3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101 +7 178 PMPS 283 +1.5 310 +7 123

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian & Tyler

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo

Good morning all you wonderful people!

This morning, Tyler's AMPS was higher than it has been since I found this site. Also, he didn't eat but about half of his breakfast by the time I got his +3. After his +3, he started eating more. **I will note that when I got home from my second job last night, I tested him and then fed a 1/8th of a can of friskies mariner's catch. Then tested him before bed.

Any reason not to think everything is ok?
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101

This is the first time I've visited you guys...welcome to LantusLand!

I would guess the Tyler bounced off last night's 83 and that is why you're seeing a slightly higher than normal AMPS. At the same time, he's clearing that bounce pretty quickly - that's a decent drop by +3. Are you able to grab another test to see where he's headed?

With regards to him not eating is full breakfast...did he seem like he didn't feel well, or just that he wasn't hungry? Maybe his belly was still a bit full from his late night snack.

I hope you guys are having a great day!
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101

Hi Miss Amy,

My schedule is in my signature, I can't go home until lunch time which is only 2 hours away. He seemed fine and hungry too, but they are used to SKF (soft kitty food) at 4:30am, then kibble when I actually wake from the dead at 7:30am. Both wet & dry were that Hill's garbage that no one has raved about, ever. They made the switch to all SKF this last Sunday. They are still trying to work me for that kibble because they know it's still in the house, but I don't fall that trick! Also, I'm still experimenting on which of the Fancy Feast & Friskies they like... if that says anything. Yesterday they liked the Classic Turkey & Giblets, this morning, not so much!
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101

Hi Brian:

My recommendation on finding the right food is don't get excited when they seem to like a flavor until they've had it successfully several times, or you'll end up with a bunch of cans they won't eat! I do speak from experience. Also, if they like something once, but not so much the next time and I still have a few cans, I set them aside and try them again a week or so later. They often like it again! Silly, finicky, critters! :-D

Bonk is doing so well. I'm glad you and he came to LL. I think your little buddy is going to benefit hugely from this. Have a great day.
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101

the blue numbers are nothing to worry about - just keep on with the same dose for now.

we may have reduced him too far when we went to 1u, but let's give it another couple of cycles to be able to tell. he did get into green numbers last night and that is the goal.
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101 +7 178

I missed your schedule there...holy moly I'm exhausted just reading it. Tyler is looking pretty awesome today!! Finding fuds does seem to be a never-ending game...good luck with it!
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101 +7 178

Ok, his +7 is in

+7 178

I came home for lunch and he still had only eat about 1/2 of his breakfast (FF Classic Turkey & Giblets). I dumped it due to how long it had been out and gave him a 1/2 can of FF Classic Chicken Feast. He went to work on it right away.

As far as doing a testing for a curve, I don't know that I can miss a whole day to test every two hours, Saturday really is my only day to be home that much, and I certainly will not be able to on Monday, because that is my busiest day of the week.
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101 +7 178 PMPS 283

Mr. Tyler decides today that he's gonna be a super picky eater! What a punk!

On top of not eating much, his PMPS was 283! There was a still food in the bowl when I got home, so there is no telling how long it has been since his last "snack" since he is a former dry food grazer. So I don't know if that is a factor. He is being pretty playful with Marla as they are playing grab-a** right now.

Still holding at the 1.0 unit for now and according to recommendation, but I don't know how I am going to be able to go for a curve day where I am to test every two hours, unless it is Saturday! That's my only day to my self, and is subject to change with my 2nd job. Any advice from you wonderful people would be humbly appreciated!

**Edit: he is eating a little more now. I will test him in an hour to see where he's headed.
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101 +7 178 PMPS 283

You can do a curve any time..even on Saturday!! It doesn't even really need to be every 2 hours, although once in awhile it's good to get one. Mini-curves are every 3 hours.

As for the food, it's also possible he's not as hungry as he has been because he's on insulin. When our cats aren't diagnosed and aren't being treated, they eat huge amounts because their body can't convert the food into simple sugars that the cells can use without insulin. By adding insulin, they can once again utilize the food they're eating so don't need as much. Diabetic kitties are actually starving to death despite eating huge amounts of food......He could also just be being finicky...he's a cat and that's in the rule book...lol

The fact that he made it down to 83 last night means he's probably just bouncing. His body isn't used to those normal numbers anymore. It can take up to 72 hours to clear, although he looks like he's doing well so far.

The blues are really good numbers considering how much you dropped the dose back! I'd continue the 1 unit awhile longer and see if once he breaks the bounce, he can get more of those pretty blue and greens!

You're really getting enough tests in now, especially considering your schedule!! If you want to do a curve on Saturday, it's fine, or you could just get some tests in at some different points in the cycle than you're able to during the week.

You're doing great Brian!!
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101 +7 178 PMPS 283 +1.5 310

Thanks, Chris!

+1.5 was 310

He did eat some more; he's just being a kitty! I will hold on the 1 unit for a couple more days, unless someone here suggests otherwise. Thank you all for the support!
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101 +7 178 PMPS 283 +1.5 310

Actually, we don't even do or recommend curves here. What we recommend are spot checks. Different tests over the cycles that you are home. That's more effective than doing a curve or a mini-curve. If he's bouncing, it's really not worthwhile to do any type of a curve.

So, if you are around this weekend, grab a few more spot checks here and there. That should be more than adequate.
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101 +7 178 PMPS 283 +1.5 310

i agree - we can "read" his ss and don't need a curve to see what's going on. i wouldn't even worry about it. what you're doing with getting spotchecks is fine. enjoy your day off tomorrow!
 
Re: 3/28 Tyler AMPS 252 +3 101 +7 178 PMPS 283 +1.5 310 +7 1

Thanks, Chris, Marje, & Julie!!1

His PM +7 was 123, not too shabby!

Ok, so I'm going to crash now and wake myself up at 4:30 as per protocol and do the necessary deedses.

His 5 p's seem to be normal and it makes me happy! Thank you all for your support! I really feel great not to be in the dark anymore! The capt. appreciates it as well, he doesn't really know it, but he does!

**Bonus: Earlier today, I updated the photo album in my signature with some good shots of my buddy, a really funny meme, known as "business cat," and a shot of my outdoor stray tomcat, Robert the Bobtail with his big ol' biscuit head. It took weeks to earn his trust, and when I pet him, his nub gets all wiggly... but don't fall for the offer to rub his belly, because, it's a trap!!! He'll get all bitey and will mess you up!

What ever time zone you are in, sleep well and thanks again. It's been a wild ride, and so far the last week has been a huge step in the right direction; the FDMB direction, you all know what I am talking about!!!

B
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top