3/28 Gizzy AMPS 381, +6.5 80. +8.5 87, +12 296

Status
Not open for further replies.

pistull

Member Since 2011
last post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67254

I'm thinking time for a dose increase - I'll test him mid day but seems he is stuck in high flats.
 
Re: 3/28 Gizzy AMPS 381

I would wait until tomorrow Am. Gizzy could still be reacting to the 424 of yesterday. This AM number is much better and there is a chance he will continue to go down.

pattie
 
Re: 3/28 Gizzy AMPS 381

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me ..but lots of hope that gizzy makes his way down from here! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/28 Gizzy AMPS 381, +6.5 80

Thanks for all the positive thoughts - seems like Gizzy likes them too....80 at +6.5!! Let's hope it doesn't trigger another bounce!
 
Re: 3/28 Gizzy AMPS 381, +6.5 80

wonderful lori! i'm glad you held the dose too. lantus like consistency and some cats need extra time to settle into a dose.

looking good gizzy! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/28 Gizzy AMPS 381, +6.5 80

I just wish there was something I could do to prevent another bounce. Just settle in Gizzy. I will check him again at +8.5 to see where he's going.
 
Re: 3/28 Gizzy AMPS 381, +6.5 80

pistull said:
I just wish there was something I could do to prevent another bounce. Just settle in Gizzy. I will check him again at +8.5 to see where he's going.

Lori,
Some cats are more bouncy than others but you CAN do something to help Gizzy.
Quite often, if you see that ps is fairly high and then Gizzy takes a dive off a cliff in the first 4 hrs or so, you can alter that pattern with food manipulation.

You can give Gizzy 1tsp food every hour, and even mix in some MC ... make a batch of 1/2 LC and 1/2 MC.
Give 1 tsp of this mix at +1 +2 +3 and +4, as needed. It works.

One thing you don't want to do is mess around with the dose and go higher. If you increase the dose, you take a chance of Gizzy going much lower than that 80 at mid cycle, so stick with this dose and try to use food to slow down the drops.
 
Re: 3/28 Gizzy AMPS 381, +6.5 80. +8.5 87

87 is wonderful. Keep in mind that he will eventually bounce higher but you have kept him at a low number which (as Sandy & BK always told me) is training his liver to like the low numbers.

Good job.

Pattie
 
Hi Lori!
Looks like this 'fresh start' of a 12/12, consistent dose schedule is off to a good start! :thumbup

How are things going in the early a.m.'s with food? Were you able to try using the timed feeder? Is Gizzy waking you up for food?

I used to do food manipulation with my girl because she could often be an early diver, and an unreliable eater. I think it helped.
If you ever have a chance to get a +1 (or 30-60 minutes after you offer a snack), it will help you see how much food affects Gizzy's BG's. This can become very useful information for you!

I posted this in your condo a few days ago, but it was late at night...not sure if you saw it:
carolynandlatte said:
pistull said:
Hi LIbby...my days flucuate quite a bit, but I try to shoot as close to +12 as possible. In the mornings the reason it's earlier sometimes is that when Giz is hungry, he's HUNGRY and won't allow me to sleep until he's fed! Period. So sometimes he gets up an hour before regular feeding time and wants FOOD! Keep in mind this is 3am...! :lol: So I figure if I'm going to feed him, I want to dose him too so his #'s don't skyrocket from the food. Maybe they wouldn't rise that quickly, but who knows? I need to somehow get him to 4:30am and then I could dose him on the +12 dot morning and night. He won't have it some mornings!! Maybe I will try an experiment....I will set the self timer for 3:30 with food in it and I will dose him at 4:30. I'd have to see what it does to his #'s. Thoughts?

Hey there! I noticed you are from MN, too! :mrgreen:

I had a cat with FD who did not eat great, so she ate whenever and whatever she felt like (including kibble). What I ended up doing was trying to figure out what kind of rise she was getting from her food (especially the kibble), what time it hit, and how soon it wore off. This was very helpful for me. Example: If she was lower than usual at shot time, but knew she ate kibble a few hours earlier, I would often be more hesitant to shoot the full dose because I knew part of that number was inflated by the food and might wear off as the insulin kicked in. If she had not eaten and was lower than usual I knew it was a 'truer' number and would attempt to feed and shoot. There were even times I felt more comfortable shooting a lower number when I knew she had JUST eaten kibble...because it would somewhat offset her numbers once she hit the nadir.

So maybe, if you have a chance, you could test him pre and post eating, with a few extra follow ups to see how he responds to food? Once you have an idea how he responds, feeding at +10 (or even +11) may not be an issue.

Another thought might be to put some freeze dried treats in the timed feeder for him to snack on, and give you that extra hour or so of sleep.

Sounds like Gizzy has had a lot of changes going on. Did I read he developed herpes from your other cat? My foster kitty has herpes, too. I wonder if you could try some rescue remedy? Another FDMB member from MN brought some over for my foster cat after her eye surgery. I would be happy to share some of it with you. I can't say for sure if it helped. It certainly did not hurt.

If there is any local support I can offer, let me know!

Looks like tonight is off to a decent start! How is he doing today....mood? litterbox? hunger level?

Hang in there, Lori!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top