maverick is looking good, nice AMPS! I hope your Chatty Kathy proofing works. :lol:
 
Re: 3/29 Maverick AMPS 86

Congrats on your first workout day. I'm impressed that you are going to go first thing in the morning and you will feel so much better in the afternoon when you come home and realize that you already worked out for the day. I wish I could work out in the AM but unfortunately, work won't allow it. By the time I get home, I have to force myself out the door to exercise. I always am glad I went, but getting motivated is the hardest thing.

Good to see Maverick in the greens this morning.
 
Re: 3/29 Maverick AMPS 86

good for you commiting to a workout, I'm so lazy half the time I don't do it. Then I whine about my clothes not looking nice on me :lol:

Maverick is looking fantastic, keep it up.
 
She called back and she had a chance to read the info on the Rand protocol and if I was still interested she would be happy to see Maverick as a client.

She also went through the kidney results for me. She said he'd be an IRIS stage 2a as he is concentrating urine. She is recommending more frequent monitoring but also to do a protein/creatinine ratio - urine sample.

She's going to get adequan ready so we can try this out for his arthritis. She says since we have experience with injections - we can do this at home.

And she's going to check his blood pressure. Her suggestion too - a previous vet laughed when I asked about blood pressure. He was like no way they'd attempt it on Maverick. She said if its normal we can rule it out. If not, then it won't mean as much ;).

So we bring him in Monday at 7pm. I want to get a dental out of the way while he is on insulin still.

Thank you so much for all the support and advice. This is a vet that has shown herself to be more open than any vet yet.
 
Congratulations on finding a vet that you trust with Maverick's care.. I know it has been a struggle & I am very happy for you. Finding our furbabies quality care is nailbite_smile
 
Congrats, Karrie!! New vet, new workout regime... new beginnings!! :) I've got to kick my weight loss into high gear... I've been terrible lately, and with my brother's wedding in early July, I've got a dress to fit into (that I'm literally staring at right now. darned watermelon pink dress!).

FYI... if Maverick isn't cooperating on the BP testing around the leg, have the vet try the base of the tail. Willie freaks out about having his paws touched, but was a perfect angel for the tail test.

Hope you're having a great day!! :)
 
Hooray for a GOOD VETTY!!! Go easy the first day of workout--DH & I walked a big outdoor mall sunday--
I try to walk a whole store everyday for exercise...Not to worry, I bet you look great!! Hugs from us!! :mrgreen:
 
That is wonderful news Karrie, a Vet that is open to how you're treating Maverick and will work with you in the other areas, too. Things are getting betterer and betterer. Be careful! Chatty Kathy has her own means of getting into our homes.
 
:lol: chatty cathy proofing? no idea what that is, but it sounds like you are ready!

good job on the exercising and YAY on the vet!

funny image now in my head of a blood pressure cuff next to Maverick's hiney! :lol:
 
It is promising. I really want a vet that will be his vet for years. And get to know him. That doesn't easily intimidate me. The fact that she read the papers and is okay with how I manage his diabetes is huge. They will be much more expensive but worth it. And they are the emergency hospital so if ever there is an emergency they will have his file.

The meter threw a 155 +7 at me. I was shocked. I didn't think he could have snuck in bites of the dog food. So I brought the meter downstairs (because we all know I can't remember from one floor to the next) and the meter wouldn't turn on. I noticed a small battery icon. So replaced the battery and retested and got 100. No low battery warning at all.

I would love to walk the malls and window shop for activity :) I would get sidetracked for sure though :lol: Ahh I see the outdoor part. Brrrr.

I'm really embarrased about my pictures in my brothers wedding. You have four months you can do it!

I admire those that have the drive to get out and work out after a long days work. I know 100% that this would not be me. I have enough time to get in a coffee and pop into some condos before hand too :)

Regarding the blood pressure check - he HATES his back end touched. Its very painful for him. Can they not do it on a front leg?
 
I'm so glad you found a vet that sounds like a reasonable human being! As for being expensive, it sounds like you're getting your money's worth!
 
They can do front legs too, Karrie... I just suggested the tail as an alternative because not all vets think to try it, but it is an option. :)

Thanks for the encouragement! I think I may leave the dress hanging from the ceiling in the dining room until it is time for alterations... constant reminder!! :lol: :lol:

I had a similar thing happen with my advocate meter... though I got a little more advance warning! Glad you caught it!
 
That is great that the new Vet is with the Emergency Animal Hospital, too. You found a real keeper and deserve it after what you've been thru with some others. I do mostly stretch exercises right now and some walking but not enough to qualify for exercise. Great you started on a program.
 
Congrats on the new vet! I hope it's the beginning of a great relationship and support. That must be a big relief. Good for you with your new fitness schedule...good luck!
 
Hi Karrie! Fantastic news on the vet! I also had success. My vet and I talked today, and she had read the tight protocol I gave her and said she had no problem following it! Hooray!

Now, about the exercising...I'm jealous! :razz: :razz: No, just kidding, I think that is sooo great. I've got a hunch a lot of us get in a rut due to our special needs critters. They take so much of our energy. I know I can go days without leaving the house, and when I do go do something for myself, I worry about Tessie! But we all really do need to be good to ourselves. Easier said than done. Keep us posted on your progress, ok? Maybe you'll get me off my rear end, too. I'm also the heaviest I've ever been, and I hate the feeling. Clothes shopping is so depressing when you're overweight! :oops: :oops:

Anyway, way to go!
 
Congrats on the vet and the workout plan!!!! I'm glad you finally found someone you can work with and you feel comfy with...so important and it sounds like she is really open to what we do here.

I hope with time the workouts will increase your energy...they are great for handling stress, too. So hang in there girl!!
 
Karrie, glad you found a good vet for Maverick… :-D

I can not train in the morning myself… I prefer to train in the evening at home… and I should start in about 15 minutes… ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top