A lot of people have used their vials for 5-6 months. Before I knew better and switched to cartridges, I used my one and only vial for a few months. Have you considered going to pens next? Less waste of insulin, and you can generally use it to the last drop.
I knew that they could last longer than the manufacturer says (which is why I've been using it this long), but I also knew that it wasn't necessarily a hard and fast rule that they'd
definitely last that whole time. It's not cloudy or anything, but I've also had trouble with some needles in the past and worried that maybe I could have contaminated it by accidentally sending a little bit of insulin back into the bottle, or having knocked it over on the counter once or twice.
TBH I hadn't considered going to pens because I'd have to get a whole new prescription which would be a big hassle with the current vet situation and I haven't spent any time looking into the cost difference. At $35 for the last vial I'm not super concerned about wasting the rest of this one if I had to because it's lasted almost the entire time since diagnosis so far. I feel like we've gotten at least the $35 out of it.
We suggest that people do not increase and switch to a new source of insulin (vial, pens, cartridge) on the same cycle, just in case. FWIW, I think it's the cat, not the vial. I know you aren't able to manually test Xander, but experience with other members has shown that the Libre shows a lower number than a BG meter when under 100. This means you may be reducing before you should be, and as a result, reductions aren't holding and he's showing some glucose toxicity or used to higher numbers. The cure is to keep increasing until you break through.
I definitely wouldn't increase and change vials at the same time. I just wanted to know if it would be dangerous to not give a reduced first dose of the new vial in this case because if the insulin
were the problem and not the dose, switching to a new vial would be an overload. (Trying to come up with another example: If you were struggling to open a door thinking it was stuck, but it was actually locked. If someone on the other side unlocked it at the same time as you tried to kick it down, you'd smash through the door because the amount of force you were using wasn't the problem. The lock was. You could have just opened the door and walked through once it was unlocked. Or... You know you need to floor it to get up to a certain speed in your current car but it might not be wise to floor it in a new vehicle that may accelerate more efficiently. Or something. lol I hope one of those made my point.)
I appreciate your thoughts as to what might be the problem! I obviously don't know, it just seemed to
very rapidly deteriorate but only now that he's on the highest dose I've ever given him. FWIW, I haven't reduced for almost a few weeks, since he was in in the 30s or lower on the Libre. I definitely know that the Libre runs low at the low end and based on my comparison he was likely about 10 points higher, but even if I give more of a buffer than that it would still have been a decrease. I did purposely switch to TR so I could stop having to decrease under 90 though, that was getting very old. Since I can't manually test I've been following Elise's advice which was basically that I just need to take the decrease if he goes under 50 on the Libre because that's the number I have to work with. At least then he'd be safe but not stuck in SLGS. Trust me, if I could just manually this would be so much easier (and cheaper). I wish it were just a matter of not wanting to, but with Xander specifically it's not.
You only barely saw blues, today is cycle 6, you can increase the dose any time now.
My third question was basically whether I should try increasing one more time and then if that doesn't work then switch to the new vial, or to just switch to the new vial right away (without increasing), so it sounds like your opinion is the former. Thank you! I just wanted a few opinions about that.
ETA: I hope no one here ever thinks I'm being difficult or argumentative! I often need clarification and also just tend to over-explain things to avoid being misunderstood. I am endlessly thankful for everyone here's help and if I ever seem argumentative please know that I'm just explaining my thought process/trying to add more context or trying to understand better.