3/28 Tommy +6 381, +7 405 , +11 454 Dosing advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Evening everyone, not a good day so far. I thought i would wait until i had more data to give. Tommy has me scratching my head BIG time. I don't understand the initial day of the new dose amt. and we generally get better numbers. Then it's right back up to higher numbers again.
Today he has been very hungry. Very obvious difference from yesterday when he was just happy. I can really tell.
I guess what i'm wondering is should i go up to 7u tonight or wait another day since he was in yellow yesterday?
It has been 4cycles on the 6.5.
I hope all of you are having good evenings with your kids.
 
Re: 3/28 Tommy amps 451, +4 321, +6 381, +7 405 Dosing advic

I would go ahead and increase again. The yellow was nice, but now we need to help him get back there again (and even a little lower). You still have plenty of room for an increase. Nice cycle today, though, let's just shift it down some more.
 
Re: 3/28 Tommy amps 451, +4 321, +6 381, +7 405 Dosing advic

Yeah, i'm sorry i forgot to link yesterdays condo. I'll be able to get the +11 before his pmps.
I'll go ahead and increase to 7u tonight.
Thank you all so much... ;-)
 
Re: 3/28 Tommy amps 451, +4 321, +6 381, +7 405 Dosing advic

Squirrel,
Good luck with the dose increase..... I hope you get some better numbers with the 7u, but don't forget about NDW - new dose wonkiness - the first few cycles at the new dose will be for topping up the shed.
 
Re: 3/28 Tommy amps 451, +4 321, +6 381, +7 405 Dosing advic

Hi, Squirrel & Tommy.. good luck with your doseINcrease ;-)
I hope you both are having an enjoyable evening!
 
Re: 3/28 Tommy amps 451, +4 321, +6 381, +7 405 Dosing advic

Thanks for the good thoughts you guys. I sure hope we find the number soon. At what point should i wait 6-7cycles instead of increasing after 4 cycles to give the insulin a chance to do it's thing?
 
Squirrel,
Until you are getting into close range of Tommy's good dose, this more aggressive method is preferred.
You will see an improvement in his numbers, a slow move to lower numbers with less of those 400s.

Tommy may not be a cat needing to wait 6-7 cycles. I have two quite different cats with Shadoe never needing 6 cycles, but Oliver often needing longer.
 
Gayle makes a very good point. Here's the info from the formal version of the dosing protocol we use here:
Tilly Protocol said:
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

Some cats need a day or so longer to respond to a dose. Others don't. As you get to know how Tommy responds to insulin, you'll be better able to gauge his response andknow what to expect. (Well, sort of know what to expect. Remember, we're dealing with cats and they seem to have a mind of their own.) The mantra here is 'every cat is different' (ECID).
 
I know what you mean, I've read that protocol many times. It's just frustrating to give a higher dose, see the yellow numbers for a while and then have him go back up to pink and red. Why doesn't he stay yellow, and if it's not enough insulin why does he even hit the yellows? These are probably all silly questions but ones that i think about. Does he become resistant to the new dose that quickly?
 
Part of the reason we suggested getting the IAA/acro tests done is to see if autoantibodies or growth hormone are contributing to what's going on. With insulin resistance, either if it's due to IAA or hormones or glucose-related reasons, BG levels may respond briefly and then jump back up. Initially, the insulin gets ahead of the resistance and then it catches up. Having the test data let's us know just how aggressive we can be in order to get ahead of the resistance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top