3/29 Carbon AMPS 391 - thought we had remission but no

mialia

Member Since 2018
Last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-19-carbon-amps-302-8-34-advice.212133/#post-2351179

So it's been a wild week. I left for work for what was supposed to be a four day. He hypo'd the morning of my flight. I'm in training and was out sick for about 10 days with the death plague so I couldn't miss more. My roommate makes minimum wage at a coffee shop - not the kind of job you can miss without easily getting replaced. So we had to do our best. Fed him gravy and no shot and went on our way. I watched him on my camera all day and he was doing fine.

We kept reducing doses through the week as he hypo'd again and again. I believe the thyroid treatment is really kicking in. So I thought wow! We might hit remission. But at .25 he started and stayed high. I know you want to do it for a few more days but I'm home for three so I wanted to get him back up and watch him. I can measure him right now and get a better idea. Then I'm gone for another five.

I'm also elbow deep in researching hyperthyroid in cats. I believe his treatment isn't quite right. Much like diabetes, there are forums with knowledge far beyond a vets on HT. But given his response after treatment started, I think it's a safe bet that his thyroid was causing or worsening his diabetes. I wouldn't be surprised at all if my first idiot vet missed the thyroid AND the diabetes... Hate the guy and sadly he's my neighbor so I see him.

Anyway. Here I am. Still figuring it out.
 
Yikes in that 28 the other day. :eek: Yes, hyperT can make it harder to regulate a cat. Getting the thyroid under control seems to lead to dose reductions, from what I have seen. Glad you are home for a bit to try and find a new and better dose as the depot fills. Don’t forget a second test during the night cycle. He could be going lower then bouncing high.
 
So the expert in HyperT said his numbers don't show HyperT and the drug he's on may have caused kidney damage. I'm so F*ING SICK of the useless vets in my area. I know I live in the sticks, and the people that are good move to big cities, but good god. STOP KILLING MY CATS.

So he's off the hypert meds. On a bright note, the way they dosed him greatly reduce the efficacy so may have reduced damage. It's only been a week or so. But obviously, now I get to play the insulin game again. This is such a nightmare made more so because every vet I've had is an idiot. The first one that looked at his quaking legs and tiny thin body and bony spine and said, "meh nothings wrong" when he was diabetic to this one that took a T4 of 1 and gave him meds that could have killed him.

I'm tempted to move just to find actually talented vets that give a flying crap about their patients.
 
Back
Top