3.28.15 Queenie, AMPS 358, +2 198, +3.5 133, +5 109, +6 96, +6.5 97, +7 114, +11 371

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Queenie

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

3-27-15
pmps-213
+ 2-188-
+8-261-

amps-197
+2-194
+4-135
+6-148
pmps-192

After a pretty blue day we saw a jump to hot pink in less than 2 hours. At least I feel like I can take a little break tonight. Will leave out her low carb food and give us both a chance to sleep...
 
Last edited:
Well...there's another one who's been bit by the "WTF" bug!! China got it first, but I've seen several other kitties tonight that were doing silly stuff like bouncing when there's nothing to bounce from

Maybe we need to get a giant economy size jar of RAID to get rid of all these bugs!!!....LOL

As I said on my own condo, and a couple of others, this too shall pass....take advantage of a quite night with no pokies!!
 
I am also noticing that at this higher BG level Queenie is more alert and interested in what's going on around her. She's napping less and seems generally bright and more interested in attention. I am hoping that you all feel this is how she will eventually feel once her body adjusts to having levels that are more "normal". Anyone else have this happen? How long did it take ( I know ECID)...
 
yes that's normal that she seems to like higher numbers better than lower numbers. We've seen that a lot, I saw it with Punkin too. I think of it like this: you drink a cup of coffee every morning and caffeinated is the state that your body likes, and if you take away the coffee you feel tired and draggy even though that is your normal state of being. Once you get used to the no caffeine, the natural state, your body will love it as well. Same thing with the blood sugar. its like the kitties are tired when they first get into lower numbers, but once they get used to them then they perk up and end up the zooming around the house.

Also, insulin is a hormone. Absorption rates can vary by as much as 50% from one day to the next, even if you do everything else exactly the same. So you can feed the same food, shoot the same way, give the same dose, and the absorption rate still can cause as little as 50% to get into the body. So variations on cycles are normal And sometimes beyond your control.
 
Well, I also wonder if this could be a higher run because her AM shot yesterday was an hour late? And I'm sending out massive gratitudes to my husband who wants to learn to help with this and just did his first test and shot!

We'll know shortly. I just set my timer to do a +2.
 
Go DH!

I doubt shooting an hour late has had too much impact on her BGs, but you never know. Some cats are more sensitive to changes than others. The bottom line is that until she is tightly regulated, she'll have cycles that go up and down - it's just part of it.
 
Yep! I'm betting it was a fur shot last night. Now the question is to give or not to give a tiny bit of HC at some point in this cycle to help keep her from bouncing too low?? I will be gone between +6.5 and 10.5 tonight and not here to test...otherwise I'd just ride it out. Help please.
 
Ok At +6 I got a 96...... I've been waiting for a comment for about 3 hours and can't wait any longer for advice. I am going to be out and leaving in about an hour. Will test again in 30 minutes.
 
In the latter part of the cycle and when she first goose green, a couple tsp of low carb is better to encourage a surf. And you can always leave more LC out for her to snack on. After the mid point of the cycle, the insulin starts to wane and less carbs are usually needed to keep or get them up. What might need HC in the first couple of hours can be achieved with LC later on.
 
In the latter part of the cycle and when she first goose green, a couple tsp of low carb is better to encourage a surf. And you can always leave more LC out for her to snack on. After the mid point of the cycle, the insulin starts to wane and less carbs are usually needed to keep or get them up. What might need HC in the first couple of hours can be achieved with LC later on.
Thanks Wendy, I really think she'll be fine. I just wish I didn't have to leave....
 
Sorry, Chris. Sometimes, on the weekend, people aren't around during the middle of the day.

Like Wendy suggested, often LC is a good first choice before you're seeing numbers that are in the mid-green range. LC can help to slow a drop in many situations.
 
Sorry, Chris. Sometimes, on the weekend, people aren't around during the middle of the day.

Like Wendy suggested, often LC is a good first choice before you're seeing numbers that are in the mid-green range. LC can help to slow a drop in many situations.
I figured and she had low carb all day. But when we hit under 100 I decided that was low enough since I would be out and I gave some gravy. Will leave out low carb while I'm gone. she just tested 114
 
Hi Chris,
I find it hard to leave when Sheba is running low, so you are not on your own there.

I also have found Sheba has seemed tired, almost dopey at times, and sleepy when her numbers have been very low. She has been in high numbers for months off and on and I think she is just having to get used to the new feeling. Once there is food around, she is up and her normal self so I know she is not unwell. If I am concerned I just show her some food and she is up like a shot.
 
Neko used to be the same way when we started. I could tell when she was in the low 300's, cause that's when she started playing with her toys. :rolleyes: Her first good green stretches she hid under the bed. Now, thankfully, she's miserable in pink and happiest in low blues.
 
There's never any harm at leaving food when you have to be out. It's good insurance. Good call on it - even if no one was around earlier to answer your question. You're getting a good feel for what to do!
 
Well I wish I had given a little HC earlier in the cycle. Now I have another high number going into PMPS. Live and learn I guess. At least I'll be home tomorrow and hopefully get a handle on the bounce.

BUT! She did drop like rock today!!
 
Last edited:
Learning how much, what, and when to feed is all by experiment. It also depends on how carb sensitive a particular cat is. Looks like she's bouncing from that fast drop. Time to take away the bungee cords!
 
Learning how much, what, and when to feed is all by experiment. It also depends on how carb sensitive a particular cat is. Looks like she's bouncing from that fast drop. Time to take away the bungee cords!
Yes, I agree. I am thinking if she drops this quickly tomorrow I will try and give carbs earlier in the cycle and see if I can slow down how fast she's dropping... Just theory but it seems like it may work....
 
Thanks for mentioning being perky at higher/sleepy at lower. Chianti is happy in yellows, extra sleepy in blue, and extra frisky/bad in greens. I keep waiting for him to like blue better but so far he just doesn't. I feel better hearing this is normal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top