Re: 3/28 Cobb AMPS 324(.25R) +1 321 +2 366 +4 266 +8 179 vet
Nice blues Cobb!

Suzanne - I think you've got most of the questions you need for the vet. It's great you've got a vet with some experience with high dose cats so she will understand. The one thing I'm going to reinforce is getting the vet to keep an eye on any signs of soft tissue or organ growth.
The paper Sienne listed is interesting and got me digging around. I had a Maine coon cross who we lost due to cardiomyopathy (2 days before his echocardiogram was scheduled) and it's one of the more common secondary effects of acromegaly, so I'm particularly concerned about it. Plus Neko probably has some Maine coon in her. Here is another
paper about the new test that is available and it has some interesting stats on how prevalent cardiomyopathy can be. The interesting thing for me is that this test is probably a cheaper first screening test than an echocardiogram. It's been almost a year since Neko's first echo, so I've been debating getting another one but might do this test instead.
Donaleen - Here is the link to the paper you have.
http://www.2ndchance.info/diabetescat-insulinresistance.pdf
As for Sooty - SRT can make quite a difference in the ride down, but not always. Since an acrocat can have a working pancreas, I've seen a number of people who have had SRT attempt an OTJ trial with doses above 1U, with the expectation that the pancreas will take over. I've also seen some trials fail and seen SS where people just followed the protocol all the way down to zero.
Another thing, on Levemir, not all cats experience extended duration. I've been happy with it but it's not a guarantee of flatter cycles. As usual ECID. :roll: But I do like the price difference Donaleen found. Here Lev is $20 more for a 5-pack of cartridges.