3/28 Maggie PMPS 141; +3 86; +4 116 AT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67264
Tuesday
AMPS 148
+2 142
+3 115
+4 133
PMPS 163
+3 108
+4 105 Free feeds
+9 126

Morning and thanks Jill for yesterday's last post in Maggie's condo concerning the TR dosing. I responded very early this morning, but I'll post it here, too. It does make it clear and help. I'm reconsidering right now with the shave and three below 70's. So far I've caught the below 70's, as they were in the am cycle. I may miss a below 70 at the pm cycle when I'm sleeping. On Monday when Maggie had a 62 at the +2, she came up with just her regular lc Wellness Turkey, and no HC was needed. Maggie was very disappointed she didn't get any of that yummy FF turkey & giblets which causes a spike for her. With the TR protocol and using the combination shave and three below 70's, if she had a low at night when I was sleeping, she free feeds and would eat and come up on her own most likely. I don't know if I should take that chance though. So we'll wait and see after the next two below 70's! Thanks everyone who had input in yesterday's condo.
 
Re: Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116 ATrak

I dont have much input, I'm just a newbie..but just sending some hugs your way Ann!!! And lots of pats to Maggie!!!
 
Re: Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116 ATrak

Nice start for Maggie today! Good luck on the new approach you are going to use. Sounds like you have a clear direction now and that is a huge help. Hope you have a great day!!
 
Re: Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116 ATrak

Mags condo yesterday was definitely chock full of good info. She's looking lovely this morning! Have a great day, Ann!
 
Re: 3/28 Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116; +4 88 ATrak

Such lovely cycles for Miss Mags! Fingers and paws crossed that the good numbers keep rolling with the dosecrease! Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 3/28 Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116; +4 88 ATrak

Well, Mags is doing great with the way you have been handling her and you know how Maggie handles her reductions. One more consideration is how big a percentage of her insulin is being reduced. For a cat on a low dose .25u can be 50% or more of the insulin she is getting. That's why many of us start to shave when we get into the drop counting areas.
 
Re: 3/28 Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116; +4 88; +5.5 102 ATrak

Hi guys .. no advice from me, but I have to agree with Tess .. you know maggie so well .. I am sure you will get this worked out :-D have a great day!
 
Re: 3/28 Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116; +4 88; +5.5 102 ATrak

One more consideration is how big a percentage of her insulin is being reduced. For a cat on a low dose .25u can be 50% or more of the insulin she is getting. That's why many of us start to shave when we get into the drop counting areas.
Thanks everyone for the visits and support. Thanks Ann & Tess, as the above info does make a lot of sense when microdosing or counting drops. I'm real pleased with Maggie's numbers, and I rarely need to use any hc, anti-jynx. :-D
I think Mags is going to surf along, so I need to run out for a spell. I'll leave her some food.
 
Re: 3/28 Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116; +4 88 ATrak

Hi Ann,

The only thing I would add is that both Jill and Libby indicated that it is a more aggressive approach to wait for a cat to fall below 80 three times on the AT, not 70. Below 70 is an automatic reduction on an AT. Is there some reason you are using three times below 70 instead of 80? It seems to me that is an even more aggressive approach....
 
Re: 3/28 Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116; +4 88; +5.5 102 ATrak

The 3 drops below 50 (or 70 on an AT) is an aggressive approach to dose reductions. Likewise, shaving the dose is, in a sense, an aggressive approach -- you need to monitor carefully because you don't have the safety margin of a full reduction. The concern is that by pairing 2 aggressive approaches to dosing, there is a greater risk to Maggie being over a good dose.

I understand your concern about Maggie being a longer term diabetic and that she's on a small dose. Let me see if Jill has any insights or suggestions.

Hi Laurie, the above was from Sienne in Maggie's yesterday condo. I was going by what the Beans use on the human meter. The long term diabetic kitties use the three below 50 to earn a dosecrease. So the ATrak would equal a 70 to get a 40 if I were using the human meter. I did a poke using my Relion Micro on Monday after I had a 62 at the +2. The Relion Micro was a 41, the lower the bg, the lower the variance with low numbers. I wouldn't mind using the three below 80's. It would equal the 50's on the human meter and not be as aggressive.
 
Re: 3/28 Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116; +4 88; +5.5 102; +9 118 A

Hi, Ann -- I had to go back and read your condo yesterday, and then read it again a couple of times. I still don't fully understand the reduction strategies, so I bookmarked it to read again later.

It looks like you and Maggie-doodle are doing well. I hope I didn't miss a photo of her while I was off the board for a few days. ;-)
 
Re: 3/28 Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116; +4 88; +5.5 102; +9 118 A

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ef4a6_funny-captions-fraction-cats.png
 
Re: 3/28 Maggie AMPS 129; +2 116; +4 88; +5.5 102; +9 118 A

:lol: :lol: Celi on the pics - so appropriate.

Randa, how sweet, you didn't miss any pics of Maggie-doodle (love her nn) -- I need to recharge the battery of my camera.
 
Hi Ann,
I'm a math cripple, so I just accepted the 70. But of course Laurie is right: the magic number on the ATrak is 80!! In any event, I think you are doing just fine with Maggie because you understand her better than any of us.

Have a fine evening and we'll see you tomorrow,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Ann - sorry I missed your condo today - better late than never. I too am with Ella - I think you know Maggie better than anyone, and have been doing just fine with her FD management. I do had no idea on the 70 vs 80. Learned something today. :-D

Maggie sure has had some nice numbers today. Even a green. Good job Maggie!

I hope your day today has been a good one. :-D :-D :-D
 
Nice greens Miss Mags. The math can sure be challenging for me and also using the AT when so much posting in LL is with human meters. Thank goodness Liz is an engineer and a whiz at math. She is looking very :mrgreen: these days!
 
I missed you too today :-x --You use the Alpha Trak meter which the vets use--Meter readings vary from the human glucometers we use..For you on AT, a reduction is indicated when she hits 70 3X in a row, because of the readings you get on it! Right?--Also KNOW THY CAT!!! That is most important with us all--we know them better than anyone--
Just wanted to make that crystal clear, as newbies must be confused by all this.

Glad Mags has such Beautiful numbers today--Whatever you did, it's GOOD!!
Besides we lubs you so Hugs & Love from us!! NI Ni Ann!! & Mags!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top