3/27Max AMPS 278+4.25=228+6=191PMPS183+3=202+5=194

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
I don't know why Max had such high numbers yesterday. Let's see what today brings.

YESTERDAY'S NUMBERS:

AMPS 320 +3=332 +6=326 PMPS 411

I still can't figure out how to link the condos. I am not very computer literate. I have a mac if that makes any difference.
 
Re: 3/27Max AMPS 278

no worries, here it is: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116093&p=1221288#p1221288

whenever you see a high that you don't expect, look backwards on the spreadsheet and see if there is a number lower than usual there. When I see Max at 411 last night at pmps, i look backwards and see 332, then 320, then 117, then 88. BINGO! There is our culprit! The 88 is driving the show here - his body reacted to the 88 by releasing stored sugars and counter-regulatory hormones. the result is a bounce. He went straight up from the 88 and peaked last night at 411.

Now it looks like he's on his way back down from the peak of the bounce.

bounces aren't very consistent. you can see the night before that he got to 75 for a low, but then only bounced to 278 yesterday afternoon. So it was still a bounce, just not as high. who knows why one time he got to 278 on the bounce and another time is was 411. but both are bounces. the good news is that he's clearing bounces within a day. that means that his body is getting more accustomed to green numbers and is reacting more weakly to it.

this is a "hold your dose" still phase. nadirs of 70's and 80's are great. we'll wait it out for the bouncing to stop.
 
Re: 3/27Max AMPS 278

Thanks, Julie. When I saw him all day higher than ever it scared me. I scare easily right nie, LOL. I need to figure out hiw vest to be able to test his urine. If I enter the room while he is in the box he soars out. He still is capable of running quickly, LOL. I have sine No Sorb but haven't used it yet. A small bag is so expensive. Had he even red again I would have tried it.

Still in the hospital. Her hand hurts so taking an X-ray and the pulmonary doc wants a video swallow test. She orders it and then someone evaluates and says not needed and cancels. It's happened 3 times so far. No more predictions on when we get out of jail either. When it happens I will announce it. I seem to be a jinx.
 
Re: 3/27Max AMPS 278

it's that cursed hospital time. i hated having my mom there, and the nursing home where she went to rehab was even worse. it's all waiting and waiting and waiting. i shudder at people who are patients who don't have a person to make things happen for them. sometimes i felt like i was standing on a chair demanding someone help my mother!! i realized early on that if someone was in the hospital, they needed someone with them who could advocate for them. otherwise i imagine they just wait and wait endlessly.

the first day my mom went into the nursing home the meds nurse brought her the meds for the person who had just left the room. :shock: if i hadn't been there to catch it my mom would've been given them. and that was supposed to be the "best" nursing home in a city of 100,000+.

i don't know about you, but when my mom was there and i was running back and forth from home every day (an hour each way) i felt like my emotions were on the edge all the time. you get adrenaline going and for me, at least, every single thing set me off. i felt very fragile. it's hard having someone so close to you be very ill. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/27Max AMPS 278

You summed it up perfectly. Fortunately we have round the clock caregivers plus my sister and me. My brother us useless. One last piece now us why is she anemic. I think all the blood draws are pushing her a little lower than usual but that needs to be figured out before she leaves. We already gave her cardio appointment for next Fruday set up and all decided a video swallow test is not needed. I just spoke with a friend that said there us nothing to do for it other than feed mashed food. She eats just fine. She just sometimes coughs with water.
 
Re: 3/27Max AMPS 278+4.25=228+6=191

is that from having a stroke? my mom had some trouble swallowing water and food too - and the solution the nursing home did was to put this gross gelling agent into her water so she could "feel" the water. ugh.

thinking about all of you - it's a hard thing to be in.
 
Re: 3/27Max AMPS 278+4.25=228+6=191

She hasn't had a stroke. We denied the test. One of the docs felt maybe she had aspiration pneumonia. A friend went through that with her parent and there really isn't anything to do but feed soft food. She eats just fine but sometimes coughs with water. She has been waiting all day to come home but her heart rate is low again. I've been waiting to hear what is going to happen. Fingers, toes, and paws crossed. Kobe, her shitzu is waiting impatiently as I am.

Okay, it's official. They let her out of jail. What a roller coaster ride.
 
Re: 3/27Max AMPS 278+4.25=228+6=191PMPS 183

Hi Elise,

I'm sorry Max decided to scare you with high numbers today, but those numbers are coming down nicely. Hang in there!

I'm keeping your mom (and you) in my thoughts and prayers!
Shelly
 
Re: 3/27Max AMPS 278+4.25=228+6=191PMPS 183

Thanks Julie and Shelly. I think Max might even let me sleep tonight. I'll do one more test to make sure.
 
Re: 3/27Max AMPS 278+4.25=228+6=191PMPS 183+3=202

Elise

I would do one more test because if you fed him at PMPS, the +2 could be a food spike and with meter variance, it's not that far off the PMPS.

The other thing about bounces that makes them frustrating is that they can start to clear and then the BG pops back up.

Glad your mom broke out today. Sending more prayers.
 
Thanks, Marje. He did eat and again a couple of hours ago. I'm giving him a little more and going to sleep. I doubt he will drop too low tonight. He doesn't appear to be bouncing again either.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top