3/29 Charlie AMPS 397, +2 350, +4 289, +6 299, +8.5 306, PMPS 312

Charlie'sMom22

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

I hope you're all having a lovely Caturday :)

We increased to 5u this morning. It hasn't made a huge dent in his numbers today, but that's to be expected with him—I've noticed he tends to barely budge on dose increase days. Is this because the depot size is adjusting and he needs a cycle or two to fill it up?

I've also noticed he pretty consistently runs higher/flatter at night. I've read that cats can be lower at night, but haven't read anything about them being higher. Any theories?
 
Good luck on the new dose :bighug:
Yes, I think the depot is building up.

Not sure why Charlie is flatter at night. Alto I see you are not testing +4 and beyond very often (middle of the night, I get it). Perhaps he is dipping lower then?
 
I've noticed he tends to barely budge on dose increase days. Is this because the depot size is adjusting and he needs a cycle or two to fill it up?
Some cats react to an increase in the very first cycle while others take a few cycles to tell you what they will do on a dose.


I've also noticed he pretty consistently runs higher/flatter at night. I've read that cats can be lower at night, but haven't read anything about them being higher. Any theories?
He could be bouncing from the "lower" numbers he is seeing in the day. Some cats go lower at night and bounce in the day and others do the reverse. Of course, they also mix things up to keep it exciting for their slaves! :rolleyes:
 
Good luck on the new dose :bighug:
Yes, I think the depot is building up.

Not sure why Charlie is flatter at night. Alto I see you are not testing +4 and beyond very often (middle of the night, I get it). Perhaps he is dipping lower then?

Yeah, I usually go to bed right after getting a +2. He wasn't seeing much movement after +2/+3 before. Now that he's been starting to drop for longer, though, I may start waking myself up a couple times a week to get a +4/+5.
 
Some cats react to an increase in the very first cycle while others take a few cycles to tell you what they will do on a dose.



He could be bouncing from the "lower" numbers he is seeing in the day. Some cats go lower at night and bounce in the day and others do the reverse. Of course, they also mix things up to keep it exciting for their slaves! :rolleyes:


Ah, that makes sense. Charlie takes a long time to do anything. Probably because he's a giant, and a stubborn one at that :joyful::cat:

Thanks for that explanation! I was wondering if it was something like that. Maybe it will end up working out in our favor when his numbers start to get lower overall. Of course, he may switch it up just to keep me on my toes, like you said haha
 
Good luck with the increase Jess! I noticed that too about generally running higher at night. Just seems like something to be aware of with the individual cat, and thankfully it’s better that way for your sleep :bighug:
 
Yeah, I usually go to bed right after getting a +2. He wasn't seeing much movement after +2/+3 before. Now that he's been starting to drop for longer, though, I may start waking myself up a couple times a week to get a +4/+5.
Might need to once or twice if (no, when!) he gets to low numbers but for now enjoy your sleep :D
 
Leroy runs higher at night but only because he gets budesonide (a steroid) at PMPS.

Cats respond to insulin differently so you just have to know your cat and deal with the quirks :)
 
Back
Top