3/29/13 Rags T.I.D.

Status
Not open for further replies.

yo hon

Member Since 2013
Goodmorning,

7:00 AMPS BG HI

You want me to give his shot 30 min. after he eats at 7:30. The problem I have is he is still eating at 7:30, he is a slow eater.

Please Advise, do I still shot him at 7:30 or wait a half hour ?
 
Ok, I was waiting to see a new condo for Rags this morning.

Let us know when you have fed him.

I think we need to still stay with the same dose he has been getting, 1.5 u for this morning
 
You can hold for a few minutes after 7:30, say 10 minutes. If he is still eating at 7:40 but has at least 1/4 can FF on board, you can still shoot him then. He might even let you shoot him easier while he is eating.
 
He just finished eating about 1 can and 1/2. Do I wait a half an hour or give it to him now ? My sheet says to wait a half an hour, but the sched, Hope gave me said to test n& feed at 7:00 a.m. and shoot at 7:30. See why I get confused ? Actually, the last bowl I gave him he only drank the water, didn't eat the food.

Please Advise
 
that is plenty of food on board to be safe in shooting. Go ahead and shoot now

When do you need to leave today?

I've been trying to pm you but I'm having a problem with the messages not going thru.

We want to update your spreadsheet so it is easier to fill in with the t.i.d. dosing. I'll need your google account name and password but do NOT put it in a post. Please call me.
 
Becki, if you want, you can test earlier, like 6:45 to at least get a reading, then feed him. That will give 45 minutes in which he can eat before shooting at 7:30. As long as food has been eaten at least a 1/2 hr. before shooting, then you are fine. It could be 45 minutes after eating, food will be on board. We just don't want food given TOO LATE (like 10 or 15 minutes before shooting) because N hits fast and food needs to be in the belly.
 
1:09, just got home. See he got his shot this a.m. right after he ate, which really bothered me, cause I know you should wait 1/2 hr.

I'm going to test him at 1:30 and feed if that is ok. That will be six hours.

Please advise
 
I'm fixing your spreadsheet. Give me a few minutes. You probably can't get in your google account because I am in there.
 
1:30 +6 BG 268. you didn't give me time to take it, I'm slow. Had trouble getting blood.

I'm gonna let him eat now, ok?
 
No.....don't feed him now. Wait till 2:00 and see where he is, then feed him and shoot at 2:30. If you feed him now it will spike him up and I want to see how much lower he will go without food.

He may be on his way back up BUT feeding is not going to help us know that.
 
too late, I just got your post he is eating his second bowl. 1 can ff

When I asked you if I could test @ 1:30, you posted back test and feed. I thought you meant it was ok to test at 1:30, because that's what I asked you. Then I fed him so he would be done in time to shoot at 2:30.

Geting very confused, thought I was doing right !

If you do not want me to wait until the time I ask you about, please say "test now", so I'll know. See, I just don't understand the directions, that's why I keep asking.

OK now that I have totally screwed that up, what do I do now? Do I give him his 1.5 unit at 2:30 ?

Please Advise
 
Becki, Deb & Wink will be covering you for this midday cycle of TID dosing.

As Hope said:
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
At 2:30 test him and please post to us his number. Do not shoot.....give us a number first.

Test at 2:30
Post the number on today's condo
Wait until we tell you how much to shoot. (We are conferring behind the scenes)
We will Post the number of units we want you to give him
Do not shoot until we give you a number of units
 
1.5 units now (about 2:30)

feed more if he wants until 4:30 and then remove all food

test at midday +2 (4 pm)

When do you go to bed? Normally, not when us crazy people make you stay up and get more tests :mrgreen:
 
2:50 - 1.5 units given,\.

2:57 eating 1/2 can ff so far.

Doesn't matter tonight what time I go to bed. When i work I like to be in bed at 10:00, but that seldom happens.
 
if i have test at 4:00, he can still eat until 4:30 ? it will only be an hour from his shot that i test him again, correct?
 
You can keep feeding him until the test at 4 pm today.
Post the number here.
We'll let you know about the food/no food after 4 PM.

We are trying to put together a plan for feed/do not feed times. Bear with us please.

Please, call me back. You have a message on both your home and cell phone from me this morning. My PM's to you are not going through so you need to call.

Make that call as soon as you can please. Realize you have a ton of other stuff but we need to find out some information from you.
 
Of course. Any time you think something is off, testing the BG's can not hurt.

Smell his breath too for ketones. Like acetone./nail polish remover/sickly sweet fruity smell

Try for a ketone test strip test if you can. :lol:
 
His breathe is fine, and he will not even let me in the room when he goes to the bathroom. if i try he runs.
 
Would you add a whole cat report (WCR) to your condo from now on.

The 5 Ps, or Whole Cat Report, focus on the normal behaviors you'd expect to see in a healthy cat - peeing, pooping, preening/grooming, playing, and purring. When all 5 of those are normal, the cat is usually doing fairly well. Also let us know how his appetite is.

All these factors along with the BG numbers help us to see how he is doing on his insulin dosage.
 
Bow Huntress, thank you, I really do appreciate that.

I have a question, He got his insulin at 9:30, if he ate something, wouldn't it help him not to be high in the a.m. Or ate something after his +6 ? I don't like him being HI in the a.m. and am trying to figure out why he is. He doesn't eat all night.

Please Advise
 
yo hon said:
...I have a question, He got his insulin at 9:30, if he ate something, wouldn't it help him not to be high in the a.m. Or ate something after his +6 ? I don't like him being HI in the a.m. and am trying to figure out why he is. He doesn't eat all night.

He is high in the morning for these reasons
1) the insulin you are using wears off within 6-8 hours; you're going longer than that overnight
2) the dose is not optimal yet; we're trying to find a safe amount to give each shot
3) he isn't making insulin to handle all the remaining glucose

Food is digested and cats can make carbohydrates from both protein and fat. Thus, food makes glucose go up.
For each shot cycle (the period from shot to shot), you may feed during the first 5 hours of the 7 to 8 hours between shots. The last 2 hours before the next test and shot, no food.
 
Becki

It will be helpful to you and to us if you will write out what you understand to be your schedule for treating Rags and why you are doing the things on that schedule.
That will let us see if you understand what is going on. And maybe it will help you organize and focus all the information in your brain.

We also want to remind you that everyone on this board is a volunteer. There will be times that no one is available to answer your question. This means you need to study as much as you can, so you can learn what to do and make decisions based on what you have learned. Each of us had to study feline diabetes to help our own cats.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top