3/29 Maggie PMPS 137; +2 91; +4 97 ATrak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67351

Wednesday, 3-28
AMPS 129
+2 116
+4 88
+5.5 102
+9 118 snack
PMPS 141
+3 86
+4 116 free feeds over night

Morning ~O) Maggie sure does not like me on the computer. She wants my full attention with non stop chatter, so I finally had her on my lap and then had to place all my attention on her. All P's in place. I was studying my ss and back around October 28, 2011 Maggie was earning a dosecrease with the three numbers below 80. She had several dosecreases using the three 70's, and the dose wasn't holding. I can't find the post, but I remember vaguely a dosing helper suggesting I try three below 70's for a dosecrease with Mags being both a long term diabetic kitty and also returning from the Falls after only five months. I may be wrong, as I can't locate it. Three below 70's on the ATrak would be the same as your three below 50's on the human meter. Maggie being a long term diabetic kitty and also returning from the Falls after only five months is following a modified protocol. Here is one time a shave was discussed because she was on such a low dose.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ning+from+the+falls+modified+protocol#p374345
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107 ATrak

Hi Ann,
It's clear from your link to last year's post that 80 on the Alpha Trak is equivalent to 50 on the human meter. So three numbers below 80 would earn the decrease (following our modified TR protocol). If you get ONE number below 70, that would be an automatic decrease (the equivalent of a number below 40 on the human meter). I don't think that anyone has suggested (or would suggest) that you have to get THREE numbers below 70 on the ATrak to earn the decrease! That would be too dangerous. Whether you plan to take the decrease as a shave or as the .25 of a unit is really up to you and should be based on your knowledge of Maggie's past performance.

Clear (as mud)?? :lol:

I hope you get to take your walk today and that Maggie won't mind too much if you go out for a little while. :smile:

Have a great day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 ATrak

Hi guys .. well no dosing advice from me unfortunately .. I'm glad she's being a lovebug demanding all your attention today .. means she's feeling good :-D have a great day!
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

I've been in the searches looking for this post where the three 70's was suggested as Maggie wasn't holding the dose. Scroll down to two posts from Sienne.. This was back in January:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...hilit=+maggie+is+a+long+term+diabetic#p660944

I've copied if you don't want to weed thru the topic:

Re: 1/13 Maggie PMPS 138; +3 69 Dosecrease ATrak
by Sienne and Gabby » Fri Jan 13, 2012 6:42 pm

I would evaluate how hard it is to keep Maggie's numbers up tonight. If she comes right up, you could wait for 3 drops below 70. If it's harder to get her numbers to stabilize, I'd take the reduction. Does that sound reasonable?


Re: 1/13 Maggie PMPS 138; +3 69; +4 75; +5 90 AT
by Sienne and Gabby » Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:02 pm

I just want to be clear to anyone reading your condo that what I'm suggesting is "off protocol." Maggie is a long term diabetic and back from the Falls. While she's been in good numbers, they've been mostly blue numbers. It should be a little tougher for a long term FD to get a dose reduction. And, of even greater importance, Ann monitors carefully.
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

Moonie & Maggie got green today!!! :RAHCAT
Glad to see Maggie heard your threats!! :lol: Moonie got a drop added & look where she went today+46!
Look how lucky we are, they can be together in the green lagoon!
Have a beautiful day!! Hugs & Love from us~!~~~~~~~ :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

Look at Maggie go! I'd say you k ow just how to handle her numbers. I was given the same advice w/ Tess. She wasn't holding w/ just one time under 40 either. We take it as it goes though, if she is easy to pull out of it she needs another one. If it is too hard to keep her up we'll give the reduction.
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

Mags is lookin' nice today!!!

Yeah, this whole reduction stuff for our girls has been a bit complicated this week, hasn't it? My head has been swirling a bit, trying to keep up with all of it!

I hope you guys are having a great day!!
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

+6 108

Thanks so much Ann. I knew I had a post offering this suggestion of the three below 70's, and it was all based on Maggie not holding the dose with the three 70's. It was up to me as to whether to try it. Who knows; she may change. I had a reputation of freaking at the low numbers, so I would never take a risk if I felt it was too dangerous. Maggie's numbers greatly improved once I got her on the Wellness Turkey, too.

Roni, they are both in the green Lagoon.

Devon, I thought my siamese was a talker and demander; well Maggie is so much more, but I love it. :-D

Ella, I hope this post helps where we were talking Mags not holding the dose. It probably won't be clear as mud though! :-D

Amy, I didn't even get dressed or showered weeding thru all the posts trying to find the above topic. Mags is hollering at me, too, to get off the computer and tend to her. :lol:
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

Wonderful today for Miss Maggie. What beautiful numbers!!

Ann, now stop reading your posts and get back to your undivided attention of Maggie :lol:
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

Hi again, Ann,
I'm glad you found the three-under-70 post! Sienne does say that it is "off protocol", but if it works and if you are there to monitor, so much the better. Sorry I scared you. I meant that it would be dangerous to have Maggie frequently in the 60s (corresponds to the 30s, where most of us would take the automatic reduction).
In any event, Maggie is looking great today!

Ella
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

:lol: :lol: :lol: Maggie sounds so much like the Binkster that I'm wondering if it is a manxie trait...
I swear...if I ignore Binks when he's chatting me up- he gets the most aggrieved attitude!

he'll sit in full view but turned slightly away, then make pitiful little comments- looking sadly down at the floor,
then up at the ceiling like he's rolling his eyes and shaking his head in sorrow! Sounds like a little kitty Hamlet soliloquy...
I have to admit, sometimes I ignore him on purpose just for the giggles! :lol:

Entertainment galore!!
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

hi ladies. some on-going commitments are preventing me from spending time in LL these days, but i've been trying to follow along when i can.

of course, each and everyone of you will make your own decisions regarding the treatment of your cat. it's something we encourage. however, i'm really finding the need to comment here because this is a safety issue.

imho, when you're shaving doses rather than taking a full reduction and waiting for a cat to drop below 70 (AT meter) or 40 (human meter) three times before taking a reduction... a caregiver is putting their cat at an increased risk as well as possibly putting them over dose. do one or the other, but please do not combine these methods. the risk is too great unless you're available to monitor 24/7. it's not worth it. if i had seen the advice offered at that time i would have spoken up then.
edited to add: unless i missed something, after reading the threads you've linked... i don't think there was ever a suggestion made to combine taking shaves with waiting for kitty to drop three times before taking a reduction.

i run alex in green as much as possible. her *protocol* is individualized based on years of data. on occasion, i've pushed the limits, but i have to say even with as predictable as alex is... waiting for her to drop into the 30s (human meter) or 60s (AT meter) three times before taking a reduction combined with using dose shaves is not something i would do. it's too darn risky.

i'm all for low numbers. i'm all for individualizing approaches for difficult cats. i'm all for taking kitties into the greens and keeping them there. we can't be afraid of low numbers, but we must show them a healthy respect. we cannot allow ourselves to become cavalier about low numbers.

just yesterday i received an email about an OTJ kitty who fell off the wagon. her BG was 480 (26.1). the caregiver administered 0.1 unit levemir. first shot. no overlap. no shed. by +4 kitty was experiencing a symptomatic hypo... staggering, unable to walk, glassy eyed, and trembling. BG was 29 (1.6). kitty is now fine and will hopefully return to the falls soon.

i bring this up only because sometimes i think we have a tendency to become blasé about low numbers, but we must not let ourselves.
stuff can and does happen even amongst the most diligent caregivers.


just my 2 cents... stepping off the soap box.
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

Okay, what I will do then with the next below 70 is give Maggie a .25 reduction. She only needs one more number below 70, as the 80 she just received is so close. She is on five drops presently, so it's almost a .50 reduction with counting the drops. Maybe her numbers are too low for the ATrak, as they're almost as good as if I were using a human meter. Does this sound about right?
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Okay, what I will do then with the next below 70 is give Maggie a .25 reduction. She only needs one more number below 70, as the 80 she just received is so close. She is on five drops presently, so it's almost a .50 reduction with counting the drops. Maybe her numbers are too low for the ATrak, as they're almost as good as if I were using a human meter. Does this sound about right?
that's one way of doing it.

because maggie (long term diabetic) is down to only 5 drops of insulin you might want to follow the modified version by shaving her dose every time she drops below 70 (AT) or 40 (human meter)... and forgetting about the dropping 3 times below 80 (AT) or 50 (human meter) mentioned in the formal TR protocol. that's just what i would do since she has a history of not holding reductions...
 
Re: 3/29 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 107; +3 80; +4 88 FOUND IT

because maggie (long term diabetic) is down to only 5 drops of insulin you might want to follow the modified version by shaving her dose every time she drops below 70 (AT) or 40 (human meter)... and forgetting about the dropping 3 times below 80 (AT) or 50 (human meter) mentioned in the formal TR protocol. that's just what i would do since she has a history of not holding reductions...

That may be a better way, as Maggie is so sensitive to just a drop change and also extremely carb sensitive. This may get her numbers up a bit higher but okay for the ATrak.
 
Re: 3/29 Mags AMPS 137 +2 107 +3 80 +4 88 +6 108 PMPS 137 AT

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Maggie sure does not like me on the computer. She wants my full attention with non stop chatter, so I finally had her on my lap and then had to place all my attention on her.

It wasn't that she wanted your attention Ann, she just wanted to be in your lap so she could see Vyktor's condo ;-)

Very interesting discussions going on here again. Maggie's condo wins the educational condo of the week award.

Mags, you have all my attention for always love Vyktor
 
Re: 3/29 Mags AMPS 137 +2 107 +3 80 +4 88 +6 108 PMPS 137 AT

hi Ann! I wish you luck. All very educational here today. I think you know Maggie very well, have given her expert care. You know her best, and how she will react to the insulin and the foods. It sounds like you have come up with a plan, one that will work for you. Wish you the best of luck with it.

Very nice numbers for Maggie today! more greens!! I hope you were able to get your walk in. :-D Enjoy your evening!!!

too fun wit Maggie wanting a your attention.... GO MAGGIE!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top