3/28 Zoey PMPS 342, +2 324, +10 283

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily and Baby

Member Since 2013
Good morning and Happy Thursday everyone :)

Here's Yesterday's Condo Zoey's first day of insulin!

Well, Zoey is still falling this morning! From what I've read, he's ok because he's not in the 50s, but is it recommended that I give him his shot this morning when he's so new to insulin? He just ate 1/2 a can of FF, which is the most he's eaten in one sitting in a long time!
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112 & question please :)

Well, Zoey has responded very well to Lantus! Have you given the shot? If not, you probably should skip. I have to take care of Zener so I need to go right now.
Liz
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112 & question please :)

Thanks Liz :) I did skip as he was below 200 and I thought it safest to wait for a advise :)
Do I do some BG to see when he starts rising? I looked at stickies again but couldn't find ideal times? Sorry to ask so many questions...

Good luck with Zener!
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112 & question please :)

Good idea on skipping. You have to do what you are comfortable with. We wanted to stop by and say hello and welcome you. Hope you have a great day!!
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112 & question please :)

Yes, if you can get a +2 or +3 and a +5/6, that would be good data. For future reference, when you get a low preshot number, do not feed, unless he's below 50, and ask for advice.
Liz
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112 & question please :)

Thanks Liz and Melissa :)

I will test shortly and see where he's at :) Have a great morning!!
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112 & question please :)

Given how Zoey responded to day 1 of Lantus, you may want to lower the dose tonight. Be sure to get a dosing expert's input, someone like Sienne, Marje, or Libby. It's best to give 2 shots per day but you need to do that safely. Safety is the number one priority. We usually start with a preshot minimum of 180 and gradually reduce that as you get more data and get more comfortable with lower numbers. You are doing great with absorbing all of this information. Zoey has a great bean! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, skipped AM, +2 156, reduce dose?

Thanks Liz!! That makes me feel much better!!!

We just tested again and he's up a bit at 156. I will wait and see what others say about the dosing for tonight :) I'll check him again in an hour and see if he's still climbing :)

Thanks!
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112 & question please :)

I think you were right to skip. You don't yet have the data to shoot this low. On this Board, we use 150 as our "post and ask for help" number when you're still new to managing your cat's FD.

What were you feeding Zoey prior to the FD diagnosis? I'm wondering whether you switched to low carb food and, as a result, Zoey's numbers are dropping into a better range.

I know you mentioned feeding Blue Buffalo Freedom. It's not on Dr. Lisa's list. She noted that the company refused to provide the "as fed" values. She commented:
A customer service representative provided carbohydrate values over the phone. Note that, despite being “grain free”, all of the canned foods are high in carbohydrates, including the ‘Wilderness Wild Delights’. The only diets that appear to be low in carbohydrates are the ‘Wilderness’ pate varieties - Kitten, Chicken, Turkey, Salmon, and Duck. However, I will not use or recommend products from any company that refuses to provide ‘typical nutrient analysis’ data for their diets.
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, skipped AM shot, +2 156, reduce PM d

It's too early to make that decision. Let's see what Zoey's numbers look like closer to shot time. Can you get a few spot checks in today just to see where Zoey's numbers go? Maybe a +6 and a test later in the cycle -- a +10 or thereabout?
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, skipped AM shot, +2 156, +3 176

Hello again :) Liz had suggested a +3 so I did that before hoping back on the computer. Zoey is at 176 so he's currently on a slight rise. I will get another one at +6, he will thank me for the break from all the poking!

He was on Blue Buffalo Freedom dry prior to his diagnosis with a little bit of Lick Your Chops Salmon and Brown Rice as a topper. On Friday we got rid of the dry and started with just Lick Your Chops, then I was worried that it wasn't low carb as there is no data so yesterday we switched to FF pates. Maybe the wet he was having was high carb since switching to one we know is low has brought his numbers down.

We will wait and see what the day brings! :) Thanks!!
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, skipped AM shot, +2 156, +3 176

Good choice on skipping this morning. :-)
 
3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS, +2 156, +3 176, +6.5 247

Good afternoon everyone :)

Its a balmy 4C (40F) here in Ontario today! Overcast and chilly! Me and the kitties can't wait for spring so we can open up the windows and get some fresh air!

Zoey and I had a hard time getting a test just now, poor guys ears look all bruised :( I'm going to read over the testing tips again and watch a video, see if I'm doing something wrong. I even warm up his ear and everything! The blood seems to get lost in his fur on his ear and not bead up nicely anymore. I'm so lucky he's so chill! This was the first time he squirmed after the 5th poke :(

So he is going into the yellows! 247 at +6.5 (aimed for +6, but had a hard time). I will test again at +10 and see where he's at :)
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS, +2 156, +3 176, +6.5 247

Well, Zoey, you liked that juice. You'll get some more tonight. :-D This is why Sienne said to wait until tonight to make a decision on the dose. Let me clarify that I defer to Sienne in all things FD. She's the best. :-D

You can use Neosporin ointment with pain relief on his ears. I think it's Polysporin in Canada? That will numb them a bit and help with healing. You can also apply gentle pressure for 20 secs after the poke. That will help too.
Liz
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS, +2 156, +3 176, +6.5 247

He did enjoy the juice! I will wait for Sienne's advice later on, but I think you rock too Liz!!! :-D

Yup, us Canucks call it Polysporin, I just put some on for him, I hope that helps! I will make sure I do a full 20 seconds next time! Gotta keep those ears looking handsome and young (and testable)!

Trying catch up on a bit of sleep today, feeling like a zombie! I think I'll watch some Walking Dead lol. Windows are open even though its chilly! Zukey is loving it!
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS, +2 156, +3 176, +6.5 247

What a number to start your day! Good call on no shooting. Looks like Zoey is really liking the juice.

I use the Polysporin Complete with Pain Relief (black and yellow label) after testing. Before testing I put just the tiniest bit of vaseline on the fur to bead up the blood, otherwise it gets lost in the long black hair. :roll: Holding the site longer does make a difference.

Spring is almost there for you guys. We are at 14 degrees C and sunny so it won't be much longer for you.
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS, +2 156, +3 176, +6.5 247

Thanks Wendy! Good idea with the Vaseline!! I will try that! That will probably make a world of difference, I hate when it bleeds into the fur and I have to poke again :( Zoey thanks you!! I got the pain reliever one as suggested, I hope that it helps the poor guy! He's napping now, don't have to poke for another hour about... Gotta find the Vaseline first, I hope I have some! :)

The birds are chirping in the morning, so spring is on its way! Bring on the sunshine and flowers! :)
 
3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS,+2 156, +3 176,+6.5 247,+10.5 349

Well, looks like he's still climbing into the pinks now... 349... Should I reduce his dose a bit tonight or stay firm?

Thank you for all of your help and experience! I hope that I can start to see what his numbers are doing as I learn more and more about all this :) I 'm going to test, feed and shoot the recommended does around 7:00 p.m., if I can, so in an hour and 15 as I got a little off schedule. Is that ok since he didn't get a shot this morning?
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS,+2 156, +3 176,+6.5 247,+10.5

Gobbles & I just stopped in to say hello as we haven't been doing enough "visiting" -- lots going on here.... Hope your sugar-baby is doing well and we're sending OTJ vines to sugar cats everywhere!
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS,+2 156, +3 176,+6.5 247,+10.5

Bring on the sunshine and flowers! :)
8a46fc75-4683-4712-be8c-a2708b4c5ab9_zpsc2b00d98.jpg:original

:-D
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS,+2 156, +3 176,+6.5 247,+10.5

around 7:00 p.m., if I can, so in an hour and 15 as I got a little off schedule. Is that ok since he didn't get a shot this morning?

Yes, since he didn't get a shot this morning, this gives you a great opportunity to shoot whenever you want to tonight.
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS,+2 156, +3 176,+6.5 247,+10.5

Like Carl said, if you skip a shot, your next shot can be at any time you like.

If you want to reduce Zoey's dose, I'd do it now. Most people find it difficult to deal with good numbers at the beginning of this process. It tends to be less hard on the nerves to work the dose up than to be worried that the dose is too high. I do think you need to decide what you're comfortable with, though. I wouldn't shoot less than 1.0u. I think you could shoot either 1.0u or 1.25u.
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS,+2 156, +3 176,+6.5 247,+10.5

Emily

You can shoot an hour early and I would stick with the 1.5u for now. If you do shoot an hour early, you will need to shoot 12 hours from that time tomorrow morning. I'd still get a +2 test although it has probably depleted his depot a bit with the skipped shot.

It's also important that you monitor the next couple of cycles. You might not see a big difference in tonight's numbers from shooting early but you might see it tomorrow.

I have baby washcloths and when I test Gracie, I have a cold one ready to put and hold on the poke spot. She's never had bruises. She is a fellow Canuck.....born in Toronto :-D
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS,+2 156, +3 176,+6.5 247,+10.5

Decision time eh? I think I will do 1.0 unit, although I'm a little worried that the LC food is dropping his levels some too... Although they are going back up now... I will try the 1.0 and see where that gets him, I would rather have too little then too much for sure!!

Thanks for all the support and advice yet again! Here I go to test, feed and shoot! If the number is wonky I will post before I shoot :)

Thanks!!
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey AMPS 112, no AMS,+2 156, +3 176,+6.5 247,+10.5

Hi Emily

Sienne and I cross posted so we then discussed the dose and after that plus reading your post, I agree that if you are more comfortable dropping it to 1u and working up, it's a good plan.
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey PMPS 342

Ok perfect! I did 1.0 unit so I hope that's sufficient for him! One sticky recommends testing at +3, +6, +9, or more if required. Should I do more than that plus the +2? I don't have to work until Tuesday so a late night is no problem, if need be :) Zoey's looking at me trying to say he is perfectly fine and doesn't need a single ear prick :P I poke you out of love Zoe <3 Lol.

Thanks again and again!!!!!!!

Wonderful place of birth Gracie! We will try the cold washcloths, Zoey is a little vain and is getting a complex from the little bruises :P

Emily and Zoe Bear
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey PMPS 342, +2 324

We know you are tired and you don't have to do a +3, +6, +9 at night. Grab a +2 and post it and we can go from there, k?

You can do the other checks during the day :-D Keep in mind that those are suggested during the initial cycles of giving insulin. We may have you start doing just scattered spot checks since he seems to be settling into lantus just fine.
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey PMPS 342, +2 324

Thanks Marje! It will be good to get some sleep then! He's dropped ever so slightly tonight, down to 324. Might head to bed then! I could use the catch up time!!!!

Hope your having a great day!!
 
Re: 3/28 Zoey PMPS 342, +2 324

Thank you! Great job to all of you for all your help all over the forums! Hope you and your furry friends all have a good night!
 
Good morning :)

The civvies woke me up a bit early because they were starving to death (dramatic) so I did a +10 on Mr. Zoe Bear. He's at 283 this morning.

Its time for some coffee and face wash to wake me up for the day! Happy Friday!!
 
It's definitely a chilly Friday morning!

I'm rereading stickies again but I think I'm still confused or overwhelmed by all this info! I think I'm focusing too much on individual numbers and not on the cycle and getting myself completely frazzled when I do not need to be! I feel as though I'm being a bit of a spazz (saw that word on the board yesterday, good word lol) and I apologize. My anxiety has its own vicious cycle but I am coming down to my own blue zone this morning, maybe even into the green. Thanks to everyone here, Zoey has not been in crisis, and if he was, I know I have help, so I just need to breathe!

Zoey says "chill mom, I'm cool" as he lays sprawled out on the floor. So this bean is chilling :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top