3/28 Simon PMPS 107 +4 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good morning. Another really bad night of thunderstorms last night. Simon slept through everything but my civvie, Cleo, was scared to death, burying herself in the sheets and jumping everytime there was thunder. I don't know why she is so scared since I got her as a kitten and she has never spent any time outside.

Simon is doing well this morning and he only has 2 more days left of his antibiotic. Question: Simon seems to be holding mostly in the low blues at the .25 dose. He has been on this dose for about 15 days. I don't want his body to get too used to this dose so do I wait until his antibiotic is finished and then make an adjustment? Or is it ok for cats to stay on a dose for long periods of time? I thought I read somewhere about not keeping a cat on the same dose for extended periods of time. Is this right or did I think I read something about this?

Simon will also be getting a dental soon so I don't know if that will cause any issues with the bg.

Thanks and have a great day! I'm off to work.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39867
 
Re: 3/28 Simon AMPS 108 Dosing question

I can't help with dosing at all Georgia. I will be watching for the responses you get.

Regarding Cleo and thunderstorms - does she shake at all? My dog is extremely afraid and with her bad heart its quite scary. I've gotten great advice - if she doesn't mind being contained wrap her up like a burrito in a blanket or towel. It has made a huge difference with our dog.

Happy Monday :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/28 Simon AMPS 108 Dosing question

no answer on the dosing, it will be interesting to hear the responses.

My Tray is terrified of thunderstorms too. He hides under the bed or sofa trembling in fear. I guess they don't like sudden loud noises.

Good to hear Simon is almost done with his antibiotics and is doing so well.
 
Re: 3/28 Simon AMPS 108 Dosing question

My civvie, Mario, is a big, big boy...and a big scaredy cat when it comes to thunderstorms, too. He hides between the couchn and end table, and if he's walking when there's a lightening strike, he will literally get stuck mid-stride. Just this past year, he has started "predicting" storms...he'll get into his t-storm crouch a good several minutes before the first bolt of lightening hits.
 
Re: 3/28 Simon AMPS 108 Dosing question

I'd fatten Simon's dose. If the ABs were going to lower Simon's numbers, they would have done so by this time.
 
Re: 3/28 Simon AMPS 108 Dosing question

I'm glad to hear that my Cleo is not the only kitty that is scared of storms. I'll have to try the wrapping her up in a blanket to keep her calm. I do that when I take her to the vet's office so I don't know why I didn't think of that for when she is scared at home.

Sienne, I'll try a fat .25 tonight to see if that helps.
 
Re: 3/28 Simon AMPS 108 Dosing question

Hi guys .. glad Sienne was able to answer your dosing question .. I hope the extra juice is just what simon needs .. sorry to hear Cleo is so scared of storms .. mocha isn't all that afraid of storms, but when it is storming out, she walks real low to the ground and real slow .. she's odd .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/28 Simon PMPS 107

I increased Simon's dose to a fat .25 tonight hoping that his numbers go back to what they were before all his issues with the UTI and ear problems. It just is a little frustrating that he was about ready to do an OTJ trial then all of a sudden he had some higher numbers. Has this happened to anyone else? I think God is teaching me patience, which is something I struggle with all the time.
 
Re: 3/28 Simon PMPS 107

It could be a good thing that it happened before his OTJ trial. You want him to stay at the falls when he gets there. Good luck with the dosecrease. Simon will be back down that ladder and I'll be dancing in his condo soon. Hang in there. It isn't a test, its just a speedbump.
 
Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope it brings Simon's numbers down overall, back to where we are used to seeing him.

Amazing weather you are having. Poor Cleo - at least she found a place to hide. I feel for them when they are so afraid of the storms. I hope you are spared tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top