3/28 Sasha AMPS 470

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sasha&Tara

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67268

Good morning FDMB Family!!!

Well, I woke up to a kitty full of sugar this morning. :sad: Poor little guy was very thirsty this morning and his litter box was full. I gave him his Baytril, (which I think he threw up) and 100 mls of SubQ's so he doesnt get dehydrated. When he's thirsty like that, I try to give him a little water at a time because he will gulp it down and just end up throwing it back up. Hopefully the subq's will help him.

He did eat well though. About 7 oz. of Fancy Feast.

And still...KETONE NEGATIVE!!!!! :thumbup

Hope everyone has a great day today. Hugs to you all and to all your furbabies!!!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Hi Tara and yay for no ketones for Sasha. I hope he comes down today. That's a good appy there with the FF. Hugs to you Tara for being such a great Bean to Sasha. Have a great day.
 
Hi Tara & Sasha,
No ketones again. Great news! The 470 looks like a bounce from the low yellow last night. Soon, though, after the bounce clears, it might be time for another dose increase. See what the experienced "eyes" say and maybe put a dose question in your subject line.

You are doing a great job, Tara, keeping the ketones at bay and making sure that Sasha eats and stays hydrated. Carry on!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi guys .. poor sasha .. being so high really stinks, but it's most likely a bounce that will clear soon .. let's focus on the positive, no ketones!! have a great day guys!
 
Sasha&Tara said:
Serryn, you and Vyktor are troopers!!! What a amazing job... lol, being a newbie, I freak out when I see Sasha go below 100... if and when I get to where you and Vyktor are, I am going to be a lunatic, I know it.

You'll be just fine, well probably not the first time you get some low numbers, you'll be a wreck the first time :lol: but once you see how carbs and/or syrup work to bring Sasha's numbers back up you'll be fine :-D I am astounded by what a trooper you have already been with Sasha, not sure how I'd go trying to give Vyktor squids :?
 
Hi Tara,

I agree with Ella that Sasha is probably bouncing from the low yellow. I know it's no help to know that when you are looking at the red number and his WCR is not so good. I think you will want to increase the dose, but you need to wait for the bounce to clear first.

Keep a close eye on his ketones, as you do...we want to know right away if they start showing up again....those evil ketones, they change everything. :evil:

Please come down off the red floor, Sasha!
 
looking at his ss - on the note mid-day yesterday, does it mean he ate 2 3oz cans of fancy feast at +6? has someone specifically suggested feeding him then? if so, then carry on. but if not, i wonder if moving his meal a couple of hours earlier would also improve his numbers. perhaps trying it at +4 instead and seeing what happens.

just thinking that i fed punkin at +6 in the beginning and when i shifted it earlier and stopped feeding him any significant amount after +3, his numbers improved. but punkin didn't have ketones and if that's part of the strategy for dealing with them, i don't want to throw a wrench in anything. i just want to raise the question.

i would agree with ella & laurie on increasing the dose. still looks like he needs a little more insulin. so glad you've gotten those night time tests, tara, because without those we wouldn't know that he was getting into yellows. great job.
 
Thank you all for responding!

I agree about the dose increase.. should I increase it by .25 tonight?

Julie, he has to get fed at +6 for now because thats what time my neighbor can stop in to check on him and feed him while I'm at work.

and YES, THANKFULLY NO KETONES!!! Thats what brought me here in the first place although I do wish I found this board MUCH sooner!!!!

HUGS!!!!!!!
 
SENDING A RESCUE TEAM TO HELP SASHA DOWN!!!!!!!!

HOORAY FOR NO KETONES!!!!!!!

celi & binks

NFC-rope.jpg
 
LOL Celi!!! How do you always find the best pics to go along with the subject???? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: So funny, OMG!!!!! :YMHUG:
 
Hey Tara!
Did that fortiflora come yet? Just wondering if Sasha is enjoying it? :mrgreen:

Just think....every day that passes, is one day closer to finishing those A/b's!!! :lol: (that is how I always tried to look at it :mrgreen: ).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top