3/29 Dosing advice Mr GreyAMPS 75+4 76 +5 73 +12 79 +12.5 83

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76

Rick....you can do whatever makes it easiest for you but I just wouldn't go longer than an hour to test.

Uh....I hate to say this but I might get a different vet. You need a vet that is willing to run these tests for you and not charge you for an U/S that won't tell you definitively what you need to know.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76 +5

He's sleeping +5 73. I should test again in 30 he should be at nadir soon.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76 +5

IMHO, I wouldn't go until I saw more of a rise. Now...it's up to you if you want to feed him a large amount of HC or leave it out for him.

Keep in mind that the numbers above are food influenced. But it's your decision; you know him best. Just let me know so I'll know when to check back in. :-D
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76 +5

Will test @ +6 then leave out HC and return in a few hours. THanks !
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76

Rick, Mr. Grey is having another great day today. Looking good! Good job on the HC early in the cycle. When Neko is going low early, I just give her 1 tsp of HC. I think of it as applying light pressure on the brakes. But it depends how carb sensitive your cat is on how much HC you have to feed.

My vet originally thought I was wasting my money on the blood test, but she humored me because it's what I wanted to do. She thought Neko's dose was too low and it was too soon to do the test. She was at 7.5 units at the time of the blood draw. Needless to say, the vet was way more surprised than I was when the test results came back positive for IAA and acro. My vet has since recognized she has another acro cat in her practice.

To confirm Neko's acromegaly, she had a CT scan at Colorado State University to actually see the tumor. An MRI would do the same. The IGF-1 blood test does not 100% confirm the acro diagnosis, but if there was a positive result from the blood test, combined with Mr. Grey's dose, there would be a very strong indication of acromegaly. And the blood test is much cheaper. I wanted to be very sure that Neko had acromegaly before I drove a couple thousand miles each way to CSU with the cat in the car, so I had a discussion with the experts at CSU before proceeding. They thought that the positive acro blood test plus Neko's SS was enough indication she was acro. Bottom line, a blood test should be enough to get the answer you need.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76 +5

Thanks Wendy now I can understand why my vet thought he could ultra sound, he wasn't completely far off. The blood test is the way for us to go. I must get it done ASAP !
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76 +5

+6 78; leaving out HC is too risky there are two civilian bandits lurking.. I will feed him 2 tsp HC test when I return.
 
eyes on dose advice Mr Grey PMPS 79

today was a low surfing day. The LC snack @ +9.5 had the effect of lowering his BGL from 115 to 79. I think I should delay shot or feed HC with shot. I don't know. ?
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76 +5

Could you edit the subject line to add +12 79? You will have to delete some of the earlier values. :mrgreen: You can also use the ? Icon and put dosing advice? to get attention.
Liz
 
Re: 3/29 Dosing advice Mr. Grey AMPS 75;+4 76 +5 73 +12 79

Looks like Mr. Grey has a working pancreas. :-D

Will you be home tonight and able to monitor? This is almost the same number you shot tonight.
 
Re: 3/29 Dosing advice Mr. Grey AMPS 75;+4 76 +5 73 +12 79

I will be home tonight. I am very tired though but I can hang in there ! Is it also possible that his pancreas was sick from 8 years of HC dry kibble and now it's healing and his 9u dose is too much ?
 
Re: 3/29 Dosing advice Mr GreyAMPS 75+4 76 +5 73 +12 79 +12.

Id love to skip a shot Marje and based on data he seems to do well when that happens and it only has happened so far when I get stuck out of town . Shall I test frequently and use food to control ?
 
Re: 3/29 Dosing advice Mr GreyAMPS 75+4 76 +5 73 +12 79 +12.

I wouldn't go overboard on the testing. Just feed him and be sure he's coming up. Maybe get a +1 and a before bed and as long as he's surfing or coming up, grab some sleep and leave the HC out as Wendy told you before.
 
Re: 3/29 Dosing advice Mr GreyAMPS 75+4 76 +5 73 +12 79 +12.

So LC @ +9.5 made him lower when he should have been climbing then @ +12 he climbed to 83. So HC food is what I should feed before bedtime am I correct ? P.S. I can't leave food out I have two other civilians that will eat it on him :roll:
 
Re: 3/29 Dosing advice Mr GreyAMPS 75+4 76 +5 73 +12 79 +12.

I think with his situation, I would even though he isn't getting insulin tonight. His depot is pretty large.
 
Re: 3/29 Dosing advice Mr GreyAMPS 75+4 76 +5 73 +12 79 +12.

If it's been a couple of hours since Mr. Grey has had his dinner and his numbers are rising before you go to bed, you don't need to feed him HC.
 
Re: 3/29 Dosing advice Mr GreyAMPS 75+4 76 +5 73 +12 79 +12.

Thanks Wendy. I was just concerned he might be surfing and didn't want Rick to stay up if he was.

If he's surfing would you recommend HC?
 
Re: 3/29 Dosing advice Mr GreyAMPS 75+4 76 +5 73 +12 79 +12.

I would do a snack of HC before bed if he is surfing. I do the same with Neko.
 
Re: 3/29 Dosing advice Mr GreyAMPS 75+4 76 +5 73 +12 79 +12.

Wow, what a day for you and Mr. Grey. You & Mr. Grey both went through a lot today and deserve a rest. I'm quite familiar with what you went thru today and it's nice to know you're not the only one who has tough days with their sugarcat. Wishing you a smooth tomorrow! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top