3/29 Ducia +2 168 , +3 40, + 6.5 84, +8 142, PMPS 384 reducie waits till AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Hello,

I wanted to post an update on Ducia.

Ducia had wonderful day on 3/27 when she had BOTH cycles with Blue and even Green numbers. However, yesterday, 3/28 the Angry Liver stroke back and Ducia spent both cycles in what seems to be the bouncing effect. :(

Am I correct assuming that her Yellow numbers thru March 28th is bouncing?

On Sunday, March 26 Ducia had vomited an enormous hairball that pushed out her E-tube. Since she was eating well on her own and the tube was used for meds and water supplementing we let her insertion site to close and heal. The site looked good, not inflamed; the vet recommended not to use any medications at all and leave the wound open to heal. At the moment we have dry cotton gauze over the healing site covered with Velcro color on top because she scratches it bloody.

The ER vet who removed the sutures charged us nothing if it would be helpful for us to afford an internal medicine specialist’s consultation at the same clinic. We booked an appointment for Friday.

Do you have any advice for me as to how make the most out of this consultation?

The clinic already has all of her past blood/urine tests in. I am going to bring the “TR” sticky note to the appointment along with her SS. To see and to talk to a vet is a rare opportunity for us and it is unlikely that we are able to repeat it soon. Our “regular vet” runs very busy practice, sells Hills diet and often unable to return a call timely.We never sit and/or discussed Ducia's condition with him.

Thank you very much and have a wonderful day.
 
Hi Tanya! So glad to see Ducia is doing so well!!!

If I were you, before your vet visit I would write down every question I could possibly think of to ask the vet, even if it seems trivial or unrelated to FD. Start your list now and keep it handy, so you can add to it as you think of things to ask about.

You are doing a wonderful job caring for Ducia's issues, and keeping her safe!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I do hope so! Ducia has been on insulin for just over 4 weeks and must still be adjusting to it. And so am I, too new to it all.
Hi Tanya,
You might have been treating FD only a short time but you have a lot of experience. She's looking good. I hope your visit with the specialist helps you. Write every question down that you can think of. :)
 
The first IM vet visit I had with Neko, we talked for an hour. It was great! I also took Neko's spreadsheet in, but I had it on my iPad. Her spreadsheet also included her past lab results, so I could quickly refer to them or any trends.

If you have any concerns about Ducia's behaviour, walking, sounds, or anything like that, it's great to try to record that with your phone camera. There were a couple of times I wanted to show how arthritis impacted Neko's walking or her grinding while chewing so I took videos to show the vet. Cats usually won't perform well at the vet. :rolleyes:

And yes, Ducia is still bouncing. I'd give her a few more cycles yet, but it looks like she might have room for an increase as it's only high greens she's seeing now. Maybe wait until after the vet visit for that increase. Glad to hear she's eating well and the etube is now out. :)
 
Hello Wendy,
Thank you for the feedback :).

About Ducia's high Green numbers: I think I feed her wrongly/ incorrectly.:confused:.

You see, now instead of 2 full Tbs every 4 hours I give 1 Tbs or 2 tsp every hour or hour and a half, especially after BG test as a reward. I think it prevents her from going naturally lower than she would in case I didn't feed her so often. :confused:.

What is the proper way of feeding in small portions and NOT too often so the nadir can finally be found/confirmed? She still needs to gain aver 1 lbs to reach her optimal weight.

She is ok with eating the entire portion at once at night, the PM cycle. But if I gave her the entire +4 meal at once she is up and asks for more food in about 2 hours. I shouldn't ignore her hungry acting, should I? I wasn't ignoring so far and that how it appears that every time she is lowering I shovel some more food into her and she is back to the Blues or to the Yellows. I am really confused about the feeding right now :confused::confused:.

Her recent low Green was on 03/24 at +6. That day she ate and went to sleep with BG 187. 3 hours later she was BG 62. I think I had a mini stroke or something at that time and in my panic I gave her 8% snack. At BG 62 she was sleeping, no symptoms of lowering whatsoever, no hungry acts, nada, just slept.

What are the chances that should I have not tested her at +6 she would go unsafely low? And die? I almost decided not to test because she was sleeping and her ears are the poor things.

I ant to point aout again that I am still a novice.:)
 
Thank you,
I give 1 TBS, tested after 16 min and it is 48 now.
SHould I keep testing?

I have FF 14%- 17% and a nuke of 20%. If she is coming up I'd rather stay in LC zone.

What is my BG goal -number?

How often should I keep food offering?
I am changing the 911 prefix to Q. Please stay if you can to post.
Thank you.
 
Hey Tanya!!

I see Ducia's being a drama queen today!!

When she drops below 50, you should give her something high carb...6% is still low carb and may not be enough to bring her back above 50

She's also earned a reduction so your new dose will be 1U ....Congratulations on the reduction
 
I made my Peanut eat a tsp of honey with one of those big baby syringes the other day when he dipped down to 50.

Edit: but my case was a drop from like 250 to 50 quickly
 
I think she retaliates for all these cruel ear poking I have done...
She seems all right, grooms and bed and gives me that sly green eye of hers.
I am going to retest soon just to verify the up movement.
 
Thank you,
I give 1 TBS, tested after 16 min and it is 48 now.
SHould I keep testing?

I have FF 14%- 17% and a nuke of 20%. If she is coming up I'd rather stay in LC zone.

What is my BG goal -number?

How often should I keep food offering?
I am c.ng the 911 prefix to Q. Please stay if you can to post.
Thank you.
Yes, you need to test her about every 20 minutes until her bg is staying over 50. You can give her a bit of the 14% FF. Once she's over 50 check her every half-hour to make sure she doesn't start to drop again. I see Chris already gave you the same info, I guess we cross-posted, lol. You'll need to keep testing for about two hours if she is staying above 50.
 
I made my Peanut eat a tsp of honey with one of those big baby syringes the other day when he dipped down to 50.

Edit: but my case was a drop from like 250 to 50 quickly
WOW!
Did you jusy filled the syringe with honey and force feed the entire thing down Peanut's mouth? Ducia had Hypo and I wasn't sure if I could actually feed her with the honey so instead I just I kept putting some oh her gums. I thought honey was toxic for cats...
 
WOW!
Did you jusy filled the syringe with honey and force feed the entire thing down Peanut's mouth? Ducia had Hypo and I wasn't sure if I could actually feed her with the honey so instead I just I kept putting some oh her gums. I thought honey was toxic for cats...
You never want to forcibly put anything down a cat's throat, they can easily choke on it or aspirate it and that could be deadly!
 
Honey is fine for cats, unless they are allergic. It is actually a good alternative for those that can't do corn in karo.

The reduction is to 1.0 unit tonight, unless she skyrockets by PMPS. In that case you can do a one time old higher dose to help through the bounce and shoot the new lower dose tomorrow morning. We call it shooting through the bounce.
 
Honey is fine for cats, unless they are allergic. It is actually a good alternative for those that can't do corn in karo.

The reduction is to 1.0 unit tonight, unless she skyrockets by PMPS. In that case you can do a one time old higher dose to help through the bounce and shoot the new lower dose tomorrow morning. We call it shooting through the bounce.
OK, got it.
I am not aware of any allergies in Ducia. We have an app with a specialist on Friday. Is that something that she can help us to find out?
If yes, do you know how allergies are found in cats and what might be the cost?
 
@Squalliesmom is totally correct!!

Anytime a newly diagnosed cat (less than a year) goes below 50, they earn a reduction in dose

Now IF Ducia bounces really high tonight at PMPS (like over 300), you could give the 1.25 ONE more time...."shoot through the bounce", but then you'd start 1U in the morning
 
Don't feed yet-- we want to see if she can hold these numbers on her own.

Edit: and then, as Chris says, feed her as normal at +6 if she is able to hold the numbers.
 
When does she usually get fed?

If she's still above 50 at +6 and she usually gets a mid-cycle snack, go ahead and give it to her
She usually eats at +4, right when she thew in BG 40.Her reg portion for +4 is 2 Tbs LC. She ate them all already.
Her next meal of another 2 Tbs LC would be at +8.
Ducia needs to gain weight so for now she eats 2 Tbs LC every 4 hours.
For the AM i devide to smaler portions.
For the PM she usually eats 2 Tbs in full 3 times a night.
 
I am not aware of any allergies in Ducia. We have an app with a specialist on Friday. Is that something that she can help us to find out?
If yes, do you know how allergies are found in cats and what might be the cost?
I wouldn't look for allergies unless you think there might be some. They can manifest as skin problems (red skin, scratching) or tummy problems (loose stools, vomiting). There have been a couple of cats here allergic to corn, which is why I mentioned it.

Tanya - could you update your first subject title, so we know at a glance that Ducia is back in a safe range of numbers? Thanks.
 
By the spreadsheet, she's still holding in the 60's at +6.

I'm hoping that she'll start to climb high soon, so that Tanya can give her ears a much-needed break for a few hours today!
 
They can manifest as skin problems (red skin, scratching) or tummy problems (loose stools, vomiting). There have been a couple of cats here allergic to corn, which is why I mentioned it.
Actually, she was obsessively licking a bold spot on her chest, right below the color we use to cover her healing etube site. It is small , dark but not bright or red pink, hairless spot that looks a lot like skin infection she had 2 years ago. It looks like small abrasion and I thought it could be from the edge of Velcro color where it touches the skin and a result of her excessive liking.
She had one time diarrhea like bowel movement. It returned to normal since.
I should probably ask the vet about it nut I thought I ask you first if you are aware of approximate cost and how it actually done - a blood test or a skin sample? I have both honey and Karo in her Hypo tool box.
 
By the spreadsheet, she's still holding in the 60's at +6.

I'm hoping that she'll start to climb high soon, so that Tanya can give her ears a much-needed break for a few hours today!
She is 84 at +6.5.
Sleeps.
Is it safe to skip the +7 test?
I mean she was symptom-less when I tested and got her at B 40.
She looks as if she wanted to be left alone finally.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top