3/29 George AMPS-420, +4-224, PMPS-459, +4-358

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alaina and George

Member Since 2012
George was finicky about his dinner tonight (but of course he gobbled up some Friskies)...

If you take a look at his spreadsheet, he's still quite high.

Do you think I should increase his dose to 1.25u BID tomorrow? or 1.5u? We are going to a new vet on Tuesday but I am getting nervous with those high numbers.

Your thoughts are appreciated!

Thanks!

Alaina
 
Re: AMPS 420 +4 224 PMPS 459 Increase dose? Advice needed

I can't advise on dosing...
Just thought I'd come say hello. I haven't seen you here before. Welcome to LL.
 
Re: AMPS 420 +4 224 PMPS 459 Increase dose? Advice needed

hi Alaina

you should change your first post to have a question mark icon - that will get it more attention from the dosing advisors (I'm not one of them, either - sorry!)
 
Re: AMPS 420 +4 224 PMPS 459 Increase dose? Advice needed

Welcome to Lantus Land!

Here's the link to your post on Health.

Have you gotten any recent ketone tests? Because of the DKA diagnosis, it's important to know where George is with regard to ketones. That may influence whether you want to increase his dose.

It looks to me like George bounced off of the 186 last night. What this means is that he's not yet used to being in better numbers. In fact, his body has been used to sitting in high numbers. As a result, when the numbers drop, his liver and pancreas panic. They then pump out a stored form of glucose (i.e., glucagon) along with counterregulatory hormones which cause BG to spike. It can take roughly 72 hours for this bounce to clear.

Just so we know who and when is posting, we use a particular convention for our subject lines. It looks like this:
date cat's name AMPS#, +time-BG#​
3/29 George AMPS-420, +4-224, PMPS-459​

So, you might want to add today's date and George's name to your subject line. You'll need to go to the first post, click on the "Edit" button, make the change to your subject line, and then click on the "Submit" button.
 
Re: 3/29 George AMPS-420, +4-224, PMPS-459

Hi Sienne,

I attempted to check ketones with the new monitor and I didn't get enough blood in the first and then the second had a random error :( So I couldn't check it today.

I just rechecked his glucose and he's at 358.

I'm not sure what to do for tomorrow.

When he didn't want to eat his dinner it made me scared at first but then I thought it was because I had a rotisserie chicken for dinner and I think he could smell it... Also, for some reason, the Wellness Chicken Formula I buy by the case is a nasty watery consistency compared to the usual. Disappointing for sure. I will go out in the morning to get more ketone strips so I can test again. I'm thinking that it probably wouldn't hurt him to have 1.25u tomorrow but my syringes only measure by the half unit. Maybe I can get some quarter unit syringes when I get more ketone strips.

What do you think?
 
The smallest increment that syringes are available in are half unit. You have to eyeball the quarter units. Take a look at this photo. It may help.
025unit-1.jpg


The ketone meters typically require more blood than a regular meter. It may take some getting used to. If you can get some Ketostix and test that way, it would be helpful.

If George wants rotisserie chicken, as long as it's not been brined, it's OK. Right now, with a post-DKA kitty, food is an important part of keeping him safe. My general feeling is that if your cat wants a hot fudge sundae, let him have it. (Well, maybe not the hot fudge since chocolate isn't good for kitties.) We can always adjust insulin around food if necessary. Food will help with the ketones as will keeping him hydrated.

Here's the dilemma. If ketones are present, you need to increase the dose.

If ketones aren't present, you want to try to avoid increasing the dose at the same time the bounce is breaking. When a bounce breaks, there can be momentum behind numbers coming down. If you increase the dose, you can be adding to the momentum.

If you increase tomorrow, you'll need to be available to monitor and have a stock of strips and high carb food just in case the numbers drop.

Regarding the Wellness, there's a post regarding some of the issues. The cans manufactured in the US have a different texture than the food manufactured in Canada.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land Alaina and George

We're glad you are here with us. P,ease read the stickys and ask questions...we are here to help.
 
Thank you everyone...Held off on giving his morning shot today as George had an AMPS of 189 and I've never had an AMPS less than 400. I didn't think my nerves could handle a possible hypo and I also know that he drops between 100-200 points. Although, usually he peaks 4-5 hours after the dose and when I checked him last night at that time he was in the 300's so his peak must have actually been much later.

Also, I gave him Friskies Turkey and Giblets Pate for dinner last night...Wondering if that affects his BG less than the Wellness Grain free chicken.
 
Hi Alaina - Welcome to LL! As you can see, there is a ton of overwhelming info here, but also a ton of knowledge and support.

I can understand you holding off with today's shot, since you're not used to numbers quite that low yet. You'll eventually get used to it! And, what usually dose happen when shooting lower numbers is that the curve flattens out; the drops usually aren't as steep and dramatic. This is what we ultimately want, to keep our kitties as health has possible.

FWIW, Wellness used to make Trixie's BGs run all over the map, and she does well on the Friskies T&G even though the Friskies it supposed to be a little higher in carbs than Wellness. Personally, I stopped feeding Wellness a awhile go, for a variety of personal reasons.Also, there is a discussion going on here right now about the consistency issues with Wellness, as well as their lack of customer support. If you're up for it, I'm sure your opinion would be very beneficial to what's going on in that department.

Again, welcome - and keep asking questions!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top