mialia
Member Since 2018
Last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-19-carbon-amps-302-8-34-advice.212133/#post-2351179
So it's been a wild week. I left for work for what was supposed to be a four day. He hypo'd the morning of my flight. I'm in training and was out sick for about 10 days with the death plague so I couldn't miss more. My roommate makes minimum wage at a coffee shop - not the kind of job you can miss without easily getting replaced. So we had to do our best. Fed him gravy and no shot and went on our way. I watched him on my camera all day and he was doing fine.
We kept reducing doses through the week as he hypo'd again and again. I believe the thyroid treatment is really kicking in. So I thought wow! We might hit remission. But at .25 he started and stayed high. I know you want to do it for a few more days but I'm home for three so I wanted to get him back up and watch him. I can measure him right now and get a better idea. Then I'm gone for another five.
I'm also elbow deep in researching hyperthyroid in cats. I believe his treatment isn't quite right. Much like diabetes, there are forums with knowledge far beyond a vets on HT. But given his response after treatment started, I think it's a safe bet that his thyroid was causing or worsening his diabetes. I wouldn't be surprised at all if my first idiot vet missed the thyroid AND the diabetes... Hate the guy and sadly he's my neighbor so I see him.
Anyway. Here I am. Still figuring it out.
So it's been a wild week. I left for work for what was supposed to be a four day. He hypo'd the morning of my flight. I'm in training and was out sick for about 10 days with the death plague so I couldn't miss more. My roommate makes minimum wage at a coffee shop - not the kind of job you can miss without easily getting replaced. So we had to do our best. Fed him gravy and no shot and went on our way. I watched him on my camera all day and he was doing fine.
We kept reducing doses through the week as he hypo'd again and again. I believe the thyroid treatment is really kicking in. So I thought wow! We might hit remission. But at .25 he started and stayed high. I know you want to do it for a few more days but I'm home for three so I wanted to get him back up and watch him. I can measure him right now and get a better idea. Then I'm gone for another five.
I'm also elbow deep in researching hyperthyroid in cats. I believe his treatment isn't quite right. Much like diabetes, there are forums with knowledge far beyond a vets on HT. But given his response after treatment started, I think it's a safe bet that his thyroid was causing or worsening his diabetes. I wouldn't be surprised at all if my first idiot vet missed the thyroid AND the diabetes... Hate the guy and sadly he's my neighbor so I see him.
Anyway. Here I am. Still figuring it out.