3/28 Ramesses AMPS 191

Lauryn Harriman

Member Since 2020
AMPS at 191.

Feeling like the number is dropping faster than I expected - he was in the "HIGH" zone yesterday. Concerned that the insulin dose is too high for him now that I got him on the low carb Fancy Feast pate instead of the glycobalance nonsense.

He had been at 2.5U Basaglar, but with the rapid dropping numbers I think we might need to revisit that dose.

I need to get better data today on his +10 / +11 numbers. Realizing I don't yet know his curve at this time since he's never been this low.

Thanks,

Bob and Lauryn
 
Changing to lower carb food makes a huge difference. Did you shoot? With recent DKA, you should get some insulin in him, even a reduced dose. Can you monitor today?
 
Hello there! Ramesses is a gorgeous fellow! Of course, I may be a bit biased as he looks like he could be related to Miss Luci :)

As Wendy said, changing the food will help a great deal in bringing those numbers down. My vet continues to pester me about feeding Luci 'DM' - the Dietetic Maintenance food they sell - Luci is doing just fine on her low carb Fancy Feast - perhaps not helping his bottom line as much though. Silly vet :smuggrin:

Nice start today! Let's hope Ramesses will continue to surf to some nicer numbers now that he's on better food :) Hope you can get some additional tests today - it's important to know how long this dose is taking him since he's on new food.
 
He was a slow eater today. Maybe it's a texture thing with the paté? Seemed like he got full then came back for seconds 15 minutes later.

I gave him 2 units. I'll be able to monitor today in some capacity so I'll update it as I go.

Thanks!
 
Luci does that a lot...she acts like she's not interested...eats a few bites...wanders off...comes back...eats a little more...soon all the food is gone, but she does it her way :))
 
Great to see those lower numbers. Looks like he is bouncing now from dropping into the lower numbers. Don’t worry it is quite normal for cats to bounce up high after dropping low. It may take up to 3 days for the bounce to stop, but it will.
Bounces can happen if a cat drops too fast, too low or lower than he is used to. He thinks he has to save himself so he dumps regulatory hormones and stored glucose into his system which sends the BG up high.
 
Back
Top