? 3/28 Mikey PMPS 446 +3 220 Dental question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-27-mikey-pmps-459-3-244.135265/#post-1394582

The only reason Mikey isn't getting an increase in the morning, is that he's having his dental on Monday and can't eat after 10 tomorrow night. I don't want risk one of his famous bungee dives that would require me to feed him and postpone the dental. If there's one thing we all know, it's never, EVER trust Mikey!

Speaking of dentals, I know I read some information on someone's condo about how to care for a cat post-dental. Now I can't find it anywhere. I remember that I should have baby food on hand, so I bought that. What else should I be prepared for? I assume I'll be shooting on schedule that night. I've put in for Tuesday off, so I can stay up with him, if I need to.

PS Send valium! I believe there are several of us who will been needing it this week!
 
Good plan to keep the dose steady with the untrustworthy one! One of Skooter's condo's recently had a some information on dentals - not sure if that was the one. Carla's Furball had a dental yesterday. The biggest thing is to just feed little amounts and spread out. I would give Neko a tsp at a time, and spread out 20-30 minutes apart. Depending on what type of anesthesia drug your vet uses, you may or may not see it impact the BG's. Best to test when Mikey gets home, and see at PMPS time where's he's going. If he's not up to eating much, you may decide to give a reduced dose that night. Worst case is BG's going down due to anesthesia and a cat that won't eat.
 
don't trust Mikey.... ( makes me think of the Mikey commercials) so I hear it in that voice...... :joyful:
sending good dental vines....
and some virtual valium ( i'm keeping the real stuff) :rolleyes::smuggrin:
 
One other thing I forgot to mention - I usually take in a recently used T-shirt for Neko's kennel while she's waiting, and a can of LC in case they want to feed her when she comes out of anesthesia. I've heard of the occasional cat getting fed inappropriate FD food at the vet.

And lots of good easy dental vines going your way.
 
Good dental vibes and calming ones for you. Max had three extractions. He ate baby food when he got home but at PMPS he wouldn't eaot so I gave him a gala dose that night.
 
Remind them at the vet's office to mark Mikey's chart, "No Metacam." (Metacam/meloxicam has an FDA black box warning for causing renal failure in cats.) The pain med most of us request in buprenorphine or buprenex (same drug). You will also want to ask that he not get Convenia as an antibiotic if he should need an antibiotic (AB). Convenia is an injection that lasts 2+ weeks. It's only indication is for skin infections. The problem is it's duration -- if Mikey should be allergic, he's combatting an allergy to a long duration AB. Some vets won't use it because of this. There are better ABs for a dental issue that requires an AB.

Some cats have a paradoxical reaction to pain meds. They get agitated vs. sleepy. If that's the case, a quiet, dimly lit room is best. Anesthesia can lower BG and slow the GI track. When you get Mikey home and settled, test him so you know where his numbers are. As for food, you've gotten good advice. You don't want scarf and barf -- the anesthesia can also act as an appetite stimulant for some cats.
 
Thank you, Wendy and Sienne. Mikey will be taking his bed with him to hang out in when he's in the cage. He does really well at the vet, as long as I send his bed. My vet does not use metacam for cats. The owner of the practice banned it when the black box warning came out. Don is dropping him off, so I'll have him mark everything no Convenia. Mikey was on bupe once before, and he didn't have any reaction to it at all. I wasn't even sure it was doing anything. Now DK is another story. He gets totally stoned. It's hysterical. :)
 
I'd also add that many cats end up skipping the shot entirely the night after a dental. Anesthesia can lower blood sugar and if his mouth has much done to it, and he doesn't want to eat, or he's vomiting from the anesthesia, you may want to just not give the shot. He'll get back on track soon enough.

There is a link at the bottom of the New to the Group sticky on dentals, down in the single topic post section at the bottom.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top