3/28 Cobb PMPS 163 +1.75 165 +7.5 125

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Yuck on the bouncing. I hope I didn't induce the bounce by giving too much R. Ugh.

As Donaleen pointed out, it might be good that Cobb is having trouble with his numbers this week because it shows he is hard to regulate.

And speaking of the vet...I'd love to hear your thoughts as to what we should discuss with her. On my list I have: acro/IAA testing and dental. Anything else?
 
Re: 3/28 Cobb AMPS 324 - vet questions

I would encourage you to bring any materials you can on acro/IAA with you for your vet. Many vets regard this as a "rare" condition because that's what they learned in vet school. In recent years, there's been a better read on the prevalence. Because acro involves growth hormone, internal organs can be effected. I'd encourage a very thorough physical. There are some new lab tests for cardiomyopathy in cats. You might consider asking your vet about this.
 
Re: 3/28 Cobb AMPS 324(.25R) +1 321 +2 366 - vet questions

First, I want to wish you good luck with your new vet. I hope you hit it off and can have a great partnership. I don't know how realistic it is to expect that the vet will know more about diabetes, and especially about high dose conditions than YOU know already and have learned at FDMB and from your own research.

Here is a list of the better links I have found on high dose conditions so you can share the links with your vet.

http://www.felineoutreach.org/education/Acromegaly.html

http://www.faqs.org/faqs/diabetes/faq/part3/section-24.html

http://marvistavet.com/html/body_the_hard_to_regulate_pet.html

As for other questions, I thought you were considering a switch to Levemir. I am really liking Levemir because Ozy is flatter than he was on Lantus. and at least for me, it is less expensive than Lantus because Walgreen's has a prescription savings club and Levemir is on the list.

Don't forget to tell the vet about Cobb's previous difficulty with anesthetic and your concern about a dental or anything else that requires an anesthetic.

And as I said before, don't feel bad that you are going to this new vet with a cat on a high dose and yet with high numbers. It's good for the vet to see how hard it is to control his blood glucose. And also to see how hard you are trying. My vet respects that we are working hard to control Ozy's diabetes.

You may want to provide the vet with a link to Cobb's SS. You will have to tell her how it works.

Lastly, here is a document I downloaded but can't find on line...
 

Attachments

Re: 3/28 Cobb AMPS 324(.25R) +1 321 +2 366 +4 266 - vet ?s

This is Perry/Sooty's vet, right? i think s/he'll totally "get" the difficulty involved in getting Cobb regulated. Sooty got doses of 100u at one point. I think you're doing a heroic job, suzanne & I hope this vet is helpful.

I, too, think switching to Lev might be a good idea. The longest-possible duration will help to minimize the high/low fluctuations of the cycle and Lev's duration is longer than Lantus' by several hours in most cats. You might want to print out the page on "Lantus/Lev what's the difference?" it's at the top of the Taking care of your insulin sticky here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151

I have found when i arrive at any medical office with documents in hand, they don't really spend any time reading them but would do it later (i hope.) if it's not too far from you, perhaps dropping off pages today for the vet to read by tomorrow, or just expecting that they'll look at the docs after your appt is over is more realistic. just thinking out loud there.

and no, this doesn't look like an R bounce cycle to me - every time he's hit blues in the past little while he's ended up in pinks a few hours later. I think you're doing fine with your choice of when to use R.

i'll be looking forward to hearing any ideas the vet has.
 
Re: 3/28 Cobb AMPS 324(.25R) +1 321 +2 366 +4 266 - vet ?s

Yes. This is Perry and Sooty's vet. Since she has seen a hard to regulated, acro/IAA cat before I'm hoping she has done some research herself.

Lev is definitely a discussion we will have.

More later...crying baby...
 
Re: 3/28 Cobb AMPS 324(.25R) +1 321 +2 366 +4 266 - vet ?s

I ran across a site where you can find the lowest price for prescriptions for your zip code....

http://www.goodrx.com/

It says that for Atlanta, cheapest Lantus is Walmart at 207 and cheapest Levemir is Walgreens at 162


I also looked at Sooty's SS... that was one fast ride down, reducing the dose from 7 units to OTJ in just two weeks! Sometimes she held a dose only one or two cycles before reducing, she reduced when Sooty was above 50, she went from 3 units to 0 units .....Why did she go down so fast at the end?
 
Re: 3/28 Cobb AMPS 324(.25R) +1 321 +2 366 +4 266 - vet ?s

I haven't studied Sooty's spreadsheet in depth. I know they had the SRT done. I wonder if that affected the quick ride down.
 
Re: 3/28 Cobb AMPS 324(.25R) +1 321 +2 366 +4 266 +8 179 vet

Nice blues Cobb! :-D :-D Suzanne - I think you've got most of the questions you need for the vet. It's great you've got a vet with some experience with high dose cats so she will understand. The one thing I'm going to reinforce is getting the vet to keep an eye on any signs of soft tissue or organ growth.

The paper Sienne listed is interesting and got me digging around. I had a Maine coon cross who we lost due to cardiomyopathy (2 days before his echocardiogram was scheduled) and it's one of the more common secondary effects of acromegaly, so I'm particularly concerned about it. Plus Neko probably has some Maine coon in her. Here is another paper about the new test that is available and it has some interesting stats on how prevalent cardiomyopathy can be. The interesting thing for me is that this test is probably a cheaper first screening test than an echocardiogram. It's been almost a year since Neko's first echo, so I've been debating getting another one but might do this test instead.

Donaleen - Here is the link to the paper you have. http://www.2ndchance.info/diabetescat-insulinresistance.pdf

As for Sooty - SRT can make quite a difference in the ride down, but not always. Since an acrocat can have a working pancreas, I've seen a number of people who have had SRT attempt an OTJ trial with doses above 1U, with the expectation that the pancreas will take over. I've also seen some trials fail and seen SS where people just followed the protocol all the way down to zero.

Another thing, on Levemir, not all cats experience extended duration. I've been happy with it but it's not a guarantee of flatter cycles. As usual ECID. :roll: But I do like the price difference Donaleen found. Here Lev is $20 more for a 5-pack of cartridges.
 
Re: 3/28 Cobb PMPS 163

Ending the day in blues. I'll take it! Let's see if he can hold it for a little bit.

Thanks all for your input. I'm writing it all down and I know I've talked to a few of you about specifics, so I wanted to make sure I wasn't forgetting anything!

I assume the vet can give me copies of any blood work that they do on Cobb. I'm hoping some of you can help me interpret if I need it.

Thank you all for your help this far in our journey. It may be just beginning, but I wanted to say thanks anyway! :-)
 
Re: 3/28 Cobb PMPS 163

Fantastic PMPS!

My vets email me the b/w results when they get them, it's easy enough for them to do and saves me a trip.
 
Re: 3/28 Cobb PMPS 163 +1.75 165

i would definitely get copies of all test results, but most tests take at least a day to get, so you won't have them tomorrow.

i think you have lots of good questions and know we'll be interested in hearing any answers.

great numbers tonight!!!

good luck tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top