? 3/28 AMPS 161/+2 -91/+4 -99/+6 -112 / +8 -149/ +10 -216 :first curve feedback on dose please!

Bear and the hooman Ciony

Member Since 2020
Well we did it!
Bear has completed her first curve. I thought we were doing a turn on the road to regulation until we got to +10 this evening. She has not been that high in a week or so.
However she just stopped taking amoxicillin for a UTI on Thursday morning. She has been showing signs that she is sensitive to low numbers(120 and under) but it gets better with food. I think it's a balancing act for her as she begins to not feel the need to eat all the time.
She has been feeling as good and more active than she has in months. Just wanted to seek advice on if this is a good dose for her and what these yellow numbers today could mean.
 
Good job on keeping you SS up to date and adding in your comments. Sometimes exercise will bring numbers down a bit - not sure if that's the case with Bear or not. 18 years old and still playing and tearing up the place... gotta love it!! :cat:
 
Last edited:
Here's the link to your previous post here, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...on-hypo-symptoms-at-numbers-below-120.227552/

Nice curve today. Looks like a bounce possibly starting at the end of the curve. There was quite a drop from AMPS to +2, and fast drops can cause bounces. What is your feeding schedule? I wonder if some more food around +1 to +1.5 might give her some fresh carbs to slow down the onset drop.
 
Good job on keeping you SS up to date and adding in your comments. Sometimes exercise will bring numbers down a bit - not sure if that's the case with Bear or not. 18 years old and still playing and tearing up the place... gotta love it!! :cat:
Thank you, I try to be very throughout I even have my own hard copy journal w/ even more detailed notes.
Oh man she sure is a spunky one! Shes been playing more since feeling better. Even has an old girl she is ready to pounce quicker than her 10 year old sister! ;)
 
Here's the link to your previous post here, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...on-hypo-symptoms-at-numbers-below-120.227552/

Nice curve today. Looks like a bounce possibly starting at the end of the curve. There was quite a drop from AMPS to +2, and fast drops can cause bounces. What is your feeding schedule? I wonder if some more food around +1 to +1.5 might give her some fresh carbs to slow down the onset drop.
Thanks again for your support!! And for linking my previous thread. It was quite the drop, I was monitoring her like crazy and all seemed to be okay but obviously the bounce in numbers is leading me to believe otherwise.

Still trying to figure out her nadir as well. Do you think the dose is okay for her ?

I feed her 10 mins before her shot at 8 and check around 9 to see how much shes eaten, if she hasnt eaten much I try to add fresh food. But as of lately shes been wanting different flavors every day :rolleyes:so we are phasing to a rotating menu
 
Have you looked at our Sticky Note on Dosing Methods yet? Depending on whether you'd like to follow Tight Regulation Protocol or the Start Low Go Slow, we'd give different answers on what to do with the dose. If following SLGS, you would hold the dose. If following TR, you'd probably fatten the dose up a bit.
 
I guess I would like to go with the start low and go slow protocol. I was leaning towards the TR but I'm terrified to fatten her dose. The last time she was on .5u she went hypo and the cycles she didnt have any incidents she didnt seem herself.
Although this evening she did not eat her usual amount. I woke up early this morning to her drinking so much water, more than she has in days. She was being active with her sister a little bit but I'm still concerned. Tested her and she was 120. Offered her fresh food and she only took a few bites. I order urine test strips that should be here Monday. Hope that tells us something.
 
I thought we were doing so good and on our way to the regulation road :confused: do you think subq fluids could benefit her today if shes thah thirsty? Her hydration seems fine. I have been weary of administrating subq when she was on the amoxicillin because I wondered how well it absorbed and if it had effect on her next dose of insulin absorption as well.
 
Last edited:
What did she need sub-q fluids for? Unless there is some compelling medical reason, I would not try to manipulate her numbers with fluids. FWIW, fluids are not "neutral." They can have a variety of effects. If Bear seems well hydrated, I would operate from the perspective of "less is more."

It helps to keep in mind that bounces are normal. They are hugely annoying, but normal. In addition, you can't really push the process of getting a cat regulated. The one thing managing your cat's diabetes teaches us all is patience. And, as far as bounces go, I'd call that more of a "mini" bounce than skyrocketing numbers especially since Bear was back to blues during the PM cycle.
 
She needed the lactated ringers for dehydration when we saw the vet at the end of last month. She said it would be a good idea to give her 100 ml every week. I have since switched vets and the other vet agreed as well but didnt say it was dire just good to have on hand in case she looks thirsty.

Ah *huge sigh of relief* they are very inconvenient for her. This combined with the recent covid-19 events are testing my patience more than ever. Do you think the bounce and getting off her antibiotics s causing her to be more thirsty? Shes eating less too. Still eating but not acting ravenously hungry as she was last week and weeks before.
 
Back
Top