3/27 Willie AMPS 115, +1~140 PMPS 145, +5~91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Another healing zone start for the Dubs today. He's already btb, snoozing away next to me. No rest for the weary here as I'm back on DS shuttle duty. At least an early start at the office means getting home in time for a run or yoga and some yard work. The warm temps this March are wreaking havoc on my allergies though, so a stop at the drug store is in order today, and maybe a doctor's appointment as well. Boo hiss!

I think towards the end of this week, I will be adding a drop back on Willie's numbers (assuming they stay high greens/low blues). On Sunday, DS and I will be taking a one day train trip back home to Iowa, leaving around 7am, getting in at 10:45am, then departing at 6:30pm and returning back home around 10:30pm. My parents' anniversary is next Tuesday, and since she can't take any time off from her new job until May, and my DB and DSIL dealing with all the twin stuff, we didn't get an early start on getting tickets, and with gas prices and our schedule crunch, driving home for a weekend really wasn't an option. Rather than deal with a sitter coming in that day, I'm just going to go with kitty cubes and a big plate of fuds and just skip Willie's PM shot that day. I'd like to have his shed pretty full at that point to minimize the effects of the skipped shot, since he's been doing so well. We'll be starting a new pen right around then as well. For any newbies that might be reading this, please note that I'm able to do this because a) I have a lot of data and am very familiar with Willie's reaction to insulin, and b) that data shows that Willie has a very stable curve at this point and is not a diver... his reactions tend to be very predictable. If this weren't the case, adding a drop wouldn't be an option.

I'm also pleased to report that, for the second pen in a row, I've been able to get 60+ days out of our pen (antijinx is in order as I really would like to wait until Saturday to purchase a new pen!!). I think two things have gotten me here... first, is pen care. at EVERY shot time, my goal is to have the pen out of the fridge no longer than 2 minutes, and the insulin exposed to light for no more than 30 seconds or so, never holding the pen around the part at which the insulin is contained (so as to not warm it with body heat from my hand). Also, I keep it in the very back of the fridge upright in a coffee cup that is elevated on another jar so I can easily reach it. Second, in the past, once the pen is approaching/beyond 30 days, whenever Willie's numbers would start to creep upward, I think my natural inclination was to assume it was the insulin going bad, and I've simply suppressed that inclination and have made myself assume that it is the FD and not the pen and have adjusted the dose accordingly. A good example of this can be seen earlier this month. After a skipped shot on 2/24, Willie did see greens shortly thereafter, but his curve did widen so we were seeing preshot in the 140s to 150s. With the pen right around the 1 month mark, in the past, I'd have immediately assumed that the problem was failing insulin and would have tossed the pen. Instead, I upped the dose and found that his numbers came down. We hung out at that dose for over 30 cycles (mainly due to my not being around to test as much) and started seeing lower pre-shots, even earning a decrease just last week. And that's even with my habit of regularly shooting insulin back into the pen.

I share this because I know many here are on tight budgets, and while the method of FD management we practice here is very effective and I think contributes greatly to the health of our cats regardless of whether we ever see remission, it isn't cheap, and insulin can be the biggest cost. I think that with consistently meticulous handling of lantus, focusing on really minimizing time spent out of the fridge, exposure to light, and not wasting insulin (I used to draw 4-5 units each time and then get to the right dose, now I draw maybe a unit), you can easily extend the life of a pen if you're shooting at lower doses.

Okay, time to get ready for work... wishing all our LL friends a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 3/27 Willie AMPS 115 pen life thoughts & wkend plans

Great start for Willie again today! Yay! Have fun on your whirlwind train trip. That sounds like fun. I bet your parents will appreciate any time they get to see you. Great plan on the cubes and fuds. Willie is so stable these days that it shouldn't even be a blip on his radar, plus he has Herbie to keep him company.

Good tips on the pen. I use the vial, but have been able to get almost 3 months out of it following the same things you pointed out.

Have a great day Christie!
 
Re: 3/27 Willie AMPS 115, +1~140 pen life thoughts & wkend p

Morning! I enjoyed this condo today - and your thoughts. I think too that too often we are willing to blame the pen/insulin, when it really is just the cat. Good info here I think. Good luck with your weekend plans, and managing Willie. He is so consistent, doing so well that I bet missing one shot will have little effect. Sounds good to me, as I know you have ample data to support your plan. The train trip actually sounds kinda fun! :-D

have a great day Christie - and willie: green, OK?
 
Re: 3/27 Willie AMPS 115, +1~140 pen life thoughts & wkend p

Hi guys .. willie you looking good in blue today, but think you might show off some greens later on? I hope you guys have a fun one day trip to see your parents .. I am sure it will mean a lot to them! I also think your advice on handling the lantus is very good .. We were always very careful with our lantus and could never seem to get more then 30 days out of a pen .. Thinking back now, I wonder if we were more aggressive with her dose we could have continued using the pen .. Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/27 Willie AMPS 115, +1~140 pen life thoughts & wkend p

Nice start today for Willie. :lol: :lol: He has to get his beauty sleep doesn't he! good thoughts on the pens. I read some where that w/ age the effectiveness of the insulin can decline, so a slight increase would be an effective way to counteract it.

have a great weekend. DH is jealous that you get to tke the train! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/27 Willie AMPS 115, +1~140 pen life thoughts & wkend p

christie, have a great weekend! you know willie well and know how he'll be. enjoy your family time!

i'm going to copy your comments about the pen care and share it in the loose lips for today so more people will see it. i hope/think you'd be ok with that. thanks for the thoughts on it!
 
Re: 3/27 Willie AMPS 115, +1~140 pen life thoughts & wkend p

Christie & Willie said:
I'm also pleased to report that, for the second pen in a row, I've been able to get 60+ days out of our pen (antijinx is in order as I really would like to wait until Saturday to purchase a new pen!!). I think two things have gotten me here... first, is pen care. at EVERY shot time, my goal is to have the pen out of the fridge no longer than 2 minutes, and the insulin exposed to light for no more than 30 seconds or so, never holding the pen around the part at which the insulin is contained (so as to not warm it with body heat from my hand). Also, I keep it in the very back of the fridge upright in a coffee cup that is elevated on another jar so I can easily reach it. Second, in the past, once the pen is approaching/beyond 30 days, whenever Willie's numbers would start to creep upward, I think my natural inclination was to assume it was the insulin going bad, and I've simply suppressed that inclination and have made myself assume that it is the FD and not the pen and have adjusted the dose accordingly. A good example of this can be seen earlier this month. After a skipped shot on 2/24, Willie did see greens shortly thereafter, but his curve did widen so we were seeing preshot in the 140s to 150s. With the pen right around the 1 month mark, in the past, I'd have immediately assumed that the problem was failing insulin and would have tossed the pen. Instead, I upped the dose and found that his numbers came down. We hung out at that dose for over 30 cycles (mainly due to my not being around to test as much) and started seeing lower pre-shots, even earning a decrease just last week. And that's even with my habit of regularly shooting insulin back into the pen.
Thanks for the tips, we actually had to get a new fridge because ours was sitting at 46F and it wouldn't come down, possibly went higher during the night...not safe for food and at the top of the range for the insulin. I'm hoping they are still good, they physically look fine, but we may end up getting a replacement box because I'm OCD and I want to be able to keep our new ones for as long as possible. May I ask what keeping it in the coffee cup does? Is it just so the pen is kept safe and you can find it easily or is there another reason behind it? And upright means with the cap side up? Just making sure!! :smile:
 
Becky, the coffee cup is mostly convenience, though I do think that keeping it in the back inside the cup may help temperature-wise... the cup stays quite cold, so I think keeping the pen insulin side down inside of it in the very back of the fridge may help insulate it from temperature variation that can happen anytime I open the fridge door... especially if I'm rooting around in there, pulling lots of things for a recipe or cleaning out the fridge on trash day. I bought a new house this past summer that had a new fridge, and I think it has made a difference for us as well (and more importantly, I now have an ice maker and a water dispenser! :lol: :lol: :lol: )

Thanks for stopping by and saying hi!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top