3/28 Star...PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51 +5=49 +5.5=44 +6=58

Status
Not open for further replies.

quilterkitty

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Another late night with Star. Since he was surfing, I ended up giving him a mixture of LC and HC food and turning in. He was back up to 105 this morning and chipper as usual. I went back to bed, intending to get up for a +2 but missed that. Looking at his SS, I see that he usually drops down at around +4, so I'll get that one. Pretty sure I already know what kind of day we're going to have. It's deja vu all over again . . . :cool:
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80

Star's +4 is much better than it has been the past couple of days. Maybe he'll stay in the upper range of green today! :mrgreen:

Last week I ordered two more boxes of 100/ea test strips from Wal-Mart.com (and I remembered to go through the FDMB portal this time!). Was expecting them to be delivered on April 1, but they came by FedEx two days ago. As I was tapping the last strip out of the old container last night, I was so grateful for that fast delivery! We have gone through a lot of test strips in three weeks.
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80

I see that Star gave you a beautiful number to start off your day! Nice +4 as well:-)
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94

Gobbles & I just stopped in to say hello as we haven't been doing enough "visiting" -- lots going on here....we're sending OTJ vines to sugar cats everywhere!
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106

Thanks, Kat! You are such a sweetie yourself! I have a good feeling for all of us. :RAHCAT
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53

Star was having such a wonderful day that I gave his poor ears a break from the frequent testing we've done for the last two days. Darn it, wouldn't you know his bedtime number would be back in the 50's. Very curious.
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53

I'm still new too, but I understand that lots of cats are lower in the evening cycle than in the morning. Sweetie certainly does it that way! It is good for me though since I'm usually gone M-F during the day.

Star surfed so nicely today - perhaps he'll stay on the board tonight too even though he likes the lower numbers. So good for Mr P!
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53

Did you give him some food after that +4?
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53

Hi Phyllis

Sorry I disappeared last night. Fell sound asleep with my iPad in my lap :lol:

Carl is spot on with his question. Now is a good time for a couple tsp LC :-D and test in 30 pls.
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51

Just getting ready to post my 4.5. Yes, I gave some LC and retested: 51. Sigh.

Been thinking. Long story about food research, but the end of it is that sometimes I add a little tuna to Star's and Maggie's chicken pate food because they love fish, and I know the seafood varieties of canned food aren't the best quality fish. Seems like whenever I add the tuna, Star's numbers go lower. It makes sense because I'm adding pure protein, right? So that makes me think that Star's body is working the way it should, responding to the higher protein. I want to experiment with this and chart it (not right now because our trip to Phoenix is coming up next week, and I want to follow this carefully when I can be home), to see if I'm onto something or if it's just coincidence. Not enough data right now to tell. But interesting, I think.
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51

Another spoon and test in 30?

Interesting observation on the tuna bringing down the numbers. Pretty sure that plain tuna would be considered "zero carb". I know that most "tuna" flavored cat food tends to be the lowest "% calories from carbs" flavor. I think it's 9-lives, but the numbers on the tuna varieties are much lower than their other flavors. I just don't get why they need to mix cheese or eggs in with the tuna.
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51

Sometimes I think the stuff they add to pet food is designed to entice the pet owners. "Hmm, bacon and egg flavor? Works for me!" The pets could probably care less!

The tuna I've been adding was packed in vegetable oil, which I drained but didn't rinse off. That also added some fat along with the protein. When I do my real experiment I'll use tuna packed in water. My cats absolutely love the Fancy Feast classic seafood flavors, but the salmon one is the lowest in carbs, so that's what I bought for the pet sitter to feed next week because she can just put out one can at a time for each cat (the chicken pate comes in bigger cans, and leftovers have to be refrigerated; I always microwave any cold food, just to take the chill off; more work for her). The cats will have to enjoy the FF salmon while they get it, because I probably won't buy more, at least until the next time we go out of town, which is pretty rare.

I think it was Dr. Lisa Pierson who gave me the idea to add tuna instead of buying fishy cat food.
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51 +5

Boy, is this starting to feel familiar. :smile: What now? Even more LC food, or a little HC mixed in?
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51 +5

Whoa Star....

Haven't you gotten him out of the 40s before with LC? I'd probably give him 2-3 tsp of LC and see if that will bring him up. Retest in 30. See you then :-D
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51 +5

Okay, giving more LC food. Also gave some freeze dried chicken treats as an apology for the last ear poke, which was pretty rough on my part. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/28 Star AMPS=105 +4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51 +5

I'm hoping since it's +5, he will come up. Don't be shocked if he doesnt ;-) :-D
 
Re: 3/28 Star...+4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51 +5=49 +5.

At 5.5=44. I'm not shocked. :smile: Star is happy, playing with a shoestring dangled near him. But I guess I need to get him up a bit. And he's not interested in any more LC food. Time to mix in some HC? Or just wait 20 minutes or so to see if the LC kicks in?

And tomorrow, a dose decrease? I know these decreases are really close together, but if Star's body is working properly now, I would love to transition him off insulin as soon as it's safe to do that. His evening numbers seem to indicate that his pancreas is awake, right?
 
Re: 3/28 Star...+4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51 +5=49 +5.

Well durn...yes, I guess give him a tsp or two of HC gravy and retest in 30.

I want to look at his SS again on the reduction.
 
Re: 3/28 Star...+4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51 +5=49 +5.

Let's see how fast he comes up. It might have been a good idea to have taken a full reduction last night.
 
Re: 3/28 Star...+4=80 +6=94 PMPS=106 +4=53 +4.5=51 +5=49 +5.

The "great unknown" with the back to back to back reductions is "how much is due to depot leveling off, and how much is due to actual reaction to the current dose", I think.

Just from the few L kitties I've watched go OTJ (anti-jinx!), it seems like when a kitty is ready for a reduction, he'll go out of his way to prove it. I'm thinking that if you decide not to reduce tomorrow, then in the next day or two, he'll "prove" to you that he's serious about a small reduction in dose. So should you decide to stick with this dose (or maybe just skinny it), you might up the odds that when he does get a reduction, it will "stick" and you won't have to go up again before continuing on the way down the dosing ladder.

Simply put....if you stick with the .5 for another couple of cycles and make sure none of this is related to the depot, then when he does earn a reduction, it'll be more certain.

But Marje has watched a heck of a lot more cats do this than I have, so I'd see what she thinks before making any decision.
 
Was that just last night? Seems like longer ago . . . :lol: And it was actually closer to .5 than .75. I hear you, Carl, and I really don't want to have to go back to a higher dose after another reduction. Is there ever a time when you would give one dose in the morning and a lower dose at night (in Star's case, .5 in the morning and .25 at night)? I noticed that in humans, Lantus is a once-in-24-hours insulin. Do we give two doses to cats because they are usually so small? Just curious.

Up a bit. So now I have to wait another 30 minutes to see if the number sticks, right?
 
Do we give two doses to cats because they are usually so small? Just curious.

What I understand is that two doses is because cats metabolize insulin roughly twice as fast as humans do.
 
I just spent a while really looking closely at his SS.

Carl is correct that when these kitties decide to get with it and come down the dosing scale, it can be fast. For a newly dx cat, there isn't any reason for you to skinny doses and so it would have been appropriate last night to reduce him to .5u instead of skinny the dose.

After looking at his SS, I think you should hold the dose. If you had taken him down last night to .5u, he might not have gotten so low tonight. He came up fairly easily tonight. And Ai don't want you to take too many just about back to back reductions and losing momentum.

So let's hold the dose tomorrow morning at .5u. You'll really need to watch him...he might decide to go for a reduction again soon and that would not surprise me. :-D
 
If I didn't know better I would think that Star is doing this low numbers thing late at night on purpose. He is very nocturnal, and as hard as I try to engage him in play in the daytime, he just yawns and rolls over. But right now? He's ready to rumble! And I'm not usually available for playtime this late. He is enjoying having somebody to play with, little stinker.

Makes sense on the two doses thing. I think I read that on this site but forgot.

I'll keep Star's dose tomorrow at .5 and test him regularly, and we can evaluate tomorrow night. I'll probably be here. :YMSIGH: The closer we get to our trip, the more nervous I am about leaving him while he's still declining. If he's continuing to earn reductions regularly over the next seven days, what do I tell the pet sitter about dosing him?
 
Let's not sorry about the pet sitter right now...lots of cycles until next week.

I think you have it under control and I'm going to spend the rest of the evening with Mike :-D

Great job,
 
The closer we get to our trip, the more nervous I am about leaving him while he's still declining. If he's continuing to earn reductions regularly over the next seven days, what do I tell the pet sitter about dosing him?

Agree with Marje's advice on that. Lots of cycles between now and then. Remember, Star is leading this dance. All you can do is follow his lead and try not to step on his paws. ;-)
 
:lol:

By the way, nice photos on your website, Carl!

He's back to 55, but I really can't see him crashing tonight. I'm going to go with a repeat of last night and leave him some LC food mixed with a little HC. 'Night! Hugs to Bob. He's our inspiration. cat_pet_icon
 
Bob is happy to serve!
Thanks for the compliment on my photos. I update it every few days with my latest shots.

I think a repeat of last night would be a good thing. :smile: As would a similar AMPS in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top