3/28 Davidson PMPS 281, +3-301, +6-288

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Well, I did not like how yesterday went for Davidson, just one blue..........

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-27-davidson-pmps-258-4-242-8-260.193198/

Today he starts off with one of his lower AMPS tests, so see how things go. I tried a different area this morning around his stomach, and hope I did not get a fur shot, as I did smell insulin, but it could be the over spill from shooting the excess out of the needle......time will tell.

QUESTION: Does Davidson need another dosecrease as tests in the afternoon have for the most part been in the yellows, today is the 12th day on insulin and although coming close to green, he is still not there. I have done the stats and 34% of his BG tests are in the healing areas since starting insulin.......I do a ton of tests so percentages go down a bit....

What do you think........

Have a purrfect day out there in L and L land
 
Since you are not seeing green, you may want to increase Davidson's dose. But I'd wait until after today. This morning is just cycle 5 on this dose. Usually you wait 6 cycles.
 
Since he's recently out of remission, you want to get back there and you're testing as much as you do, I would be as aggressive as TR will allow and evaluate the dose every 6 cycles and increase if you're not seeing a good bit of green. If you don't see a green by tomorrow, I would increase in the am. You'll want to hold the first dose of seeing a green for 10 cycles and go from there.

For what it's worth, in humans, the lower the dose, the less the duration and shooting bolus (rapid) insulin is advised where it is most quickly absorbed (stomach) and shooting basal (Lantus) insulin, where you want longer duration, it can be recommend to shoot where it is less rapidly absorbed. Might be something you want to play around with and see what happens, like you are doing.
 
I have Davidson's blood work from March 9th, and thought some of you would like to see it, however I have tried and can't figure out how to attach the pdf file, or should I save it in another format? Thanks for any assistance............

OH - I changed my user name to be ME (Shawna) and Davidson...........haha, Harley will be mad cuz he's not included..........GECKO is my company name and racing name..........
 
Work that juice Davidson, dose increase threat has been issued!

On the spreadsheet, the 4th tab over is called LABS. You can manually enter lab values there. The one time consuming bit the first time, is adding the valid ranges. Each lab has slightly different values, and in Canada of course the measurements are different. Take a look at Neko's SS as an example. I had lab values for TrueNorth on the far left and several columns over to the right is the column for the Idexx labs. You might be able to grab most of those to save you some typing.

Just did some Googling. Surprised you didn't name a cat Yamaha. ;)
 
Haha, if I had 3 cats then Yamaha may have worked, but I have an HD in the garage and the HD in the house which of course are my #1 Guys....and they match their mom ;)

Wow, it’s a lot to enter but I will of it helps everyone to see where Davidson’s number are and why....he wasn’t too bad from what I can tell, mind you my doctor skills are not nearly as good as my race ones LOL..... thanks for the pointers
 
The nice thing about entering on the labs page is that entering subsequent labs is easy. And allows you to start to see trends in numbers.
 
All done.........have a look, the ranges were different then your numbers but it’s all according to Davidson’s blood work done. I don’t have the urinalysis so have to get that from the Vet and enter the date. Thanks again, how does it look LOL.
 
I see a few values out of range, calcium, Na/K ratio, total protein, glucose. I usually highlighted the ones that were out of range to make it easier to see. The out of range values look not excessively out, and I think a lot of them can be explained by him being dehydrated, a by product of diabetes. Did you vet make any comments on the b/w?
 
The Vet said the only concern was the glucose and As all of us on FDMB already knew he was probably increasing due to the infections. He was mildly above the average on some areas also due to infections and as you mentioned the dehydration and that causes the other numbers to rise.

I can tell Davidson needs an increase, he’s a big strong Guy (aren’t all Harley guys haha) and he’s it as active, and we can see by afternoon he starts going higher consistently.

His urine was fine, no issues but I’ll get the records and insert.

Tomorrow will be an increase and hope that works. It’s as if the insulin isn’t doing anything after pmps.
 
Looking at Davidson’s SS and now each night there hasn’t been much movement in his numbers - is the .25 dosecreass for tomorrow enough? He’s 12.6 lbs and wondering if such a small increase will do anything.....suggestions please.

Tnx
 
Ok, thanks Wendy.....maybe he’ll surprise me tonight as I’m keeping him in the existing dose. No doubt I’ll still be up automatically. Funny thing is Harley has figured out that Davidson keeps getting treats in the office, so now he comes in at test time. Had to go buy another large bag today.
 
Hmmm. Davidson just had his highest PMPS to date since Mar 6th test revealed he was out of remission................yes, he had a good blue day on the 26th but all others were still higher blues and lots of yellows.

** my concern is that I leave (can't cancel my trip or I would) for Africa and communication won't be great and I'd like to see him at least regulated if remission can't be reached. If I increase the dose .25 then another 3 days are needed before another increase. I don't want to jump too high, but in hindsight looking back at his BG numbers should have started him at .5 or .75.

** I'm not sure why, but majority of his PM numbers have been high and don’t seem to go down.

Davidson is sneezing a bit tonight and wonder if he’s getting a cold or just from eating....guess I have to put the fireplace on for him.
 
Last edited:
Well, +3 is at 301 and not sure what he bounced off of as no low numbers.

QUESTION: Will it hurt to increase his dose to 1.5u from the current 1u?? Davidson is progressively giving higher numbers after PMPS and tonight notices he's a bit lower onto his rear hocks then before. It does NOT APPEAR the insulin is releasing at all after the PM shot..............

The next increase is due at 08:30 EST, so please let me know if jumping by .5 at this stage is too much...........

Hoping you all had good results today, sorry have read many condos but been busy doing my year end so haven't replied........
 
As I said above, a 0.5 unit increase is too much. He got low blues on this dose. Safety first.
 
Got it. Tnx. He must be planning on travelling with me to be collecting the insulin in his depot..... wait until he finds out he’s not going - he’s going to burst his bubble and let it all out. Haha, I guess time will tell,,,, have a good night everyone, it’s time for bed.
 
Hi Tricia, no he's not on anything and he never was before either. I watch him and when his BG's are good he's straight up again............I can check it out and see if my Vet has it, but fro, what I've seen it goes away once his levels are higher and it's just one side a bit only the last day and a half. TY

I found some in Walmart Buffalo which is just over the bridge, but will check here at a “wellness store” that sells pets meds too. Is this a human consumable? I’ll start him on it as there’s a great thread on this forum I read up on and everyone had great results. Appreciate the suggestion....
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top