3/28 - LILY, Looking for Advice Please? Did Curve Today, AMPS - 379, PMPS - 335

Calicos are Best (GA)

Member Since 2019
Hi everyone, I haven't been on in a while. I was out of state for a couple months. Just got back to home on 3/14. Trying to do the best I can and get back to the normal swing of things. I found Lily an automatic feeder. Sometimes I use it and sometimes I have been feeding Lily manually without it. Today I did a Blood Glucose Curve on Lily. Here were her results...

AMPS - 379
+2 - 340
+4 - 302
+6 - 266
+8 - 258
+10 - 267
PMPS - 335

Lily's last Blood Curve (before today's) was done on 3/8. I have been struggling with her dosages of insulin. I have been going between .75 units and 1 unit of Lantus.

On 3/26 Lily's blood sugar was 84 at 1:20 AM.
On 3/27 Lily's blood sugar was 117 at 1:04 AM.

I tried to give her an additional snack before bed on these days. She did bounce a bit the following mornings. After doing the curve on Lily today would indicate she should go back on 1 unit again. It feels like I just keep ping ponging between the .75 dosage and 1 unit dosages. However I am concerned that 1 unit is not the right dosage after seeing how she has been getting low right before bed the past couple of nights.

Am I doing the right things? Any Suggestions or Tips on Lily's SS? Should Lily continue on the same .75 unit dosage?
 
With SLGS, that 84 a few nights ago means her dose should really be 0.5 units. Unfortunately she was just bouncing during today's curve. You look at all the nadirs the previous week to determine what to do with her dose. In addition, if you see an under 90, you immediately drop the dose by 0.25 units.
 
Thanks Wendy! Would you suggest I do the 0.5 units for 7 days? Then another curve?

Are there any tips I should be concerned about or take notice to before the 7 days are up? How do I know if I need to go back to .75 units?
 
Yes, 0.5 units for 7 days and the curve. Any spot checks you can get are also good data. Stick to the same dose, unless you see another under 90. Good luck with the new dose.

Does the "negative on strip" on the SS mean negative for ketones?
 
Ok great, will do! Yes, the negative means negative for ketones, correct. Lily has a history of Ketoacidosis from last October 2018 and has gotten a bladder infection this past January 2019. I'll have to keep an eye on her ketones going to 0.5 units. Very nervous about her being hospitalized again.
 
Back
Top