I'm thinking it's the really good CBD oil he gets. I was only giving it to him 3 or 4 times a week. I decided to give it every day & that's when I started to see improvement in his BGfinally turn the corner?

You may be on to something! I was thinking of getting some for Leo hoping he might get the munchies for something other than fish. What kind to you get?I'm thinking it's the really good CBD oil he gets. I was only giving it to him 3 or 4 times a week. I decided to give it every day & that's when I started to see improvement in his BG![]()
The only one I've been using for over 4 years is "Charlotte's Web" Here's the story of how this CBD Oil was developed https://healthyhempoil.com/charlottes-web/What kind to you get?

I saw him in concert
OOOO that brought tears to my eyes!! I'm afraid to reduce!I don't want to see his BG go back up!!Do I see a trial on the horizon????
Gotta give him a chance!OOOO that brought tears to my eyes!! I'm afraid to reduce!I don't want to see his BG go back up!!![]()

It's only 3 days he's been under a 100. And he had some 90's. So how does this work. Even though he gets 90's if he stays under a 100 I reduce by .25?Gotta give him a chance
I am going to tag @Bobbie And Bubba - she has more experience with reducing due to all green numbers.. She will chime in with good adviseWhat if I reduce & he goes up over 100? Do I ,next shot, go back to the previous dose?
During the night when he goes into 50's I've been giving him Med carbs. That 38 last week at shot time was a surprise! If I reduce do i stop giving med carbs to see what he'll do?
Phase 4: Reducing the dose
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.
If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.
I was thinking the same thingBeautiful sea of green !!!!!!! Do I see a trial on the horizon????
If it were me, I wouldn't take him back up to the previous dose unless the number was over 120. Under that is still a normal number. Since the meter variance can be + or - 20% we use the guide line for 100 and under to allow for that. In a few cycles if he continues up over and you see the nadirs starting to climb, then I would take him back to the previous dose. You will know if it is becoming a trend and just not a off cycle.What if I reduce & he goes up over 100? Do I ,next shot, go back to the previous dose?
What do you mean by mostly green #"s ? Below 120 ? He had 156 five days ago. So today will only be the 4th day IF he stays below 120.mostly green numbers for one week
today.


Tanya’s states to start binder at 6 unless the number was higher and has come back down.@Marje and Gracie
@Wendy&Neko
I was reading over your comments about Kidney Disease on Bellas Post. I didn't see any mention of giving Calcitriol or Renadyl. Both are supposed to slow the progression of the disease.
I also read on Tanya's site that the goal for Phosphorus Levels in CKD cats is less than 4.6 mg
Ravan's is 5.7 so I've been adding Binder when I use FF to bring up his bg. FF has High phos.
Other wise he's eating mostly his raw diet.
Where are you? I looked for your condo & couldn't find any recent posting? SS is not up to date either?Hope he earns the reducie!
I have a simpler solution, why don't you just feed a higher carb food that is low phosphorus? Plenty of options in the Weruva line. Or just add honey/karo to his raw, or some have even experimented with making a gravy from rice or potato flour.I also read on Tanya's site that the goal for Phosphorus Levels in CKD cats is less than 4.6 mg
Ravan's is 5.7 so I've been adding Binder when I use FF to bring up his bg. FF has High phos.
If you look at Tanya’s under “Phosphorus Control” it states:@Marje and Gracie
Maybe some of this information is new ?
This is referred to from Tanyas' website
If plasma phosphate concentration remains above 1.5 mmol/l (4.6 mg/dl) after dietary restriction, give enteric phosphate binders (such as aluminium hydroxide)
http://www.iris-kidney.com/pdf/002-...ent-recommendation-pdfs-cats_070116-final.pdf
"it is desirable to administer calcitriol at low doses as early as possible in kidney failure to avoid PTH excess from occurring in the first place."
Taken from this web site http://www.zzcat.com/CRF/calcitriol/calcitriol2.htm
This probiotic supplement is known for its ability to target and help reduce the buildup of uremic toxins in the body, thus helping to maintain healthy kidney function, by means of Kibow’s Uremic Toxin Reduction Technology.
https://kibowbiotech.com/kibow-biot...rds-failing-kidney-function-original-concept/
If your cat will not eat a therapeutic kidney diet, or if his/her phosphorus levels are still too high (over6 mg/dl(US) or 1.9 mmol/L (international)), despite feeding such a diet for a month, products called phosphorus binders are used. These are simply added to the cat's food: they bind with some of the phosphorus in the food in the intestine, thus preventing it from being absorbed and thereby reducing levels of phosphorus in the cat's body.
Wendy makes an excellent point. I’ve seen some people say they’ll just let their cat eat whatever food it wants regardless of high how the P level is and then they’ll add binder (I’m not including you in “some people”). That’s not the way to approach CKD. As I said before, there’s only so much binder you can give so it’s best to approach it from a low P diet and then add binder when the diet is no longer effective at keeping the P down as the CKD progresses.Like Marje, I tried Azodyl. It didn't do anything special to either Neko's blood work or how she felt. My vet recommended a general purpose probiotic with more different strains of probiotics.
I have a simpler solution, why don't you just feed a higher carb food that is low phosphorus? Plenty of options in the Weruva line. Or just add honey/karo to his raw, or some have even experimented with making a gravy from rice or potato flour.
Thank you!Tanya’s states to start binder at 6 unless the number was higher and has come back down.
I’m copying @Bellasmom so she can see your comments and my responses.
Renadyl is like Azodyl; it’s just a probiotic. For some cats, it makes them feel better but I never saw a change in my cat; Azodyl certainly wasn’t worth the expense. However, it doesn’t hurt to give them a probiotic (I give my healthy cats probiotics daily).
There is a lot of debate on the use of calcitriol if there is not evidence of secondary hyperparathyroidism. Some people indicate it seems to make the cat feel better but there are cautions that come with it. I have not used it with my CKD cats because, at the time, it just wasn’t used unless a cat had secondary hyperparathyroidism. It just needs to be used with caution and monitored as it can raise the calcium level so anyone whose cat had an elevated ionized calcium level would want to use extreme caution.
Plenty of options in the Weruva line.
Please reread what I wrote about Calcitriol.@Marje and Gracie
Dr. Larry Nagode, advises to start early with twice a week nano dose of Calcitriol ( DVM, PHD, is a Professor Emeritus of Veterinary Pathology in the Biosciences Department of The Ohio State University Veterinary College. ) and
Dr. Dennis Chew, DVM, DACVIM, is Professor of Urology, Nephrology and Internal Medicine in the Clinical Sciences Department of The Ohio State University Veterinary College and an active small animal clinician at the OSU veterinary teaching hospital.
Dr. Pierson & Dr. Karen Becker advise starting a nano dose of Calcitriol early.
I'm been giving it to Ravan based on their advice and you state to use it with caution. I certainly don't want to hurt Ravan. Aren't the Doctors I listed here reputable?
I researched this for hours & felt it was safe & an excellent idea based on what I read. That's why I gave the information to Bellas mom. I feel that "every time" I try to help someone and give advice I'm contradicted.
In the year Ravan has Diabetes I've spent hundreds of hours trying to educate myself about Diabetes & other health problems in cats.
Although Dr Pierson has info on dry cat food on this forum. I seldom hear anyone advise people not to feed dry food.
"Dr. Pierson’s practice is now limited to consulting with cat caregivers worldwide. The most common health issues she deals with are kidney disease, diabetes, urinary tract issues, inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), and obesity. All these feline health issues tie directly to biologically inappropriate diets.
Dr. Pierson is strongly opposed to feeding any dry food to cats."
A lot of what I read on the forums is confusing. I'm getting very discouraged.
Insofar as David Jacobsen’s website on calcitriol use, I’m not arguing the point. I stated there is controversy but some people think it makes their cat feel better. Each CG has to speak with their vet and determine if it’s right for their cat, if they can afford it, if they can monitor levels, etc. I’m all for anything that makes a CKD cat feel better or potentially prevent PTH.