3/29 Daniel AMBG 79 PMPS 339 Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kurai & Daniel

Member Since 2011
I feel like Danny boy is trying to fake me out. Being so low this morning I opted to not give him a shot. I was dead tired and didn't trust myself to check his BG's regularly, not even if I had just given a smidgen of insulin. Then he jumped up high like he did yesterday. I truly have no idea where to go with this. I feel like I'm doing him quite a disservice to not keep him on a 12-12 schedule, especially if he keeps bouncing at night. I don't know if any other Lantus Landers have ever encountered this situation, but does anyone have any advice for this?
 
hi there,

unfortunately, I'm going to say patience and consistency with a 12/12 schedule.
give each dose a chance to work in. but sometimes life gets in the way, happens to all of us.
SS shows something nice potential with those lower numbers thou!

have you read/printed the stickies like this one?
Dealing With Low Preshots
takes a little getting used to the low numbers at preshot time, but with patience and consistency, you'll be able to handle them.

This might help too, Insulin Depot: AKA Storage Shed is one of LL's regular stickies up top.

See what others can add, but good luck with the dose.
 
Kurai & Daniel said:
Being so low this morning I opted to not give him a shot. I was dead tired and didn't trust myself to check his BG's regularly, not even if I had just given a smidgen of insulin. Then he jumped up high like he did yesterday. I truly have no idea where to go with this. I feel like I'm doing him quite a disservice to not keep him on a 12-12 schedule, especially if he keeps bouncing at night. I don't know if any other Lantus Landers have ever encountered this situation, but does anyone have any advice for this?
Hi, Kurai & Daniel.. in your own way.. you have identified the issue, you are not shooting on a 12/12 schedule, from time to time we have all had to miss shots because life happens, or it is a lower # & we are not there to monitor, but doing it on a consistent basis (as I see you have lately) is really not fair to you or Daniel. The goal is to get him regulated & when you skip shots, etc you are making it more difficult than it already is. I was going to add the sticky information, but Ronnie has.. it is excellent information. Certainly if you cannot test & monitor shooting low #s, we all agree to not shoot because safety is first.. but learning to shoot low #s, gather your data & handle low #s is necessary if your goal is remission one day. You can do this.. Daniel is looking great considering ;-)
 
Alright, yes, I have that printed.

If he's low again I'll opt out of sleeping tomorrow. It's not like I ever really get sleep anyways.

Thanks for your attempts at encoragement. I appreciate your comments guys.
 
His numbers do look good all things considered. Other more knowledgeable folks will chime in, but maybe you should back down to .5u so you can be more comfortable staying on a 12/12 schedule. With consistency, that may be all he needs. You may feel better working your way up instead of always being low.
 
That might be an idea. I'd at least like to be consistant with it, but I wasn't very comfortable shooting in the greens, especally with his food not really giving him a good spike. Not sure why he's not really going up that much when he gets food, but he's been dropping rather drastically right after mealtimes. He's probably waiting til I'm not there to go up more XD

Perhaps if he is indeed low again first thing in the morning, I'll go with .5 and see where he's at in the afternoon. I can check on him through the morning tomorrow. I'll be tired, but not like I was yesterday. Long shifts have been kicking my butt, and I'm just not sleeping right. That tends to happen to me when I'm on a night shift. I can't wait til we can shift change again.
 
I wasn't comfortable shooting low numbers until I had enough data to show how Gracie reacted under most circumstances. It's scary shooting low numbers, and unless you're comfortable with it based on your experience with Daniel, you may still want to skip the shot if he's in the greens.

The link earlier in the thread about low preshots was very helpful to me. Although we all want to get our kitties regulated and healthy as soon as possible, we should all err on the side of caution just to be safe.

Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top