3/28 Jez AMPS 132 - held to +13 233 +9 229

Status
Not open for further replies.

morrieb1

Member Since 2013
Surprising bit of blue sky this morning - I wasn't going to dare shoot a 132 and head off to work - so I did a bit of everything - fed, waited and retested in an hour, and cut the dose back to .25 to be safe.

Actually - that hour later works well for the next few days as I will get an extra hour's sleep (who am I kidding - the furry alarm clocks march to their own timetable).

Hoping I don't get a big old bounce. There was something different last night - they'd finished dinner by eight and I didn't put any more food out afterwards....generally they look sad and I give them a bit more. So I don't know if there's something bad about eating late and overnight BG levels....but I think I'll try giving them the same eating curfew that their mom has :)

And I should be able to curve come Saturday........I've been thinking of trying to bring the dose up just a bit more - that .5 was looking pretty good until I got nervous about the 52 nadir a couple of weeks ago - and its an easier dose to be exact about.

What do you folks think?

Em
 
I agree with it being an easier dose, I hate trying to eyeball the 1/4 doses, I never feel secure about the accuracy. I'd rather Lucian be 1.5 or 2.0 not the 1.75 that he is now. :-x
 
nckitties3 said:
I agree with it being an easier dose, I hate trying to eyeball the 1/4 doses, I never feel secure about the accuracy. I'd rather Lucian be 1.5 or 2.0 not the 1.75 that he is now. :-x


Yeah Deb - I can imagine.......I am really trying for consistency - because if Jez is still on insulin in a couple of months I'm going to have to either try once a day or board her when I go on vacation (having a pet sitter in twice a day is out of my budget)....and however it ends up - I need a dosage that is easy to judge.

And although the whole tight regulation protocol is a bit confusing for me because it focuses so much on nadirs - I "think" that the goal is a combination of a good nadir and keeping the preshot below 220 to give the best shot of healing.......and my preshot (except for this morning) seems to be a bit too high.

So I don't see any harm in taking it up a bit to see what happens....but I'll wait till Saturday so I can be around for a curve.

Em
 
I have to agree with you both I much perfer that Autumn stay on .5 or 1 for consistency in dosing although there is a fairly easy way to dose the quarter doses as well. Say you are shooting a .75 instead of lining up the bottom of the plunger on the bottom .5 line..to shoot a .75u put the top of the plunger against the bottom of the 1u line. That will give you at least what I call a .75u. :-D

Yeah Em I think you are safe to fatten her dose up a little to try and bring her overall curve down some.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
From what I saw in pic and read, you should be able to see light between the top of the plunger and bottom of the line above, for example the 1 unit line, for the .25's.

Like for 1.75, you should be able to see the finest bit of light between the top of the plunger and the 1.5 line.

At least that's what I read/saw. I'll try to find the page I was going by.

But that's the way I have been trying to do it. I hold it up at eye level in front of my 'over the sink' light, which is just the right height for me and make sure there is a thin strip of light there and it looks like the pic I was going by.
 
If you scroll down on this thread, you'll see pics of .25 and less. This is a thread on micro dosing.

dose pics

Still trying to find where I read about the same thing.
 
Oh I know those pictures well. And I can tell re reading my post from last night that I still had a headache...lol What I meant to write was that you line up the top of the plunger to the top of the line of the next higher dose, instead of the bottom on the plunger against the bottom of the line like for a true dose. So for a .75u you put the top on the plunger against the top on the 1u line which should leave a tiny bit of light between it and the .5u

Thank God that headache went away with sleep last night, I was pretty sure my skull was going to explode yesterday.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
I have to agree with you both I much perfer that Autumn stay on .5 or 1 for consistency in dosing although there is a fairly easy way to dose the quarter doses as well. Say you are shooting a .75 instead of lining up the bottom of the plunger on the bottom .5 line..to shoot a .75u put the top of the plunger against the bottom of the 1u line. That will give you at least what I call a .75u. :-D

Yeah Em I think you are safe to fatten her dose up a little to try and bring her overall curve down some.


Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


I'll do this all in one post - Thanks Deb - I have those microdose pictures and they've been helpful. Mel, that's what I was doing for the .25 - I think you said something about doing it that way before and it is a lot easier than just eyeballing...whether its exactly that amount isn't important - it's important that its consistent. And I'll bring her up just a bit tomorrow when I can watch - although I swear she's reading the boards cause she gave me a nice mellow yellow this morning (215) even after that adjusted dose and the hot pink of yesterday, lol

Em
 
Also what I wasn't taking into consideration until I actually looked up last night after we went out for dinner is...We are under a Full Moon, and in the time I have been here I have seen some cats that dip very low, some that shoot up high (Autumn) and some that will run extremely flat during the Full Moon. Now while the phase of the moon doesn't seem like it should make a lot of difference until you think about the fact that it does effect the ocean's tides and since mammals are about 95% water, if the moon can effect the water in the ocean then it will effect the water in our bodies.

I also think the change in when Sunrise/Sunset occurs also effects them in subtle ways as well. I have seen it in all 3 of my diabetics that for awhile right after the Solstices and Equinoxes that they have a couple of days of some flaky numbers while their bodies readjust to the differences in the daylight to dark ratio.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Also what I wasn't taking into consideration until I actually looked up last night after we went out for dinner is...We are under a Full Moon, and in the time I have been here I have seen some cats that dip very low, some that shoot up high (Autumn) and some that will run extremely flat during the Full Moon. Now while the phase of the moon doesn't seem like it should make a lot of difference until you think about the fact that it does effect the ocean's tides and since mammals are about 95% water, if the moon can effect the water in the ocean then it will effect the water in our bodies.

I also think the change in when Sunrise/Sunset occurs also effects them in subtle ways as well. I have seen it in all 3 of my diabetics that for awhile right after the Solstices and Equinoxes that they have a couple of days of some flaky numbers while their bodies readjust to the differences in the daylight to dark ratio.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


I wouldn't be the least bit surprised if that was the case....animals are very sensitive to any sort of change in their environment. I think it was likely that we used to be strongly affected by changes in the moon phase as well as shifts in the weather and as you said, the difference in light/dark ratio....but as we've developed ways of changing our surroundings to better suit us, its not so noticeable anymore.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top