3/29 Lucy PMPS=212;+2=229;+4=178

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Saturday!

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=191 (s1u); +1=214; +2=211; +7.5=193
PMPS=227 (s1u); +1=225; +2.5=209; +4=221; +8=198

Today
AMPS=238 (s1u); +2=203; +3.5=173; +6.5=180; +8=178; +10.5=203
PMPS=212 (0.75u); +2=229; +4=178

Lucy's energy is low and appy is so-so this morning.
She decided she doesn't like Wellness Turkey anymore last night, but she's eating Wellness Chicken.
I'm going to have to got buy some more cans of Chicken this afternoon.
Seems like I'm cat-food-shopping every weekend.

Her numbers are still high.
Mostly just yellow, with a peek-a-boo high blue.
I'm going to buy a new box of cartridges today, and try that from today's PM shot.
It's a wishful thinking that bad insulin is causing high numbers, but at the same time, I do feel that her numbers changed since this box.
I'm more and more concerned about the possibility of infection brewing somewhere.
I think it's possible that she's had mild infection somewhere (urinary tract? Kidney?), and stress from the vet visit pushed that over the edge, and maybe that's why I'm seeing all these yellows......

Whatever it is, my poor poor Lucy.
Her body has more than enough to deal with already.
 
Re: 3/29 Lucy AMPS=238;+2=203

Well I just had another idea popped in my mind about the insulin effectiveness.
It's another silly idea.

But it's possible that it's the other way around.
It's possible that the old cartridge from the previous box had somewhat compromised effectiveness.
And with the new batch of insulin, the same dose is too much and she's in some sort of constant bouncing mode?
They could go high if they are getting too much insulin, don't they?

I will humbly accept if you want to bonk my head with a club.
What I'm saying is probably very frustrating to some of you, but I have to try and see it for myself.
I'm going to try and cut the dose back to 0.75u, and start over.
I just don't feel right about increasing her dose right now, so I will try other things I could think of before adding more juice.

I just feel really sorry for Lucy for messing things up for her.
 
Re: 3/29 Lucy AMPS=238;+2=203;+3.5=173

Mariko:

I have no advice for you, but I will say that you know your kitty better than anyone, and if you think this is worth trying, I'd go with it. You just never know what will help these kitties, and sometimes a shot in the dark hits the target.

I had to laugh about your cat-food shopping comment. I'm at Petco, Petsmart, and anywhere else that carries cat food every week, with my lists in hand. I get lots of stares as I read labels and flip pages, trying to figure out what's a good choice. :lol: I need to come up with a better system. Good luck keeping Lucy's appy happy!

Sending good appy and energy vines.
 
Re: 3/29 Lucy AMPS=238;+2=203;+3.5=173

Hi Mariko! I seem to think, breathe, and dream kitty food lately :lol: . Especially since Chynas phos went up last BW. I feel your pain on shopping for it :o

I'm sorry I'm no help on the dosing or insulin musing, and hope that there is no infection brewing. I wondered about too much insulin with Chyna too, when we kept going up (and BGs went up) till the 5.5u breakthrough she decided to come down! They live to confuse us :oops: . I am glad she is showing you some blues, though, and hopefully will slide down some more today :-D .
 
Re: 3/29 Lucy AMPS=238;+2=203;+3.5=173

Thank you, Tricia and Chyna.

I feel really guilty about not being able to just keep increasing until I hit the "breakthrough" dose.
I feel I'm robbing her the opportunity to be better regulated.
I saw the "breakthrough" dose thing happen to Trixie too.
But Trixie and Chyna were acting happy and normal in the process, weren't they?
Lucy seems lethargic and her energy level has decreased, and that's what worries me and why I think something's not right.
But of course with everything else going on with her, it could be anything.
 
Re: 3/29 Lucy AMPS=238;+2=203;+3.5=173

Awww Mariko, I wish they could just tell us! You have to do what you think is best, especially when you work, to keep her safe.

I'm not sure if Chyna was happy or not...she seemed ok, but I've noticed she also seems much more alert lately than she was. And her energy level really hasn't been very high in years but the arthritis meds seem to help her be more mobile. I have days where I have to hold the dish for her, or spoon feed. So there is a bunch of different things for us, not just insulin, there's the arthritis and the CKD. Lucy has lots going on too. I just wanted to share that I was worried about dose increases too and her going up still so I feel your pain :YMHUG: . I've done bigger reducies than protocol to test her too and am doing allergy testing so it's always fun ;-) . I think someone told me that a sign of too much insulin is an inverted curve? I hope someone with dosing knowledge etc can come along to ease your worries.

In the meantime, hugs to you! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/29 Lucy AMPS=238;+2=203;+3.5=173

Mariko,
You know Lucy so well. You are investigating every possibility for her health. Don't feel bad about not increasing. You are doing so much more that just giving her insulin. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/29 Lucy AMPS=238;+2=203;+3.5=173

Don't feel bad about reducing her dose. You need to rule things out so you can find out what's going on with Lucy. I hope she feels better soon. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/29 Lucy PMPS=212

Lucy didn't move from the bed in the 2nd bedroom at all all afternoon, but she was in a good mood, so we napped together there.
I love spooning Lucy when we nap together, and she loves it too. She purred the whole time.

I went ahead with my experiment, and shot 0.75 unit.
If her number gets worse, I'll start increasing.

She ate the 1st dinner well.
I'm giving her Wellness Chicken 3oz this evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top