3/28 Eeyore AMPS 96 :)... But now HIGH :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Eeyore

Member Since 2014
Previous Post

Good Morning!

We have finally started seeing some green numbers for Eeyore! There still isn't a lot of rhyme or reason to them, yesterday he saw almost every increment of numbers, but the day before he had happy, green nadirs. We are keeping him at the dose of 2 units for now since it looks like it is trying to regulate something at least!
My lap top is still having issues, so I apologize for not posting regularly, I finally was able to get on my husbands computer for today. (He has insane protections because of his govt security status and it requires his fingerprint. Today though, he left it up running a program before work so I could get on!)

Fingers Crossed for good numbers continuing!
 
Re: 3/28 Eeyore AMPS 96 :)

And Thank you Wendy and Sienne for helping me with the URL thing! It worked! I'm cool like everyone else now ;)
 
Re: 3/28 Eeyore AMPS 96 :)

Wonderful start for Eeyore today! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I hope you managed to get more tests in and see more green today.

I noticed that on the night of the 24th, Eeyore got down to 40. As per the protocol, that means a .25U reduction, so the new dose should be 1.75U.
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
Since Eeyore has been diabetic for less than one year, he is considered a newly diagnosed diabetic. Congrats on the reduction. :-D

I'm glad you've got the SS working again. And yes, you are now one of the cool people. :cool: :lol:
 
Re: 3/28 Eeyore AMPS 95... but now HIGH :(

Well I spoke too soon... Eeyore was high and terrible the rest of the day with some measures reading only as HI. And I went back and looked through the measurements and I must have inverted the numbers this morning at the preshot because Eeyore was actually at 56! and not 95! So even better! But then after breakfast and a few hours later he was high and terrible all day :( He even was sleeping in the closet, which he only goes and does when he isn't feeling well. He is normally extremely friendly and cuddly. I saw your reply Wendy, about reducing his dose, is that even if you only see the low number once? Could his high numbers today be a result of me not reducing his dose?
 
Yikes Eeyore - let's take it down a level or two, but slowly please!

If you had a 56 this morning, then it's more than likely that Eeyore was quite low sometime overnight. And the High is telling you his liver is working well in reaction to that low and you have a mega bounce. For safety's sake, you should reduce after even after going low once for newly diagnosed cats. Some people find that their cats don't hold reductions well and have to wait for a couple of times below 50, but you haven't seen that yet.
 
i agree with Wendy. You don't want to continue giving a dose that's getting him into BGs under 50. For safety's sake, in the morning reduce to 1.75.

the bouncing is normal and it will resolve. hang in there - the highs are hard on us to see and probably make eeyore feel yucky, but they'll go away. He's making progress!
 
I'd also like to recommend more frequent testing when you have those low numbers. If/when you shoot anything in the 50s like that, you want start testing at +1 to make sure he doesn't drop. Remember, anything below 50 means you reduce his dose, so when you're already starting out in the 50s when you shoot, you do run the risk of a hypo.

Likewise, when you had the 40 the other night, you should have been feeding HC and/or Karo to get Eeyore up into safer numbers, and continued monitoring to make sure he stayed there. Eeyore definitely is a bouncer, but you can't bank on that always being the case.

Good luck with the new lower dose!
 
Thanks for all the help!

I didn't end up lowering Eeyore's dose because he hasn't gotten a lower number since we last discussed his AMPS of 56 on Friday morning. I realize now that I should have reduced it that very next dose- I have now compiled a word document for myself with all the dosing instructions and printed it out so I can more easily refer to them. At this point, I have stuck with the 2 units because he has been high ever since Friday afternoon. I have tried to get more tests in, and it doesn't look like he has dipped that low again. I am going to see how tonight's nadirs go since his preshot was in the 200's which is lower than it has been, and then maybe I'll consider lowering his AM dose tomorrow morning. I just wish he would stay in one range for at least a day! I haven't been able to find any kind of pattern with him yet. I would have thought that once we had a good dose on the insulin he would sort of stay hanging out in the green ranges and then we would start to ween him off, but as soon as he gets a green number, a few hours later he is sky rocketing again. I understand lowering him if he pull a really low number like a 50 but won't he just start getting high numbers again? That 56 on 3/28 was somewhat of an anomaly, surrounded by all high numbers. At the time I actually thought it read 96; had I not reversed the numbers and actually seen the 56 then I probably would have tested him again in 10 minutes before giving him his shot.
 
the high numbers you're seeing is from him bouncing. when he had the 56, he rose steady up to HI, and then while they wobbled around in the high yellows and pinks until i'd guess sometime early this morning. so the bounce lasted almost 2 full days. they can last as long as 3 days. when you see an unexplained high, you look backwards to see if there was a low number before he started rising. then to somewhat predict how long it might last, count forward from the low number. usually bounces reduce in length and intensity as the cat gets accustomed to those green numbers.

it's important to wrap your head around Lantus dosing being done based upon the low points, rather than the high numbers. the bouncing is inevitable in most cats, but as he keeps getting into green numbers his body will get used to them and eventually he'll stop reacting to them.

even the 123 this morning - it looks like he was rising from it, so it makes you wonder where he was just before.

i think since you've kept the 2.0 dose, you have a couple of options. you can continue on it but be extra vigilant, or you could go ahead and reduce to 1.75.

whenever the next day is that you post, go ahead and start a new "condo" or thread. it helps us manage easier if one doesn't get too long.

he's doing fine - don't worry. it's common for cats to take a while to get regulated and you're on the right track. don't be discouraged! and getting him to stay in one range will come as he gets regulated.

edited to add: when you post tomorrow or later, would you start a new "condo" or thread? it helps us manage easier if the threads don't get too long. thanks! and yay on getting to use your husband's computer! it's good to see you and eeyore!
 
Not to be an echo but I'd definitely recommend taking the .25 dose reduction to 1.75 especially since I see that you only did 1 dose of 1.75 otherwise you went straight from 1.50 to 2.00 so 1.75 may be your perfect dose for now. Lantus is some amazing stuff, once they start to get regulated they can make some very impressive progress. I do believe a dose reduction is a step in the right direction and will clear up your high numbers. Some cats bounce just getting into healthy green numbers but especially so when they fall under the safe range which is 50 for newly diagnosed and a reduction isn't given. Also don't let the numbers fool you, they will try and be really frustrating at times - too much insulin can act like not enough insulin AKA confusing high numbers. Jerry really enjoyed doing that to me at the end so I just had to listen to what he was telling me and he is now OTJ. Once the reduction is merited like falling below 50 more may certainly follow so less is more to help keep your kitty safe and back to great health.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top