3-28 Gizmo AMPS=156; PMBG=194; PMPS=223 (45 min late); +2=168 He got contraband :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

I think I messed up this morning when I went from 0.25 units to a drop this morning. I completely forgot about 0.1 unit. My plan was to give that tonight and journey on, but after eating good all day ... he completely refused his little bit of food with cabergoline. :banghead:

So do I shoot the 0.1 unit and hope he eats soon or just skip the shot tonight and watch his numbers skyrocket? :(
 
Will he take a treat? If so I would be tempted to give the 0.1 unit as you have about 2 hours after the injection for Gizmo to actual before onset.
 
Since Gizmo is on Levemir, you have more like 3 hours (in his case), to get food into him. That's why I really liked Lev, and for me it was more like 5 hours until onset.

Any chance you can syringe feed him? He does look like he's on his way up.
 
Will he take a treat? If so I would be tempted to give the 0.1 unit as you have about 2 hours after the injection for Gizmo to actual before onset.
Nope. Turned his head away and wouldn’t even look at it. It’s strange that he was chasing my husband for food earlier today and now can’t even look at it.
 
Since Gizmo is on Levemir, you have more like 3 hours (in his case), to get food into him. That's why I really liked Lev, and for me it was more like 5 hours until onset.

Any chance you can syringe feed him? He does look like he's on his way up.
I have a syringe, but don’t really know what is involved. I am by myself until midnight (pretty much the entire active part of his cycle). He is usually very easy going and does allow me to do pretty much whatever to him. So maybe?
 
How big is the syringe? I used to pick a food Neko didn't normally eat (so she wouldn't develop food adversions to it), added a bit of water, possibly using a immersion blender if needed to get it to finer consistency. This post contains a good link to an assist feeding video. Is Gizmo looking nauseous, ie. sniffing at food and walking away?

I was usually good to give at least a 1/2 a dose. That's what cats undergoing anesthesia and not allowed to eat will get.
 
How big is the syringe? I used to pick a food Neko didn't normally eat (so she wouldn't develop food adversions to it), added a bit of water, possibly using a immersion blender if needed to get it to finer consistency. This post contains a good link to an assist feeding video. Is Gizmo looking nauseous, ie. sniffing at food and walking away?

I was usually good to give at least a 1/2 a dose. That's what cats undergoing anesthesia and not allowed to eat will get.
I know that half a dose is alright. But I’m not sure since he just earned a reduction down to 0.1. Should I go with that tonight or lower?

ETA - he isn’t really sniffing the food at all. Has no interest tonight. I did get a purr when I broke out his favorite HC food, but he still didn’t taste it.
 
Worst case, you try the drop dose again and go back to 0.1 tomorrow if he's eating.
Just retested. He’s rising fast (223). I’m going to try 0.1 being that he might have only earned the reduction because he threw up him PMPS meal last night. I think i will be able to assist feed if needed.
 
So I just figured out what happened and I probably should have shot a lot more insulin. He got out into our garage and ate through a bag of science diet glucose management dry cat food. At least it was cat food this time and not dog food. I had it packaged up (a long time ago), but haven’t gotten it to the shelter yet. I feel terrible that he got into the contraband and am terrified that it is going to ruin everything.
 
+2 = 168

Acting a bit more interested in food, but not willing to eat yet ... although I found him sitting at the garage door and pawing at it. I’m thinking he would eat more dry food if he could get it. :rolleyes::cat:
That sounds like nausea. When my Gizmo wouldn't eat he would always eat the dry Young Again. It probably saved his life while I jerked around and couldn't figure out what was going on - labs finally indicated an infection of some sort but vet didn't do urinalysis so not sure if it was UTI and/or kidney. But I think the dry didn't turn him off like the wet (any of the wet).
 
And ... the civvie just ate Gizmo’s food with the cabergoline mixed in. I got sidetracked and forgot it was still down. :banghead:
I think I’m just going to bed and starting over in the morning.
That sounds like nausea. When my Gizmo wouldn't eat he would always eat the dry Young Again. It probably saved his life while I jerked around and couldn't figure out what was going on - labs finally indicated an infection of some sort but vet didn't do urinalysis so not sure if it was UTI and/or kidney. But I think the dry didn't turn him off like the wet (any of the wet).
I think he’s just not eating cause he stuffed himself with the forbidden food, but I could be wrong. I’ll have to see what tonight and tomorrow brings. But being that he was so willing to eat all day, I’m hoping he’s just not hungry yet.
 
I think he's holding out for more dry cat food. I can just hear him sitting there and pawing at the garage door. "I know I can get in, just gotta push a little harder...come on open up...drats"
 
I think he's holding out for more dry cat food. I can just hear him sitting there and pawing at the garage door. "I know I can get in, just gotta push a little harder...come on open up...drats"
Lol. That’s exactly what he was thinking. The bad part is sometimes the door doesn’t latch and he can get it open. :facepalm:

He did eat some fowl ball just a few minutes ago and then threw up a massive amount of liquid and what appeared to be swollen dry food. My husband will check him in a couple hours when he gets home. Hopefully he will be back to normal by morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top