3/29 Dosing advice Mr GreyAMPS 75+4 76 +5 73 +12 79 +12.5 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick & Mr. Grey

Member Since 2012
Hello please check ss for data. I am not sure if I should lower dose, delay, or what ? He is looking great and it's been a blue and green spring time for Mr Grey !
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey AMPS 65 dose advise

Those blues and greens are lovely! :-D :-D Do you have plenty of strips, MC and HC food or karo, and going to be around to test? Can you stall? You would be able to adjust the shot time by 30 mins per day. dont feed if you stall. I don't know about the dose but hopefully someone who does will come along.
Liz
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey AMPS 65 dose advise

Rick --

I'm heading out the door for work and I can't hang around to follow. I would suggest you stall to see if numbers start to come up. Can you afford to be off schedule since your next shot will need to be 12 hours from whenever you shoot this morning? In addition, do you have HC food and strips in good supply?
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey AMPS 65 dose advise

I can afford to stall, and yes I have a fresh shipment of 200 test strips en route via UPS today. Should I feed now I have all supplies necessary.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey AMPS 65 dose advise

Rick

Don't feed. You want to test every 20-30 minutes without food to see if he comes up. As soon as he comes up, shoot your dose.

Sienne had to leave for work and asked me to walk you through it. :-D

Please post the next test number.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey AMPS 65; +1 69 dose advise

well I can stall till Monday I have off... So still no food or shot. Test when say +1.5 or +2 ? Mr Grey is not begging for food either. He's sitting in an open window staring at the spring birds outside. He wants out sooo bad !
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey AMPS 65; +1 69 dose advise

I'd like to grab another test in about 20 mins. We don't want him to rise suddenly and we miss it. By shooting as soon as he starts up, you take advantage of overlap.

Just as an aside, 60s are typically safe to shoot but you haven't shot this low before. By stalling, you've already given him what equates to a dose reduction although the effects will likely not be seen until the next cycle.

Since he's surfing, I do think if you test in 20 and he's still surfing, you could shoot his 9u dose and feed him.

Just to clarify...I saw you reduced last night but am not sure why. Was that his new dose or a BCS? When you do shoot, You want to shoot today whatever his current dose is. Don't reduce it.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey AMPS 65; +1 69 dose advise

bTW, you can take down the 911 :-D I won't leave you! I can still follow you all today after you shoot.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey AMPS 65; +1 69 dose advise

I reduced dose last night based on the dose being 11 cycles old, a missed shot 3/27 at PMPS; +4 111. I though he did good for a missed shot. and 3/28 AMPS was 160 then +3 73 and he surfed. I hope I did,'t make a mistake lowering to 9u.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey AMPS 65; +1 69 dose advise

He did do well for a skipped shot. Just leave the dose for now and let's see how he does. You can always go back up if you have to.

One important thing to remember is the depot. The depot from a higher dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles. That 9.25u gives a pretty large depot because of the cumulative nature of lantus. The skipped shot would have drained it a bit. With this high of a dose, it's hard to tell if these numbers are from the 9.25u....it's very likely.

A few cycles at 9u will tell whether he will need to go back up or not.

Also in the subject line besides removing the 911, when you get a chance, when you are stalling, you just keep counting the hours since the last shot. So his subject line would be +12 65 +13 69 and that way members know you are stalling :-D
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey +12 65 +13 69 +13.5 75

Shhhooooottttttt! Feed and please get a +1. I'll check back in.

Any questions?
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey +12 65 +13 69 +13.5 75

I guess his AMPS now will be 11:45am. THanks will post a +1. How will my subject line read from that point I'm not sure ? Do I make a new post or just change the subject of this condo ? How do I write in the ss also ?
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey +12 65 +13 69 +13.5 75

Great shootings,

Keep this post and change the subject line to AMPS 75 :-D

On his SS, stack the previous tests in the +11 column: 65 @ 12; 69 @ 13. Then in the AMPS column on the SS, put "75 @ 13.5". That way we know you stalled and how long.

See you soon :-D
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey +12 65 +13 69 +13.5 75

The SS looks good. I'm not sure what you mean about revised notes....you mean in remarks? You do a great job of notes on the SS so just keep doing as you normally do.

If its something else you mean, please clarify. I've only had one ~O) this morning :-D :lol:
 
Re: 3/29 Mr Grey +12 65 +13 69 +13.5 75

Rick

You can't leave him today unless he is way, way up. I'd actually like you to feed him 2-3 tsp HC and test him at +2. I'll wait for your number then.

The subject line can be updated: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83

Thanks and see you in an hour.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61

I'd rather see this then him dropping. I'd continue with this until we see more of a rise. So a bit more gravy and retest in 30 if he's doing ok.

This is specific to Mr. Grey because of the potential that he might be acro. If his dose was not so high or if there was no possible acro issue, we'd be handling these numbers with LC.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61

Rick & Mr. Grey said:
He went down after HC, why ?

A cat with a functional pancreas do not respond to carbs the way that diabetic cats do.
The test quite often for the pancreas is to test, then feed, then test later to see if the numbers have dropped. That's what you are seeing.

If an acro does what's expected with food, you will see lower numbers from a few tsp of HC.
Next time you are trying to bring up his numbers, give him more of the HC.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61

Not only that, but a cat that is first onsetting might not rise from HC. My cat often did not when she was on lantus and I shot a lower or dropping number. The overlap kept her coming down at onset even with HC.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61

Woohoo, Mr. Grey!!! :mrgreen: Great job, Rick! One small housekeeping item: could you update the subject line in the very first post (your original one) so it will show up in the forum for everyone to quickly see what's happening?
Liz
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61

Great! Would he be interested in a little LC? I'd like to see if that will get him to surf and help the numbers as the gravy wears off. Or you could also do LC food...a tsp or two with a bit of gravy. If he's ok with one more test at +4, that would be great. Then perhaps we can space out the testing if he's surfing or up.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61

Looking at the ss, his shot this am was at +13.5, and surfing. Waiting and feeding should have brought his numbers higher, but did not. Not even with the HC. It may be a good idea to keep watching his numbers closely today.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76

Great. We need to stay on top of his numbers but I think he needs a break on the testing,

Because he's surfing and could come back down, if he is ok on the same regimen....tsp LC, little gravy...I'd do that and test in an hour. Does that sound ok to you Rick? You've handled mid cycle numbers before like this.
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76

Yes Marje will do, it's getting a little confusing now that he's on the 1/2 hour. Side note, if I informed my vet all this without summarizing he'd roll his eyes and would have made me lower his dose drastically by 1 or more units. I frequently run into him at the local produce market and I give him the good news about his lower BGL. He's is not an advocate of home testing and thinks it's unproven and not a fact that a cat can be insulin resistant. He actually takes credit for MR Grey's good progress funny all he did was DX him and prescribe a protocol that is nothing like I've been doing since I started working under the guidance of this forum and the vast amounts of information it gives. ;-)
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76

Hi Rick, beautiful cycle for Mr. Grey today! You're doing such a wonderful job with him :mrgreen:

I haven't been on much this week, so I'm a little behind. Did you ever confirm the acro dx?
 
Re: 3/29 Mr. Grey AMPS 75 +1 83 +2 61+3 66 +3.5 75 +4 76

Funny you should ask about acro test.. Yesterday I ran into my vet and mentioned that we ( myself and the forum) believe Mr Grey is an Acro cat and I said I have the form and info for him to draw a blood sample and mail off, then he interrupted me and stated he would need an ultrasound test, I continued to tell him it's a blood test that he would have to collect blood and send to the university. It went in one ear and out the other with him. So no I did not get him tested yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top